We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villa Brasserie

The Villa Brasserie
39 Main Street | Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1089, Malta
00356 23112273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 211 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Price range: $14 - $68
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Brasserie, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The 19th Century Villa - The Villa Brasserie, Wine Bar and Terraces is overlooking the picturesque Bay of Balluta, St Julian's Valletta. The Terraces are split into 2 open spaces also ideal for Weddings and Functions. The atmosphere is homely as if you are dining in your own private villa and gardens. It is an uncomplicated and pleasant service with great music. Hope to see you soon
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had My wedding reception here 25th May 2013 the staff were fantastic they advised, helped and listened. The food was amazing and the views are gorgeous. Cant wait to go back. The glow bar is also a lovely place to relax with a great choice of wines. The bar staff were lovely. They are a real great team with Chris, Michelle and Rachel couldn't have asked for more thank you can not wait to revisit. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    46
    27
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely pasta in a pretty setting with views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at The Villa. We sat at a table out on the pretty terrace and ordered some tapas to share and then pasta dishes for our mains. It was all really tasty and the pasta was cooked to perfection!

The service was great, attentive but not overly so. Overall a lovely meal and really good value for money. We would definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Lovely but did not match the Barracuda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just below the Le Meridien and above the U bIstro, great views across Balluta Bay, lovely old building with style.

Service, was very efficient and attentive, very good wine list and cheaper than the Barracuda for the same standards of wine.

The menu although a little limited had enough choice to enjoy. The fresh fish cabinet was a lovely touch but my wife and I went for the rib eye steaks. These had been cooked to perfection and the taste was fantastic, the vegetables where very fresh and prsented well.

We finished off on the relaxing sofas to finsih of a great evening with coffee and liquors. Great

Graeme

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“AMAZING food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The food here was amazing - very fresh and tasty catch of the day. Come very hungry as the portions ate big :) Get a table outside for the views.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Good food. A little disappointed with the service. Was slightly put off my meal by the chain smoking woman on the next table! Would defiantly go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Villa Brasserie also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Villa Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villa Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.