We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to reconnect with yourself and escape from the stress of today's world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   77 - 97 Broken Head Road, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place to reconnect with yourself and escape from the stress of today's world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

If you have ever dreamt of an upscale resort that is not 'stuffy' where you can escape from the stress of the world and feel instantly at peace with yourself this is the place. I stayed at this wonderful resort, The Byron at Byron for a few days in April before heading on a business trip in Sydney. In all of my years of international travel I have never had such a relaxing few days away from the 'world'. Byron Bay is a 2 hour drive south of Brisbane or you can fly into the Gold Coast Airport (Coolangatta) or the even closer Ballinas airport. Flying time from Sydney is just one hour via Ballinas. There is an incredible aura about Byron Bay - they say this region has healing powers and you sense this when you arrive at this very special 90 room resort built into the rain forest, a 10 minutes walk from the pounding surf and vast sandy beaches of Australias east coast. You immediately start to feel more balanced, you think clearer and the stress just seems to melt away.

The guest rooms are large suites built into the rain forest, which you access along a boardwalk through the rain forest. Very well appointed with a bedroom, living room/dining area, kitchen, jetted tub and shower in the bathroom and a nice screened veranda with comfy lounge chairs looking into the rainforest. The resort has a beautiful, small spa with some of the best massage therapists I have experienced, a lovely infinity pool, excercise room, sauna and hot pools, and daily 8am yoga sessions that are free for all guests and everyone raves about. You can even have a Tarot Card reading, which is apparently a very 'Byron' thing and a really intesting experience as I had never done this before.

The resort serves superb cuisine combined with a relaxed ambience, very warm and engaging staff and best of all, two wonderful innkeepers John and Lyn Parche. They were always there for their guests and made everyone feel like family. Every hotelier should learn from John and Lyn as they know how to make you feel like the most important guest in the hotel even though you are just one of their many important guests!

This place is designed so that even if it is busy, you don't really feel it. And, they also allow children at the resort so makes this a wonderful upscale family experience, though they do have some times in the year that children are not permitted. They also have an open air conference area for small meetings and do small weddings.

The original surfing town of Byron Bay is just a 10 minute transfer away (the hotel can take you) and here you can see surfers, go swimming in the ocean, enjoy the town's quaint restaurants (I ate at Dish - it was excellent, but also The Balcony is quite good) and shops and pubs. Just put on your sandals, t-shirts and shorts or sundress and you will fit right into the Byron scene!

I will return, next time to share this amazing resort with my family. And hint - this is not a 2 night stay - you will be so upset with yourself if this is all you book for. 4 nights minimum to really start to relax and enjoy the Byron experience - better yet, I think 7 days is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    137
    41
    10
    7
See reviews for
104
353
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Great place, great staff. Found this hotel as we were driving out of Byron bay having had no luck in securing a hotel or a chalet. (I foolishly hadn't booked anything beforehand)
Pure luck made us drive past this place, we turned around and were lucky to finf that they had a room for us. (Point of interest: a campsite in Byron had tried to charge us a rate only 50 AUD cheaper than the rate at the Byron earlier. what a rip off)
Fantastic room, staff was very friendly and professional, we even stayed one more night as we were enjoying ourselves so much. GREAT GREAT PLACE, stay there if you can afford it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

Myself and two friends stayed here for a trip around Australia and we could not believe we lucked out at staying at such an amazing resort. The rooms are like little apartments that are secluded out in a rain forest, but you can also walk down a small boardwalk to the beach (a few mins away). It rained both days we were there but that didn't matter because the hotel was so beautiful and the staff so nice we still had an amazing time. We got up in the morning and did one of their free yoga classes and it truly helped us start the rainy out in a good mood (despite the horrible weather). I had a great spa appointment (not one of the massages I've ever had, but the spa itself was wonderful and I enjoyed utilizing the facilities after my treatment.
This hotel is a small drive (about a 15 dollar cab) outside of Byron so it's perfect if you want to stay at the best place in Byron and not right in the town, but if you are looking for a loud and crazy place this is not it. The pool and surrounding were some of the best I have ever seen.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

