We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing interlude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   77 - 97 Broken Head Road, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A relaxing interlude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A peaceful and relaxing place to stay with an attractive bar and beautiful pool to enjoy soaking up the winter sun. Newspapers, good coffee and unpretentious staff, what more could you ask for. The decor of the rooms is not to my taste, I find it lacks warmth however very spacious and otherwise comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant. Felt it was fairly priced and the food was delicious. Beautiful walk through rainforest to the spectacular beach. We walked along the beach (one hour each each way) for breakfast with the locals at Top Shop Cafe (alternative to Clarke Beach cafe where we lunched the day before, also very good). Spectacular day with dolphins frolicking in the surf. We will definitely return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    131
    41
    10
    7
See reviews for
102
342
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I can see how if you paid $250-$300 range, this hotel would be a nice plact to see. But we paid for their top rooms for $600 per night. While it was big, I wasn't that impressed with the quality of the room and was especially ANNOYED with the fact that they would charge us for every snack and drink placed in the room. I mean charging for alcohol is one thing but does the so-called luxury hotel need to nickle and dime you for each bag of chips or peanuts? And they also charge you 3% extra if you pay with a credit card. So we were suppose to pay close to $2000 in CASH? If I'm spending $2000 at a hotel, I think the $10 or so for snacks and 3% credit card fee should be waived...? Their policy seems so NOT what a luxury hotel would do in a country where credit cards so widely used. Just bizarre. If you're looking to stay at a luxury hotel, I would look elsewhere where youre treated like you're staying a luxury hotel. This is NOT a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get their luxury top room. It is NOT worth the money. Just get a cheaper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Washingtonienne73,

Your comments were accepted in the right spirit, however I would like to highlight a few errors in your email. We have never charged 3% to use a credit card. As is the norm in Australia since 2007, most establishments charge a credit card fee. In our case it is 1.8%. Many are higher. Your visit coincided with our high season and paying $600 per night, including breakfast, the rate was typical of the rate offered to other visitors. Nickel and diming for macadamia nuts and other food items you ordered is bewildering. When I travel to the US, am I not hit with service charges and taxes up to 22% depending on what state I visit. In addition, the expected 15-18% gratuities are happily handed over without begrudging the excellent service received. The two countries operate with different cultures and with the many US visitors who stay at our resort in the last 10 years, never have we been accused of nickel and diming....quite the contrary in fact. Thank you for your comments in any event. John Parche - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is amazing!

From the very warm welcome complete with rose champagne, and fruit, we knew this place was going to be special.

After checking in, we were taken to our 'rooms' by golf buggy, a great feature, and after arriving in the dark it meant no getting lost through the forrest.

The suites were immaculate, and had everything you could wish for. 2 enclosed balconies at either side, great lounge / kitchen / diner, and good sized bedroom.

The bathroom really did have the wow factor complete with roll top free standing bath tub, seperate shower, and a really good size.

We didn't get chance to use the pool as were only staying overnight, but the pool and grounds looked fantastic. We did get slightly lost walking back to the restaurant for dinner, but you can;t get too lost, as you just end up back where you started!

The food was out of this world, as was the wine - and a special thanks to Heath for being such a good host!

We'll definitely be back for some relaxation time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for a week on a work conference. The report is about 5mins drive to centre of town. Checkin was smooth and friendly. Room was spacious and well appointed, especially the free standing bath. Restuarant was great, food was very nice. Staff throughout the resort were warm and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Pool area looks great, did not use however due to lack of time. Walk to the beach is about 10mins from the resort mostly via the resort boardwalks through the rainforest.
Overall a very nice resort with great staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I'll start by saying that the location of this hotel is ok if you have a car, too far away to walk to Byron from here. The resort is in the middle of a forest and mangroves, which make it very relaxing and quiet. That is the only great feature of this hotel because it doesn't offer anything else that is memorable. Service at arrival was bismal, room was furnished with pieces that looked cheap and the art piece was full of dust. The room is also way too small if you have more than two people as you're pretty much sharing the same room with the other guest and there is just an over priced restaurant, heated pool, sauna and gym. So what? $400/night?? I've stayed at better resorts and paid half the price. I indeed feel ripped off. A special mention goes to the ridiculously designed combination of taps and wash basin, there is barely enough room to put your hand in there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked a superior suite via wotif.com. RRP room rate shown was $580 so thought we did okay for $350 but when we went to the Byron at Byron website their rate was $350 as well.

Reception and staff were welcoming and the room was nice. Just starting to show its age as is the rest of the resort.

It was a miserable, rainy, cold weekend so that might have coloured our view a tad.

To be fair they are planning a reno around the pool next month but in general didn't think the architecture was as stunning as I would have thought. The resort has dated a bit and some parts are looking a little aged. Nothing bad, but compared to some of the other five-star resorts we have stayed in I would have to say it is not class-leading.

We had a late morning coffee before checkout and the young staff member was quite charming. She brought over a round of pastries as a consolation and confessed she had forgotten our exact order. Delightful way to make up for a minor mistake. Nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The place is relaxing. You find yourself in a forest, but with a nice room (small but nice). We stayed in a deluxe suite. The bath was the best feature. The manager was very friendly and welcoming. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were quiet so it was lovely and yet so many things were missing for the luxury price tag we paid. First, when we checked in, we were given a map and half heartedly asked if we needed them to take our bags up. We said no, thinking we could park at our room. Actually we couldn't as the car park is a short distance from the room, not great when it's raining, so we rushed our bags to the room AND up the stairs (on the first floor - no one mentioned that). Inside, there is no welcoming fruit basket or free water (you pay for water $6 per bottle). Despite the price you pay, there is nothing but nescafe blend coffee or tea to drink for free (a nespresso machine would be awesome for example). Room service finishes at 9pm (no 24hr service). We thought about riding bikes but then discovered that you have to pay ($5 for an hour). Overall, it was ok, but it could have easily been better. For about a $20 outlay the hotel could offer many more facilities to pamper and spoil their guests (like offering bikes, water, fruit and decent coffee) which would have really added to the relax-in-the-resort feel.

Room Tip: Leave all your bags in reception especially if it is raining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Address: 77 - 97 Broken Head Road, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay > Suffolk Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish design and architecture, the multi award winning Byron at Byron Resort and Spa is inspired by its pristine surroundings. Set within a stunning subtropical rainforest The Byron at Byron Resort provides an idyllic escape in a relaxed atmosphere whilst offering all the special touches you would expect. Relax on the wide open verandahs and admire the magnificent and unique rainforest canopy while enjoying warm and friendly service, great food and wine, all with a smile. The spacious resort comprises 92 one bedroom suites set within 45 acres so you truly have the space you need to unwind. Stroll the boardwalks to nearby Tallow Beach, enjoy daily yoga or simply retreat to the resort Spa for the ultimate indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byron At Byron Resort And Spa
The Byron At Byron Hotel Byron Bay
The Byron At Hotel
The Byron At Resort
The Byron At Byron Resort & Spa Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.