We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, but far from idyllic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   77 - 97 Broken Head Road, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, but far from idyllic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I've stayed here twice, once for a work conference, and once for a girls weekend away with my daughter. The resort itself is very pretty, as is Byron Bay itself I suppose, but it must be said that it's a drive from anything, including Byron Bay, and unfortunately even a long walk from the beach.

Resort gardens aside, the rooms are a disappointment. Whilst they have balconies, they're enclosed with steel mesh, so the feeling is more prison than alfresco. The stone bath is a nice touch, but the remaining decor appears to have been pulled together on a budget and is poorly maintained. Walls are paper thin so my daughter and I spent a lot of time listening to the conversations of the group of 20 something's next door until the topic suggested that I whisk her away (in the car) to Byron for dinner. When we did dine in the restaurant it too was disappointing. No attempt at regional produce or apparent seasonality, the results of which were very hit and miss. My daughter liked the breakfast buffet, but the only enticing things to my eye were on the over priced a la carte menu.

The service was very laid back to the point of being comatose. Prior to and during my work related stay the organiser spoke strongly of the difficultly she had in working with them on the details, almost going so far as to cancel despite a hefty deposit.

Won't be back!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    137
    41
    10
    7
See reviews for
104
352
17
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

We had booked the hotel for 3 nights. When we arrived Byron Bay was badly hit by a big storm and therefore power went out for a while. The room was very large and nicely furnished, modern, clean, huge TV screen. It was a luxurious self-contained unit with everything you need as kitchen appliance, dish washer, washing machine and dryer. Perfect!
After a short trip to the village we came back to the hotel at night fall...again without electricity, during 4 hours rain and very strong wind made it look like we were in a cyclone. Hopefully a very friendly hotel staff brought us candles, matches and there was also a torch in the room.
The day after the sun was back and we could see how wonderful the park around the hotel is. Tropical forest, lots of beautiful trees, birds. Breakfast was a large buffet and what I really enjoyed was the free yoga class at 08.00 am. Perfect to start a great day.
We had once dinner at the restaurant. The food was of very good quality, the wine was very nice and it was a pleasant surprise.
What was also great was the spa and the massage that I got. Overall, I must say that the hotels is very beautiful. I have very seldom seen a hotel that was so well integrated in its environment. The other excellent surprise is the friendliness of the staff, who was always nice and personal and the owner who have some nice words with every guest.
What could have started as a disastrous experience because of the weather finished as one of my best hotels memories!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Expecting only a hotel room and a meeting the Byron was so much more. While it is somewhat remote from the chaos of Byron (a good thing) if you really wanted to there would be no reason to leave. The full service units (including tiny washer dryer, kitchen and HUGE bath tub) define the term open floor plan. Screened patios at both ends provide a truly open, airy environment during the day. At night you can begin to curtain and close up eventually sealing off the outside. A plasma screen, DVD/VCR and internet round things out nicely. Sitting on raised walk ways you have your choice of a huge variety of fresh water, ocean or temperate rain forrest to walk about in. (Be on the look out for native turkeys) An infinity pool is a welcome sight and the surrounding deck areas are filled with evening fire pits, comfy overstuffed wicker and pool side pub service. Meals are excellent albeit that sometimes the service staff seemed just a bit thin for the amount of customers. All and all an excellent stay and a definate thought for a future vacation!!!!

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

The experience we had at the Byron @ Byron was truly one of the best ever. We chose the "winter embrace" package and stayed in the superior suite (their basic suite). The room itself was perfectly laid out with a serviceable kitchen area, spacious bathroom and 2 indoor/ outdoor patios which helped us feel at one with the beautiful surroundings. The staff were very helpful with no request being too much. Even though the resort is as luxurious as it is there was absolutely no snobbery which was very refreshing. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious although a tad on the expensive side as you would expect in a luxury resort of this calibre.
The only negatives were the full buffet breakfast which was included in the package was very ordinary (we actually ended up skipping breakfast at the hotel on the 2nd morning and getting some at a fantastic cafe in town). The resort is about 10 minutes drive from Byron town which is a little annoying with no car. The resort offers a shuttle service 3 times a day but the times can be a little inconvenient.
All in all it was an amazing stay- one I will definitely be indulging in again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