Byron Bay is a fun beach town. This resort is glamorous and luxurious. It is a great complement to the town, which is just a five minutes drive away (I HIGHLY suggest renting a car). We stayed in a "deluxe" unit. They are well designed, with two screened porches, doors that slide open and closed on the bedroom area, living room area, and stunning bathroom with the bes spa tub I have ever used. These unites are a five minute walk from the restaurant and lobby, using boardwalk laid through the rain forest. The walk is easy. Five minutes in the other direction is a beach, but you'll have to take your own towels, etc, as it is a public beach and the hotel does not service it at all. The pool is fabulous -- great for laps, great for cooling dip. The food is mixed. Dinner was delicious. The breakfast buffet was only fair, and if you want expresso coffee or brewed tea you must pay extra. I suggest a rate that does NOT include breakfast. Then you can order a la carte or buy some goodies in town and cook in your room (there is full cooking and laundry). Also, there were lots of couples with young children when we were there, and they all seemed happy and well tended to.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

This was the best hotel i've ever stayed in. The rooms were amazing: the bathroom was massive with a shower that could easily fit two, a large bed, a beautiful outlook over the forest area and a large living room that was comfortable and a real bonus if you had other people to visit during your stay as it had a large sofa. The mini bar was well stocked and the wines in this were lovely. The restaurant was fantastic - it's open air and overlooks the beautiful swimming pool and forest. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. The sunbeds on the pool felt like luxury.
The walks through the forest were wonderful with the bonus of a beautiful beach at the end of it - this was very romantic. My daughter and her friend loved it and didn't want to leave the poolside - they were spoilt by the staff too who were more than happy to indulge them with alcohol free cocktails by the pool. It's an eco centre and the hotel is geared towards being environmentally friendly. Worth every penny or cent!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynByronBay, General Manager at The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2009
Hi Emma,

Thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review on the resort.

So pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your comments to our staff who so appreciate when guests say "thank you"

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the resort next time you visit Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Stayed just one night in this stunning hotel. Rooms were like compact units with every mod con you could need. Staff were friendly and very helpful.
Pool and facilities were very good.
Didn't eat in the reastaurant but it was packed.
Don't stay any where else in Byron Bay, and if you can stay more than 1 night.
Lovely walk ways, loads of wildlife.
Would defo go back, can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights which included a dinner and some spa treatements. On our arrival we were pleased that our room was ready for us (we arrived midday) and we weaved our way to one of the furthest away rooms. We loved the rainforest boad walks and sights and smells of the rainforest and you feel like the surroundings are coming into your room. We found the room to be very spacious and light and airy. The bathroom was fabulous with a free standing bath tub and large walk in shower.

We spent some time walking around the resort and walked down to the beach (10 mins) and also to the lake outlook (10mins from our room). Staff were friendly and helpful, they would often offer lifts in golf buggies if they were passing you, and they stopped to chat when we initiated conversation. We ate in the restaurant one night, it was fairly quiet, and I think due to this lacke a little atmosphere. The food was very enjoyable, but we both thought the food was over priced.

The swimming pool was lovely and very relaxing. The area is clean and chilled water is available. The pool side service was a little slow, but this would be because there was only one guy serving the whole pool. I had two treatments in the spa. Being a bit of spa junkie I can compare to some fairly good spa's and this one is good. It's not huge but the staff were presentable, friendly and very helpful. The hot stone massage was amazing and i felt like a whole new person walking out.

Overall our stay was romantic, peaceful and luxurious. I would recommend this hotel, you are paying for the stunning surroundings and luxurious feel that the hotel offers.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Address: 77 - 97 Broken Head Road, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay > Suffolk Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish design and architecture, the multi award winning Byron at Byron Resort and Spa is inspired by its pristine surroundings. Set within a stunning subtropical rainforest The Byron at Byron Resort provides an idyllic escape in a relaxed atmosphere whilst offering all the special touches you would expect. Relax on the wide open verandahs and admire the magnificent and unique rainforest canopy while enjoying warm and friendly service, great food and wine, all with a smile. The spacious resort comprises 92 one bedroom suites set within 45 acres so you truly have the space you need to unwind. Stroll the boardwalks to nearby Tallow Beach, enjoy daily yoga or simply retreat to the resort Spa for the ultimate indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byron At Byron Resort And Spa
The Byron At Byron Hotel Byron Bay
The Byron At Hotel
The Byron At Resort
The Byron At Byron Resort & Spa Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.