We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn East Kilbride

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn East Kilbride to your Saves list
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stewartfield Way, East Kilbride G74 5LA, Scotland (Formerly Hilton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Could do better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Room in need of a little TLC. Carpark busy due to Gym, also busy, with kids in the pool. Lovely staff, really friendly and helpful. BUT. Bar ran out of cider on day 1 & lemonade on day 3. Bar meal took an hour, (restaurant very busy) and burger was burnt on arrival. Restaurant was overpriced, chicken & potatoes £17 plus £3.50 for veg! Food was often overcooked and not that good when it finally arrived. Service was very hit & miss. Never less than an hour between sitting down and main meal arriving. 3 trips to the bar to supply 3 drinks. Again, staff were very friendly but inefficient. Breakfast was great though. Full scottish buffet, lovely porage, fruit and yogurt and make your own toast. Could do with spare cuttlery available. Spoon removed after porage leaving nothing to eat fruit and yogurt with. Also, a charge for hot chocolate at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

At The Holiday Inn Glasgow East Kilbride we welcome all forms of feedback so we can evaluate our performance. I have passed your comments onto both the Restaurant manager and head chef to be investigated and rectified.

I hope that this one off occurrence does not deter you from future stays.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    141
    93
    37
    16
See reviews for
80
117
16
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

O stayed as a platinum member who normally gets an upgraded room. A lot of holiday inns are dated and this one is still a post house only painted green. I stayed in the same room 15 years ago. The tv should be in a museum. No room info bbc 1 was Chanel 17 explaine that. Bed like granny's. No fridge no pen no pad desk chair dirty no glasses and this was an executive room only knows what others were like. Ate room service delivered wrong food. Seems if your British gas you get a better service as its their hotel they even have their own menu at dinner. Dinner expensive for small poorly cooked meals. Car parking difficult because it's full of gym users. This is last time I stay here until it's upgraded like Newcastle and Bristol.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

At the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride we value your feedback so we can evaluate the areas you feel we can improve or continue to strive on.

In order to investigate your comments fully please contact myself directly on frontofficemgr@hieastkilbride.com.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I recently stayed here and worried after seeing a few recent reviews but have to say, had a really enjoyable stay. Food quality at both breakfast and dinner was excellent as were the staff. The leisure club is good and the bedroom we stayed in was comfortable, clean and very big! I can see where the comments come from regarding some areas looking tired but guess that’ll be down to the economic climate with companies struggling to gain the support from banks etc. to invest in their business?

We had an enjoyable two night stay and would definitely return. If the hotel could get some money to enhance the bedrooms and upgrade their old style TV’s it would make a good stay into a fantastic one. Thanks and well done to the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride. I will share your comments with the management team at the hotel to share your thanks for the service you received.

I hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I arrived by Car , as having business in Scotland it would give me wheels , the Hotel is well situated and the Parking area large enough - although on both nights the Hotel had Weddings so you had to search to find a spot.
I guess you notice the Hotel is tired having gone through the front door - the decor is aged and when you get to the rooms - I was told I was upgraded - although god knows what the standard rooms were like ! - My TV remote did not work - no on or off /The shower fitting was broken - in fact it was missing so turning on and off the shower was a challenge - the wallpaper had been painted over - who paints over wallpaper ? The furniture was chipped and marked and the door had bits out of it - the bathroom was dirty - the floor stained and old hairs had not been cleaned from the sink and bath area ! The fridge ice box door had fallen off so the ice was pushing out and thus the fridge door was half open - I went to the bar for a snack - which took for ever to arrive -that was after being told I could not eat it out doors - on one of the tables on the deck - no food outside ! - why have the tables and chairs ?? - No I will not be back ! - but I don t think anyone cares - functions are the business and milking the hotel for all it can give I guess is the name of the game - little or no investment ! - Not a nice place to stay !! - I must do better next time !! - Two out of Ten - The beds were comfortable !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay.

In order to investigate these issues further please contact myself directly on frontofficemgr@hieastkilbride.com.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Staying at our 5th Hotel in Scotland we consistently experienced a nice hotel.
Check-In was fast, staff very friendly. Room was spacious and qiuet. Bathroom clean and convenient. Free pool, fitness club also available. Breakfast was good with a wide choice and friendly staff. Unbeatable value for money!

Room Tip: Room was booked via the Holiday Inn Booking Machine, no better prices elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Glasgow East Kilbride.

I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

First of all we booked £95.00 which I was led to believe included breakfast but another £20.00 was added each day for this so now the bill is £230.00 for a 2 night stay . Worn decor throughout, you can tell money has not been put back into the property ,walls in bedrooms are paper thin. However housekeeping staff work extremely well and hard with what they have and really should be commended for all they do. Breakfast very poor quality for a 4 star hotel nothing I couldn't of had from a little chef, the seating area was absolutely freezing, again however staff were lovely cheerful and friendly. Triangle gym, good except stairs down into pool the safety rail very dangerous offer no support to get in as it would of broken. If I went by this experience of Holiday Inn I would never stay in one again, and I would hope the staff realise their worth and work for a better company.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear that you were happy with the service provided by the staff within the hotel. I am however sorry to hear that you experienced a few issues during your stay.

In order to investigate fully, may I ask that you contact myself directly on frontofficemgr@hieastkilbride.com to be able to rectify the areas highlighted.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, UK
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

So many hotels these days aren't family friendly: but this one is! Good sized-family room with plenty of space around the beds (not just a standard-sized room with extra beds squeezed in), decent kids-eat-free offers in the restaurant, Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was a bit busy - had to eat later than we would have liked but it was a Saturday night and eating in was a last-minute decision. Leisure centre (pool!) went down well with the kids too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn East Kilbride, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am extremely pleased to read that you found our hotel very family friendly and enjoyed everything about your stay.

I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Scott Drury
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn East Kilbride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn East Kilbride

Address: Stewartfield Way, East Kilbride G74 5LA, Scotland (Formerly Hilton)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn East Kilbride 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Glasgow-East Kilbride, with its air conditioned guestrooms, is centrally located in the bustling town of East Kilbride just 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. The motorway network is easily accessible too, as are Glasgow International & Prestwick Airports. East Kilbride has lots to do; visit East Kilbride Shopping Centre, one of Scotland s largest, stroll the cobbled streets of the old village or there s Calderglen Country Park. There s also golf, ten pin bowling, a cinema and ice rink. M&D s Theme Park and Hampden Park, Scotland s National Stadium are close by too. Why not head to Glasgow for Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Glasgow Science Centre or some of the best shopping outside London. If you re in Glasgow or East Kilbride on business, our air conditioned meeting rooms for up to 400 delegates plus high speed Internet access throughout the hotel create the perfect working space. Complimentary for guests, our impressive Health Central Leisure Club, with its indoor pool, is perfect for unwinding. Our restaurant brings casual, relaxed dining to East Kilbrides restaurant scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn East Kilbride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn East Kilbride Hotel East Kilbride
East Kilbride Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn East Kilbride Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn East Kilbride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.