The grounds of this resort are lovely - VERY Australian! Lots of wildlife, gum trees etc
You can walk around for hours just enjoying nature.
The pool is amazing.
The rooms are great - especially if you are staying for a week or so. They have a kitchen, washing machine/dryer, AMAZING bathroom, great verrandahs for just sitting and 'chilling'.
The restaurants are great. We had our breakfasts and one dinner there and I was impressed with the food.
The only complaint I have is the price of services at the Spa. They are VERY expensive.
There is a shuttle into Byron Bay but it is only twice a day.
But it is a nice, interesting walk there - about a forty minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

If you have ever dreamt of an upscale resort that is not 'stuffy' where you can escape from the stress of the world and feel instantly at peace with yourself this is the place. I stayed at this wonderful resort, The Byron at Byron for a few days in April before heading on a business trip in Sydney. In all of my years of international travel I have never had such a relaxing few days away from the 'world'. Byron Bay is a 2 hour drive south of Brisbane or you can fly into the Gold Coast Airport (Coolangatta) or the even closer Ballinas airport. Flying time from Sydney is just one hour via Ballinas. There is an incredible aura about Byron Bay - they say this region has healing powers and you sense this when you arrive at this very special 90 room resort built into the rain forest, a 10 minutes walk from the pounding surf and vast sandy beaches of Australias east coast. You immediately start to feel more balanced, you think clearer and the stress just seems to melt away.

The guest rooms are large suites built into the rain forest, which you access along a boardwalk through the rain forest. Very well appointed with a bedroom, living room/dining area, kitchen, jetted tub and shower in the bathroom and a nice screened veranda with comfy lounge chairs looking into the rainforest. The resort has a beautiful, small spa with some of the best massage therapists I have experienced, a lovely infinity pool, excercise room, sauna and hot pools, and daily 8am yoga sessions that are free for all guests and everyone raves about. You can even have a Tarot Card reading, which is apparently a very 'Byron' thing and a really intesting experience as I had never done this before.

The resort serves superb cuisine combined with a relaxed ambience, very warm and engaging staff and best of all, two wonderful innkeepers John and Lyn Parche. They were always there for their guests and made everyone feel like family. Every hotelier should learn from John and Lyn as they know how to make you feel like the most important guest in the hotel even though you are just one of their many important guests!

This place is designed so that even if it is busy, you don't really feel it. And, they also allow children at the resort so makes this a wonderful upscale family experience, though they do have some times in the year that children are not permitted. They also have an open air conference area for small meetings and do small weddings.

The original surfing town of Byron Bay is just a 10 minute transfer away (the hotel can take you) and here you can see surfers, go swimming in the ocean, enjoy the town's quaint restaurants (I ate at Dish - it was excellent, but also The Balcony is quite good) and shops and pubs. Just put on your sandals, t-shirts and shorts or sundress and you will fit right into the Byron scene!

I will return, next time to share this amazing resort with my family. And hint - this is not a 2 night stay - you will be so upset with yourself if this is all you book for. 4 nights minimum to really start to relax and enjoy the Byron experience - better yet, I think 7 days is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Great place, great staff. Found this hotel as we were driving out of Byron bay having had no luck in securing a hotel or a chalet. (I foolishly hadn't booked anything beforehand)
Pure luck made us drive past this place, we turned around and were lucky to finf that they had a room for us. (Point of interest: a campsite in Byron had tried to charge us a rate only 50 AUD cheaper than the rate at the Byron earlier. what a rip off)
Fantastic room, staff was very friendly and professional, we even stayed one more night as we were enjoying ourselves so much. GREAT GREAT PLACE, stay there if you can afford it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Address: 77 - 97 Broken Head Road, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay > Suffolk Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish design and architecture, the multi award winning Byron at Byron Resort and Spa is inspired by its pristine surroundings. Set within a stunning subtropical rainforest The Byron at Byron Resort provides an idyllic escape in a relaxed atmosphere whilst offering all the special touches you would expect. Relax on the wide open verandahs and admire the magnificent and unique rainforest canopy while enjoying warm and friendly service, great food and wine, all with a smile. The spacious resort comprises 92 one bedroom suites set within 45 acres so you truly have the space you need to unwind. Stroll the boardwalks to nearby Tallow Beach, enjoy daily yoga or simply retreat to the resort Spa for the ultimate indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byron At Byron Resort And Spa
The Byron At Byron Hotel Byron Bay
The Byron At Hotel
The Byron At Resort
The Byron At Byron Resort & Spa Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.