We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine Country hotel in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Crutherland House

Save Saved
You added Macdonald Crutherland House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Crutherland House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strathaven Road, East Kilbride G75 0QZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in East Kilbride
Skipton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A fine Country hotel in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Fabulous hotel for the money paid (£75) B&B

The food prices did appear very expensive though - from memory £13.95 for a bar snack...

I found a carvery pub approx 1/2 mile into East Kilbride where I could eat a two course meal for £10 including a pint!

The room was perfect and spacious with two beds and all the facilities that you could ask for.

The pool area was superb.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Operations Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for your positive review on trip advisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Macdonald Crutherland House.

We have a large bar menu with prices starting from £6.30. Macdonald Hotels are very proud of the food that we serve, serving only the best produce available from market fresh wild fish to the finest beef reared on natural Scottish pastures.

I hope that I will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Macdonald Crutherland House in the near future.

Kindest regards

Lindsey Randall
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    137
    59
    50
    28
See reviews for
84
155
14
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just back from a wedding at this hotel. It is a nice hotel and everything seems fine until you go to the bar. By far the most expensive place to drink that I have ever encountered.. £8 for a shot of scotch without the mixer. Large gin with a tiny splash of tonic £12.55 Pint of lager £4.10
After the first hour or so I looked in my wallet and was sure I had been mugged. Even the bar staff will tell you how sorry they are about the price but they can do nothing.I bought a bottle of cava, normally about £7.50 in Tescos. They charged me £33. If you enjoy a drink, dont go there.Plenty of other hotels in the area that are just as good and with much cheaper prices.
Take my advice, stay well clear of this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey R, Operations Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on trip advisor.

At Macdonald Hotels we are proud of the large selection of premier and standard products we have to offer. We regularly carry out price comparisions with our main 4 star competitors of which we are certainly on par with. In the function bars we also have the option of bottled mixers or post mix.

If you wish to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to contact me on ops.crutherland@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Kindest regards

Lindsey Randall
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We got married at the Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel 2 months ago and cannot recommend it enough!

All of the staff were absolutely fantastic, made sure everything ran perfectly and made us feel so special during wedding preparations, on the day and the day after as well. The food was delicious and we received many compliments from our guests on this and the hotel in general. The reception room is a great size with an excellent dance floor and bar in the room. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and perfect for a wedding or relaxing country hotel stay.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering getting married in and around the Glasgow area.

Amy and James Hamilton

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Couldn't fault the hotel itself....Half an hour away in rush hour from the centre of Glasgow and much cheaper to stay than central Glasgow. Spacious and clean rooms with coffee and toiletries. Hairdryer is an afterthought so either bring your own or use leisure centre.

Was offered a table in the restaurant for dinner....no mention that there was an alternative bar menu. One starter and one main course for a vegetarian was all they could offer......£6 for a goats cheese tart that was barely defrosted in the middle. The main course was the portion size of a starter, a warm salad for £15....I regret not dining out. The bar prices too are expensive.

Beware of the gym members stampede if the attendant dares to allow you access before them of a morning. I'd also not brought my £1 for a locker so left my toilet bag on the bench to find it scattered on the floor on my return and was told that I'd left it in front of someones locker.....!

In summary....use this hotel to sleep in!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We travelled to The Crutherland House Hotel for a wedding, staying two nights bed and breakfast.

We very much enjoyed our stay and the staff were attentive and efficient. We ate in the bar on our first evening, the smoked salmon was excellent. Drinks a little pricey in common with most hotel bars.

Rooms are comfortable and spacious, the only drawback being the hairdryer which must be powered by a light bulb or small concealed hamster. I ended up resorting to the gym, where the dryers are much more adequate and free to use. I don't know why hotels advertise a hairdryer as a facility or amenity in the room when they are not sufficient to dry your hair with...!

Talking of the gym/spa, do make time to use this. The gym itself has very up to date modern CV equipment, knocks spots off most hotel gym facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

very peaceful and green, birds and rododendros! Good food and service. Nice pool. Liked the tranquilitly mostly

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

8 of us stayed over night for a spa trip. It was wonderful. Lovely food and staff! Comfy rooms!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macdonald Crutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Crutherland House

Address: Strathaven Road, East Kilbride G75 0QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Crutherland House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Macdonald Crutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland Hotel
Macdonald Crutherland East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland House East Kilbride, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Crutherland House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.