We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i just could be happier and more relaxed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   77 - 97 Broken Head Road | Via Byron Bay, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“i just could be happier and more relaxed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

I came here on business, and wow i embraced everything i could at the byron bay resort. Had a wonderful time, surrounded by such beauty, the rooms were neat in the middle of the rainforest and loved the complimentary yoga in the morning.

  • Liked — the atmosphere, the rooms, the walk to the beach
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    160
    42
    11
    7
See reviews for
116
388
20
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

Wow. What a great stay. Saw this resort in Marie Claire magazine and the next month, we were on our way.

This resort reminded us of a recent holiday in Thailand, with it’s open air restaurant – which could be closed up in colder weather - tropical pool, amazing gardens and rainforest feel. A 5 minute walk and you are at the beach – albeit, don’t try and swim there – rips and jellyfish abound – but perfect for a long walk before heading back to the pool or your spa for a soak.

Our room was perfect. We stayed in a room with a spa (which was deep, long and very relaxing). The room itself was very clean, modern and comfortable. The toiletries were local and also very good. TV in the lounge and the bedroom was a bonus and the verandahs, located at the front and back of the units were meshed in with screens – essential for keeping unwanted bugs out, but not detracting from the views of the rainforest.

One of the best things about this resort was that it was sooooo private. There is accommodation scattered throughout the resort, but the grounds are so big that you almost never encounter anyone else when walking around. We never even crossed paths with anyone walking along the boardwalks in the rainforest. It’s like your own piece of paradise.

The restaurant was fantastic. For an Australian resort in an expensive part of the world, we found the meals to be very reasonable. We ate lunch on our second day there and with an entrée to share, 2 main courses, sparkling water and 2 glasses of wine, it came it at under $70 – might sound expensive for lunch, however, the food was exceptional and worth every penny. Our waitress was very attentive and made all the customers feel very welcome whether they were staying at the resort or not.

At one stage, we wanted to eat in and didn’t want anything on the menu (just wanted a steak sandwich). My husband spoke with the chef and we ended up having the most amazing Angus Beef steak sandwich possible. Sounds silly, but this thing melted in your mouth - divine. It was a busy time for the restaurant and the chef still took the time out to speak with us and accommodate our whims.

One gripe – the reception employee was possibly the rudest I have ever come across in all my travels which worried me – I wondered whether this was going to be the attitude of all the staff in the resort? This was absolutely not the case, it was just unfortunate that this was the first impression we had of the resort. Otherwise, perfect!

By the way, I booked this at the last minute through wotif.com for around $260 per night. The rate listed on the hotel site was at around $380, so it pays to shop around, particularly if booking close to your travel date.

PS If you take a drive to nearby Mullumbimby (hope I spelt that right), there is this amazing little restaurant that you MUST visit. It’s called Poinciana and they have a VERY reasonable menu offering food to die for at very cheap prices.

  • Liked — The solidarity
  • Disliked — The check-in
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

Fantasic Hotel, Great Food good location for beach. Very good outdoor pool and spa. Rooms amazing complete with small kitchen and washing machine!

Downside, just off a busy main road but dont let this put you off.

Byron Bay Good (great Cinema on a rainy day) but drive out to Bangalow.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

Wow, just returned from a long weekend at the Byron At Byron to celebrate my wifes 40th !! Having travelled extensively around the world and lived in a number of different countries I can definitely say that the Byron is one of the loveliest spots we have ever stayed at !!
This is without doubt the best hotel / resort in Byron and the best way to describe it is attention to detail. We stayed in the waterlily block which was a five minute board walk to the main reception / resturant block. But rather than being a chore walking back and forth it was a fantastic nature experience each time.
Its not hard to tell that the resort is owned by Gerry Harvey and his wife of Harvey Norman fame as the room furnishings are straight out of a Domaine catalogue " very modern and stylish. Our room was on the second floor of the block and set right in amongst the trees which was beautiful.
The rooms are very large and exstremely well appointed and with every known appliance available. Large Plasma in the lounge and a small wall mounted plasma in the bedroom.
We took a " Beautiful Byron Package" @ $1400 for three nights which included cheese platter and bubbly on arrival, dinner for two, Cocktails, buffet breakfasts and a choice each of a facial or massage. The setting of the restaurant, spa and pool area is just stunning and so relaxed. My wife used both her facial and my massage and spent two hours in the spa which she described as blissful.
One huge plus for the Byron is the lovely private grounds that the hotel is set in. There are a range of gorgeous boardwalks that take you through the bush and swamp lands with a range of flora and fauna. Bolli Point over looking the lake is a great spot to chill out with a glass of wine and a loved one !!
In fact the only negatives that we experienced during our stay were that the remote on the Plasma didn't work ( no big deal as we only found out on our last day) and the female waiting staff in the restaraunt in the evening lacked the personality of their male colleagues ( my wife had to return a margarita that didn't have salt on the rim of the glass which seemed to upset the waitress - get over it, a margarita aint a margarita without salt ). Otherwise the staff were very friendly and helpful !! Our biggest gripe is that we couldn't stay a few more days.
Also if you have time make a short trip out to Bangalow great eclectic little town with some lovely boutiques, coffee shops and fantastic markets on the 4th Sunday of each month.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

I would've rated The Byron at Byron as 'excellent' if it hadn't been for the noise issues that I'll report on later. First the good stuff... the resort is located in huge grounds, that used to be an animal park called the Everglades. There are boardwalks around the property that link up the various rooms and go through the bushland.

