We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - if you get the right room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   77 - 97 Broken Head Road, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place - if you get the right room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very relaxing and unique atmosphere and suroundings, worth paying a bit extra for this experience compared to other resorts. Board walks and nearby beach fantastic for walks and jogging, pool was long enough for laps. A bit annoying having to pay extra for espresso based coffee in the morning, would have expected this to be included. The breakfast buffet did not have cheese, salmon or fresh tomatoes, but then again this is Australia and not Europe. Most staff had a quite arrogant attitude unfortunately but one of them were extremely nice, she really made our stay more pleasant.
We especially asked for a quiet room since we are quite sensitive to noise, but the hotel was fully booked and the staff said they could do nothing to move us even though we were checking in early. We were put in a corner room on the bottom floor, closest to the tennis court and restaurant, which meant a lot of people passing by outside in three out of four directions of the room. The rooms have an open design with lots of windows everywhere, even in the bathroom, but we had to keep all curtains closed in order to get privacy. Noise was not kept out so we were woken up early by other guests walking to the breakfast in the morning and constantly disturbed by the resort electric cars driving by. I'm sure the rooms on the second floor a bit further out on the board walk would have given us a way nicer and more calm experience, now it was quite stressful instead.

Room Tip: Second floor, further out on the boardwalk, facing the small river would probably be the best option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    137
    41
    10
    7
See reviews for
104
353
17
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Really disappointing stay at this resort, and was so looking forward to ending my trip to Australia on a high note. Room was average at best, very dark and dated, and we had frequent unwanted visitors at night (cockroaches). Walked down to Tallow Beach and was absolutely savaged by mosquitoes despite spraying DEET. After 3 nights of cockroaches, we were moved to another room for the final night > too late. Staff ranged from very friendly to downright rude and arrogant. Will not be returning. This hotel is not worth the $400 price tag

Room Tip: Room not on ground level so bugs can't get in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The resort itself is well maintained and facilities lovely. The staff are rude. Asking several times over our two day stay if we were actually guests at the hotel. The staff were arrogant and came across like you were helping them not the other way around. Heavily pregnant my husband and I embarked on a large (unexpected) walk to the beach following the signs. As an upmarket resort you would think they would have clearly displayed sign-age explaining to guests that the beach is a good distance from the resort and that you accessed it from a public pathway, once you have left the resort facilities. All in all this resort was disappointing and the service shocking. I have stayed in lovely resorts all over the world and was really rather shocked by my experience over the weekend. It could have been so much better and certainly has the potential.

Room Tip: Make sure you bring mosquito repellent as the whole resort is built on a swamp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The resort is beautifully appointed, welcoming entrance and tropical rainforest throughout. The rooms are very clean & simply tasteful with lots of amenities. We dined in the restaurant for dinner and the food was delicious, as was the breakfast. The hot stone massage was nice, not the slickest therapist (lots of pauses waiting for the hot rocks to come, noisy adjustment of the bed height several times throughout the massage) and you could hear voices & the shower going in the next room but none the less it was still relaxing.

A few minor gripes:
The pool was full of noisy kids & was hard to find an empty sun longer at around 3pm, I had to sit outside the pool area instead. Seems like a popular family holiday spot rather than intimate couples getaway! Our room B34 had no internet connection from our laptop, hence I am writing this in the lobby area. Our cellphones had very limited access, pages would come up very slowly.

Overall a nice stay but may try somewhere in the hinterland next time for a more quiet getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in March with my husband. Magical setting for pool with rain forest back drop and rooms tucked away where you can really be close to nature and take time to consider a different way of life. Really exciting when it rains. Join Gavin the Chef for his weekly early morning tour to the market on Thursday to experience Byron at its best for local produce - it's where the local people shop - return for the best Breakfast ever! Staff well presented, friendly and attentive. Visit the gift shop for accessories and inspirational thoughts. We'll go back to take another break away for it all. Oh! and the little biscuit fingers with the lemon/ lime brulee were a winner.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We came here recently to use their 2 day resort and spa package. The resort is very well maintained, great features and a very nice open design. The staff was really nice (Talina) and helpful, and the shuttle in to town is a nice touch. Although, I wish it ran later in the evening so those of us wanting to eat dinner in town etc... didn't then have to pay 15AUD to return. Not necessarily an on-demand return shuttle, but maybe a pick up at 7,9,1030?

The spa treatment was amazing, and I definitely recommend them. The infinity pool was very nice and enjoyable. The food was good and the quantity was just right. I had some difficulty in picking what meal to have because they literally all sounded AMAZING! Hannah, our stunning waitress was great and fun to talk to.

