We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weddings should all be here..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Crutherland House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Crutherland House to your Saves list
Macdonald Crutherland House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strathaven Road, East Kilbride G75 0QZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in East Kilbride
Busby. Scotland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Weddings should all be here..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We held our wedding in The Crutherland in September this year but did not write a review until we'd ensured that all our guests had enjoyed their stay. We had 20 assorted sized rooms and I'm happy to say that no-one came back with an adverse comment on any of them.

From the first day we contacted the Crutherland Wedding Consultant, Aileen, we received first class service from every one of the Crutherland staff. Accomodation, meals, bar service, reception, it all proved that our choice of returning to the Crutherland, I'd had my retirement dinner for 60 there a year ago, was well founded.

There was another wedding on the same day as ours, but you'd never have known it - no mixing of guests, no loud noise from the adjacent function suite, no lack of service, just two of our guests starting off at the wrong wedding reception enjoying a glass of champagne before realising they didn't recognise the bride !!

Yes drinks are a bit expensive but no more so than what you'd expect from a quality hotel of this nature with the ambience and service on offer. There are plenty of lounge areas capable of handling a full hotel.

Only drawback of holding a wedding, or any function in The Kittoch Suite, is that if there is another function being held in the main banqueting suite, then there's no access to The Kittoch from within the hotel. You have to go out the main door, along a pathway to the side of the hotel and back in again to the function suites. We were lucky - the weather was kind to us but I'd hate to have to do this if it was raining and you were dressed for a wedding. Apparently too, the hotel won an award for its design.. Doesn't say much for the judges when they obviously never considered how you are supposed to get to the function suites in inclement weather. Hopefully the MacDonald management team will address this issue.

Despite this, our wedding day was a great success helped in no small way by the management of Herve Bernier and his wonderful team at the Crutherland.
We can highly recommend it if you're planning a wedding or any other function there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    176
    82
    60
    31
See reviews for
117
195
16
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed at the MacDonalds Crutherland House hotel a few times in Oct 2011. The first two stays I was in an executive room (fantastic) and my final stay was in a standard room (very poor). The hotel is located in a lovely peaceful area approx 25 mins drive from Glasgow centre. You'll definatley need transport if you plan to venture out of the hotel grounds. The hotel and spa staff were all very friendly, warm and welcoming whilst going about their duties in a very professional manner. The hotel is under staffed. Only one recepionist and the poor girl was run ragged at check in and out times and expect several unanswered calls for room service before getting through as there is only one member of staff looking after a busy bar area. The restaurant, bar, room service and breakfast menu's provided a wide selection of food and the quality was outstanding. The executive rooms were spacious, fresh, modern and very well maintained. They had a lovely big bed and a large flat screen tv. The Standard room was very disappointing in comparison. It was damp, dusty and cramped and in need of a facelift in the bathroom area. The TV was ancient and it sat on a stand that was lower than the bed. Very disappointing. I'd have expected the standard room to be the same quality as the executive room with the exception of the bathrobes, slippers and complimentary fruit & wine.
The staff , the facilities and the food get 10/10.
The location, bar and food prices, wireless internet fees and quality of standard room 4/10.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade to executive room. Avoid standard room number 105. Dont expect a lie in as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We booked a single room for my daughter and a double room for my husband and myself in September 2011 atv this hotel which is located on the outskirts of East Kilbride approx 35 mins by car to Glasgow City Centre. On arrival at the hotel there was an overpowering smell of disinfectant at the reception. The reception was busy at both check in and check out.

The rooms were adequate but not luxurious enough to justify the price . The food was excellent at dinner and at breakfast although the service was a little slow.

My daughter and I had booked a pamper package in the spa which included lunch and 2 treatments with use of the leisure facilities, this couldn't be faulted for the quality treatments, lunch or service. The only bugbear was that we left the spa assuming that the charges would be added to the hotel bill only to receive a phone call to the room advising that we should have paid for the pamper package before leaving the spa. Fortunately reception were able to sort this out but this should have been made clear when we booked into the Spa.

