We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, only 10 minutes from Byron Centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tallow Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tallow Beach Motel to your Saves list
Tallow Beach Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   108 Alcorn Street, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, only 10 minutes from Byron Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Tallow Beach Motel is a lovely place to stay when visiting Byron. Only 10 minutes drive away it is a world away from the traffic and noise of central Byron. The motel is located just across from a long open beach perfect for long walks, along with all the locals who live in the residential area around the motel. I also enjoyed wandering up to the bakery for morning coffee - again it felt very local with few tourists around. The motel is quiet and restful, with lovely gardens and a private, peaceful and well tended pool area. The rooms are very well appointed with everything you need, and more. I liked having a room with a kitchenette and a small living area. This is a traditional motel, drive up to the door style, and my only non positive comment might be that the rooms are a little dark as they do not have any outside area. (There is however a view through the windows to Bali style tropical gardens.) However the charm and relaxed nature of the place, along with the friendly service provided by the owner makes this a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallowbeach, Owner at Tallow Beach Motel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
thank you for staying with us - and taking the time to write down the details that you think would be helpful for other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    27
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
37
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Suffolk Park,quiet,peaceful close and yet away from the heart of Byron,beautiful serene surrounds,welcoming,freindly,lovely ambiance and so very relaxing,Tallows beach just across the road beckoning long beach walks,whispering palms surround the private and pretty pool area.casurinas gently rustling in the sea breeze,a true northern coastal escape...so,cosy and quiet,just the ticket to unwind,then up to great food and fun at the famous suffolk park eateries,all within a short stroll....so affordable,no wonder we keep coming back to...Tallows Beach Motel...,highly recommend it for a low key ""break"" ,an iconic position as ""Australias most easterley motel"" ,the owner,,Susie Gilham makes your stay so welcoming... cant wait to go back again

Room Tip: I usually choose to stay out of school holidays,for an escape from Sydney,so freindly,peaceful and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in November. The location is fantastic - right across a small street from the most beautiful beach!!! (There is no view, FYI) Suffolk Park is a nice, quiet area so if you want to relax it's the perfect place but still just a short drive to Byron Bay if you want more action. The motel is a short walk to some restaurants, a bakery and grocery. My only complaint would be the rooms could have been cleaner. The important parts were clean - bathroom, beds, floor. But the desk and nightstands hadn't been dusted in a while and there were ants in the kitchen. Also when staying here I recommend keeping the door shut no matter how badly you may want a breeze. We kept our door open and only the iron outside gate locked and we had some unwelcome cockroach visitors in the middle of the night. Perhaps they would have gotten in anyway, but I think having the door wide open didn't help. I don't fault the motel for having cockroaches because those little buggers seem to be everywhere (saw them in some really nice restaurants too), but it wasn't pleasant. Still, there's no other motel in the area that's nice and quiet with such a great location, so I would stay here again. (I'd just keep the door shut!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very nice small motel. Great position just a stroll across the road to the beach . Very accommodating owner. Well looked after over the xmas period we were there. Nice room with a small kitchen and annex room to make plenty of room to move around. Would recommend this motel for a nice quite stay. The swimming pool was heated and well looked after with Bali type appearance with seating etc.

Room Tip: Room 7 next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have just spent 4 nights at this excellent motel which is located opposite the beautiful Tallow's beach and only a 10 minute drive into the town of Byron Bay Yes it is an older style motel and maybe not 5 stars, however we give it 5 stars for attention to detail, the owner Susie made us welcome the moment we arrived until the moment we left. We were very suprised to find on our bed a beautiful box of chocolates for our wedding anniversary. Our accommodation comprised of a self contained room with a bathroom, kitchenette which was very well equipped and included a microwave and fridge, our bedroom was large with a very comfortable queen size bed. The pool and surrounding area is private and fantastic with lovely palms and shrubs. We give Tallow Beach Motel the thumbs up and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallowbeach, Owner at Tallow Beach Motel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write your comments about my motel. we try to keep the gardens pleasant to create the quietness and energy that seems to attract people who prefer to be out of town and yet participate in the attractions that Byron has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Keeping in mind this is a "M"otel - we were thrilled at the experience. While the rooms are older - they are done up very nicely and the attention to detail and amenities are more than I have experienced at much pricier hotels/holiday homes in Australia. The pool area was well appointed and very quiet. Additionally, the rooms offered much more space (kitchenette, sitting area) compared to a traditional hotel room.

The motel is right across the street from an empty, beautiful beach - which allows dogs! We had a great time getting thrown around in the giant waves. I would highly recommend the Suffolk Park area for those who enjoy the amenities that Byron offers (restaurants, shops etc.) but hate the crowds and traffic. That being said, there is a great bakery, grocery store, indian restaurant, and high quality pub a five to ten minute walk from the motel.

All in all - the goldilocks solution. A great, affordable little spot within driving distance of the Byron "scene" - yet with its own charms and in our opinion, a better beach. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susie971, Owner at Tallow Beach Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for writing your comments in such detail. as we are tucked away it is most helpful for guests to have some idea of this area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forrest, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I chanced upon this little motel by accident because the local caravan park attendant was awol. Susie instantly made me feel welcome and although I had planned on leaving the next day I kept finding myself booking night after night and when I finally left I felt as though I was leaving a sanctuary. The Bali inspired boutique brought a sense of calm I had not felt for a long time and the sound of the ocean gently pounding the surf lulled me to sleep. It is also a short walk through a bike/walking track to the the local shops and directly across the road from the beach. I fully recommend Tallow Beach Motel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susie971, Owner at Tallow Beach Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Your comments are much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffolk Park
2.9 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#9 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
2.8 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#2 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#3 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
2.3 mi away
Dolphins
Dolphins
#10 of 33 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallow Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallow Beach Motel

Address: 108 Alcorn Street, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay > Suffolk Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallow Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly motel, across road from Tallow Beach. Lovely tranquil garden area set around outdoor solar heated pool. Tavern,shops,chemist a 5 min walk away. Rooms furnished in tropical style with queen bed and sunroom area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tallow Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallow Beach Motel Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallow Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.