We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of Holiday Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn East Kilbride

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn East Kilbride to your Saves list
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stewartfield Way, East Kilbride G74 5LA, Scotland (Formerly Hilton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Oldmeldrum, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“End of Holiday Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed overnight at this hotel with my wife on our way back to Aberdeenshire from Ibiza. I could not face the 3 1/2 hour drive after a three hour flight. It also gave us a chance to meet up with our son and daughter-in-law who stay in East Kilbride. The receptionist was most welcoming and efficient although we did confuse her as previous bookings had been made in my wife's name.
Although there was a wedding party present the bar staff were helpful and courteous even to the point of carrying our drinks over to our table. The room was spacious and comfortable but no biscuits with the tea/coffee. Also, the beds were rather mobile leading to next door's banging against our wall at 2:00 am. Although we did not make use of the leisure facilities this time, they looked good and we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I would like to thank you for leaving a positive review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    146
    104
    41
    17
See reviews for
88
125
17
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just returned from our4th visit service was good as usual but one or two waitresses at breakfast time could be taught how to smile now to breakfast the cooked selection was brilliant as usual but the fruit juices I am sure is powdered if not a very very low grade the selection of fruit has been greatly reduced as has the choice of yogurts it is well seen that cut backs have been made and dare I say £2.90 For a small pot of tea slightly over the top and very noticeable towels only changed every other day and the small biscuits in the bedroom conspicuous by there absence but having said all that o probably will return

Room Tip: Can get noisy at night chose a room if possible at the end of the corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I am sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations on your previous stay. This is not the normal standards that we work to and have passed your comments onto our operations team.

I am however pleased to hear that you will return to the hotel again in the future. Should you wish to return please contact me directly on frontofficemgr@hieastkilbride.com.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stay here very often and although the rooms could do with being updated the staff are so very friendly and the food is really excellent. Brought my wife with me this last time. We were surprised and really pleased to find a bottle of wine in the room as a welcome gift. Very nice thought! Vicky, Daria, David, Jen, Amy, Ashleigh, Claire-Louise and all of the others, you make such a difference to the hotel. Thank you all so much. We had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive and kind review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I am pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments have been passed onto our team.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A large group of us attended this location for a brewery tour. The staff were extremely friendly and made us all feel welcome.
We all had tasters of the beer they brew and a bit of lunch. Food was excellent and the beer was good too.
I will definately be back for some more beer and food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is probably the most run down Holiday Inn we have ever seen. The room was clean but very worn. The TV was a smallish CRT job housed in a dark wood cabinet with opening doors. We thought the kettle being housed beneath the set might have been a health and safety issue.
What little information was in the room was out of date and did not even have the current names of Health club and restaurant correct.
The on screen information typical of Holiday Inns was impossible to read as screen resembled a snowstorm, further reason to upgrade TV.

There was a leak in the foyer roof and rainwater was being collected in buckets.

On a positive note, we were given complimentary Wi-Fi and the food in the restaurant was excellent. All staff we encountered were very friendly but professional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

I am sorry that on this occasion at the Holiday Inn we did not manage to meet your expectations. Your comments have been forwarded onto our Maintenance Manager and General Manager for further investigation.

I hope that your recent stay does not deter any future stays at the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I booked this hotel with IHG loyalty points, so it was effectively free. I didn't have high hopes, but the hotel exceeded them easily. The rooms are dated, but clean. The TV's are also from another era, and the wi-fi didn't work in my room, but I had a 3g signal on my Blackberry so that was fine. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. The large swimming pool is a very welcome bonus, it was very quiet on a Saturday evening, busier on a Sunday morning, it is a leisure club so there are non-guests using it too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your experience in our bedrooms and made use of our complimentary onsite leisure complex. The WiFi and Televisions throughout the hotel are currently under review with view to a system upgrade in the near future.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomma, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel are average in all aspects, old furnitures and style. But very clean.
Does its job. Been here many times in business. The location is a bit off, you need a taxi to the town for a meal. I tried the restaurant once, and it was not very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that on your recent visit we were unable to meet your expectations.

Should you return to the hotel in the future please don’t hesitate to contact myself directly on frontofficemgr@hieastkilbride.com

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn East Kilbride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn East Kilbride

Address: Stewartfield Way, East Kilbride G74 5LA, Scotland (Formerly Hilton)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn East Kilbride 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride, with its air conditioned guestrooms, is centrally located in the bustling town of East Kilbride just 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. The motorway network is easily accessible too, as are Glasgow International & Prestwick Airports. East Kilbride has lots to do; visit East Kilbride Shopping Centre, one of Scotland s largest, stroll the cobbled streets of the old village or there s Calderglen Country Park. There s also golf, ten pin bowling, a cinema and ice rink. M&D s Theme Park and Hampden Park, Scotland s National Stadium are close by too. Why not head to Glasgow for Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Glasgow Science Centre or some of the best shopping outside London. If you re in Glasgow or East Kilbride on business, our air conditioned meeting rooms for up to 400 delegates plus high speed Internet access throughout the hotel create the perfect working space. Complimentary for guests, our impressive Health Central Leisure Club, with its indoor pool, is perfect for unwinding. Our restaurant brings casual, relaxed dining to East Kilbrides restaurant scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn East Kilbride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn East Kilbride Hotel East Kilbride
East Kilbride Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn East Kilbride Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn East Kilbride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.