The rooms are great, and I would call them suites: they have a lounge, huge plasma, small cooktop, full-sized fridge and washer/dryer, and are well-stocked with glassware and crockery. The lounge area is big. There is a small wall-mounted desk, as well as a four-seater table. The bedroom area is light and clean, and also has a small LCD TV and a very pleasant padded bench seat (see photo). Sliding screens lead from the bedroom to the lounge, and also to the robe area, which is also decent sized.

The bathrooms are huge, with a big spa bath, and separate shower that has open louvres to the front screened-off balcony. The photo I've posted doesn't quite do the bathroom justice - it's bigger and nicer in real life. There is also another screened-off balcony at the rear of the lounge area. All in all, you won't be disappointed with the size of the accommodation.

The pool is big, not heated, but that's OK for most of the year: we were there in mid-August, and it was comfortable to swim. There are plenty of deck chairs, and the pool area is nicely landscaped. There is a heated outdoor spa. The gym is small, and features a few dumbells, three or four cardio machines, and a small multi-station machine. Fine to burn off some calories, but not much more.

The common areas are open and breezy, which suits the climate and green setting well. Lots of lounges and chairs, shaded, but open to the elements. (This was my second visit, on the first one, it rained a lot, but the common areas didn't get wet.)

As mentioned before, the grounds are huge, and there are some ornamental lakes and pavilliions way out the back. Further beyond these, the property borders a mangrove tidal area on the coast, but does not border a beach as such.

Internet: there is WiFi in the common areas, and broadband in the rooms. If you have an Apple computer, you need to ask for a special modem at the front desk. I'm not sure if there's an extra charge for internet, as it was included in the conference package that had been booked.

Restaurant: the restaurant is not licenced to serve non-guests, and that includes people using the spa facility. The breakfast is buffet style, and was OK. I've always been impressed with the quality of food in Byron, but this was just OK.

The real negative for me was the noise of the air-conditioning in the rooms. I thought I was being precious at first, but at night, with the heating on, there is a low hum that permeates the bedroom. Moreover, the next-door room's air-conditioning system is very audible, and the on-off noise changes woke me several times, despite having earplugs. I was ambivalent about raising this issue with the front desk staff, as I thought I was being too precious, but when I did, the staff said that other guests had raised the issue, and it'd been looked into and improved already. Another guest I spoke with had the same problem, and I noted when I read some of the reviews here (after my trip, I should add), someone else has mentioned the noise. As a result of the noise, I turned off the AC on my second night, but was still woken, admittedly only once, by the next-door system turning on.

  • Liked — Spacious tranquil bushland grounds with landscaping
  • Disliked — Noisy air-conditioning in rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

Beautifully appointed resort in serene setting. Excellent spa - staff are skilled and helpful, fabulous treatments. Food is great. Breakfast was included in the package (Bliss out with the girls) which was great... but only included percolated coffee ... 'made' coffees were extra .... seemed a little silly to me.

Only real problem is the lack of soundproofing of the rooms. Our immediate neighbours were a group of women on a hens weekend. So when they returned to their room at 4am on Sunday, we were woken and kept awake by their noisy partying.

Great resort for a relaxing getaway... make sure you find the lotus pond.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

Stayed at The Byron for three nights with a corporate group - and found, for starters, that this resort is some way South of Byron Bay (and some distance in behind Tallow Beach). The setting is in low-lying rainforest - but the rooms all have mosquito screens. The rooms themselves are very well fitted out, with all mod cons. The staff are polite and attentive. The pool was (apparently) cold, but with a nice spa alongside. The main local activity is walking/jogging down to Tallow Beach. Personally, I would rather have stayed in Byron Bay itself - although I could not fault the service at this place (which knows how to charge tho).

  • Liked — Very well maintained
  • Disliked — Some distance from Byron Bay
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa

Address: 77 - 97 Broken Head Road | Via Byron Bay, Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay > Suffolk Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Suffolk Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stylish design and architecture, the multi award winning Byron at Byron Resort and Spa is inspired by its pristine surroundings. Set within a stunning subtropical rainforest The Byron at Byron Resort provides an idyllic escape in a relaxed atmosphere whilst offering all the special touches you would expect. Relax on the wide open verandahs and admire the magnificent and unique rainforest canopy while enjoying warm and friendly service, great food and wine, all with a smile. The spacious resort comprises 92 one bedroom suites set within 45 acres so you truly have the space you need to unwind. Stroll the boardwalks to nearby Tallow Beach, enjoy daily yoga or simply retreat to the resort Spa for the ultimate indulgence. As 2015 rolls along and we enter our 11th year of operation, several important improvements are being undertaken which by year end will be completed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byron At Byron Resort And Spa
The Byron At Byron Hotel Byron Bay
The Byron At Hotel
The Byron At Resort
The Byron At Byron Resort & Spa Suffolk Park, Byron Bay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.