Overall we had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at the hotel but compared to other hotels we have stayed in with similar facilities and in better locations it was not good value.

The Spa is excellent and worth a visit even if not booking accomodation in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I have stayed at the MacDonald Crutherland House hotel at least 7 or 8 times and it is without doubt my hotel of choice when staying on business in the Glasgow area.

The rooms are always spotlessly clean and the beds are large and comfortable.

The location is a bit outside of the city but I appreciate a good night's sleep above most other considerations. The countryside location of the Crutherland is perfect if you seek peace and quiet when your windows are open.

The spa facilities are perfectly adequate although the sauna was out of order on my last visit - a temporary blip I was assured.

The restaurant at the Crutherland is excellent. The waiting staff are friendly and courteous. The menu isn't extensive but doesn't need to be. Fresh local produce always features and I've yet to have a meal there which has been less than very high quality. Same with breakfast, top quality sausages is always a good sign as far as I'm concerned.

I've always received a warm welcome at the Crutherland and unless I absolutely had to be in the city centre then I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in and around Glasgow.

Room Tip: Book a double for single occupancy if your budget allows. The double beds are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were a large group of girls aged 18-25
We enjoyed a luxurious spa day at The Crutherland which included lunch.
It was blissful and as you would expect from a spa day we were made to feel absolutely relaxed and at ease.
We were provided with robes and newly packaged slippers on arrival.
We were shown to the spas reception area where we had complimentary tea and coffee whilst we chose what we wanted for lunch.
We enjoyed the sauna steam room and pool until lunch time.
Lunch was very nice but I felt it was very light. Most of us were very hungry even afterwards.
We went back to enjoy the facilitie for a while longer and then we were taken in for our treatments.
We all got different treatments and we were all very very happy with our treatments.
the waiting room for the treatments is sublime. unbelievably peacefull.
Staff were lovely.
All in All the day was beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Things seem to be much improved since we stayed here in March when we were very disappointed because of problems with restaurant service and housekeeping.

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and were happy with what we found of these stays. However, when we stayed in March we were so unhappy we made a complaint, something that we normally don’t do being typically British. After some delay in response the hotel offered us a discount for a return visit as compensation for the problems and to regain our confidence in the hotel. So we arranged to stay for a long weekend.

On this occasion things seem to have returned to normal. The service at breakfast was good as was the food despite the hotel being very bust with weddings on both days.
We ate in the evening at the restaurant for the first time and the food was very good. The portions are not large, but adequate. At least the chef knows how to make a Crème Brule – often a disappointment in British restaurants!

There were little things that could have been better. For instance there were delays checking in and out and it was slightly annoying that there were several members of staff that were around, but no one was stepping in to help the single receptionist. Otherwise, a good stay and would now stay again.

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel is generally quieter because they don’t get passing traffic as are rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

On arrival, we waited behind a family complaining about a room rate, and beds not ready for their children. Our room was down a corridor which had a really musty smell. The room was fine, although the side of the bath and the back of the bathroom door could have done with a wipe over. Some of the corridors are looking a bit dowdy with grubby marks on the walls.
My main concern was the dining room. We were served by every member of staff on duty, with the result that chaos reigned. Basic questions about the food couldn't be answered - 'Are there vegetables with the dish or do I have to order some?' is not a rocket science question! There was a complete muddle about choice of food available if you had paid for a bed/breakfast/evening meal deal. We refused to pay the extra.
Breakfast found us queueing for a seat and then another resident complaining about cold food.
We were not impressed. We have stayed at the Macdonald hotel at Guisborough, which is always amazing. Maybe they should send the staff of Crutherland House there to see how it is really done.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Crutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Crutherland House

Address: Strathaven Road, East Kilbride G75 0QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in East Kilbride
#5 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Crutherland House 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Crutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland Hotel
Macdonald Crutherland East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland House East Kilbride, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Crutherland House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.