The complimentary bike rental was nice as well. And the town is very pedestrian/bike friendly. While we did not have more time to explore the town, the bikes made for getting to the base of the lighthouse and downtown area a breeze.

The rooms were ok maintained and this is where I was actually rather disappointed. For the price we paid, it seems odd that the floors were not swept/vacuumed. That someones old fruit was still in a bag, on the kitchen table. Or, that we could not set the A/C below 22C, which created a rather humid room. The cleaning staff also did not re-set the room when they cleaned it. The robes were not refolded or towels replaced, just folded and put back (even following the directions in the booklet). While I like the whole eco-friendly design, perhaps adding a fan to the room to help circulate the air will help. This is a personal preference as I need to have noise and air moving to sleep not a fault of the resort. While it was raining most of our stay, I'm sure that on a regular day that is a non-issue.

The biggest drawback were the rough sheets and the two twin mattresses that were pushed together to make one big bed. For such a high end/ high cost resort, the manager should not have cut costs there.

Secondly, the breakfast was really just bread and soggy eggs and some cereal. The bugs circling above also took away from beauty of the resort's allure.

Overall I liked the resort. It's high point is definitely the pool/spa amenities and the restaurant. The location to the beach, via a nice 10-15min walk is also enjoyable and I wish the weather was cooperating better to enjoy it more. Its definitely unique to walk through a rain-forest and then through a path to such a stunning beach!!!

Byron is a great place, and the resort is, too. Perhaps we just got one of the old rooms or something. Overall I recommend this location, but if you are expecting Hilton/ Marriott level comfort in your room, you won't find it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Set against an alluring sub-tropical rain forest complex, replete with lake, riverine and bush-land eco-zones, and intersected by a beautiful wooden (2.3 km) boardwalk, snaking through the jungle - The Byron is a magical place. Though purportedly taking a cue from nature and all things meditation, this is a far cry from Byron Bay proper and feels like another world: Here you find Hippies of an entirely different ilk! It is luxurious and beautiful and tranquil.

The forest is home to many a wonderful creature: Birds galore; reptiles in endless variety – a glistening licorice-black two-foot fellow crawled out from beneath the boardwalk and we spotted a man-sized monitor clinging to a slimy tree; the more elusive black faced wallaby (aka black stinker); and, reportedly, the occasional koala passes through. Entertain yourself by lurking along the boardwalk and take in the atmosphere at dusk, or seek out the mesmerizing little pond with the pavilion (the little sign posts with new-age inspirations and mantras adds to the meditative feel of the place) and feel the soothing of your soul. Stroll down to Tallow beach some 500 metres from the lovely pool area; or to the lake, Lake Tallow, which waxes and wanes, cyclically, with a peculiar fauna – hear the sea roar on two sides and watch the beam from Byron Bay lighthouse swipe past. A special thanks to groundskeeper Dave for interesting stories about the wildlife and the complex!

The Byron must have the best restaurant in Byron Bay, by far; it comes recommended by locals and receives diners from outside the hotel. The menu features an astonishing degustation dining experience with superb wines, beautifully palatable dishes and the loveliest dainties. Myself, I could not resist having the degustation menu on a second night! Breakfast too is lovely. Staff is obviously friendly, competent and courteous (Thank you, Vic!)

I am told the spa is first rate; there is a gym and boutique and other amenities. There is shuttle transport to Byron Bay for those who wish to seek out that hippie vibe of yore.

I find the rooms have a Danish feel. We had a comfortable, self-contained apartment-like room with a screened verandah, spacious bathroom with the largest bathtub, and an interesting partition wall system.

Overall we enjoyed our stay so much we decided to extend it by a third night and were fortunate someone else had forgone their pleasure and cancelled.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Address: 77 - 97 Broken Head Road, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay > Suffolk Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish design and architecture, the multi award winning Byron at Byron Resort and Spa is inspired by its pristine surroundings. Set within a stunning subtropical rainforest The Byron at Byron Resort provides an idyllic escape in a relaxed atmosphere whilst offering all the special touches you would expect. Relax on the wide open verandahs and admire the magnificent and unique rainforest canopy while enjoying warm and friendly service, great food and wine, all with a smile. The spacious resort comprises 92 one bedroom suites set within 45 acres so you truly have the space you need to unwind. Stroll the boardwalks to nearby Tallow Beach, enjoy daily yoga or simply retreat to the resort Spa for the ultimate indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byron At Byron Resort And Spa
The Byron At Byron Hotel Byron Bay
The Byron At Hotel
The Byron At Resort
The Byron At Byron Resort & Spa Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.