We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Elephant, Hilton Malta - Five Stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Elephant

Blue Elephant
Hilton Hotel, Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 4012, Malta
+ 356 21 383 383
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 227 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $53 - $132
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Blue Elephant is a tranquil oasis of waterfalls, luscious greenery and tropical flowers. Smiling, friendly staff and the best Royal Thai Cuisine in Malta guarantees a memorable visit. Fresh fruits and herbs and also tons of orchids are flown in weekly direct from Thailand. Blue Elephant Malta offers you the possibility to reserve your own special space in this magnificent restaurant. Here you can surprise your guests in a unique atmosphere in our private huts. Blue Elephant can cater for a variety of occasions such as: Intimate Dining, Private Parties, Wedding Parties, Conference Dinners and many others….From the moment you step in the restaurant, you will be transported to the lands of the East. The waterfall, the landscaping and the seating will certainly carry you far, far away. Savour mouth-watering delicacies prepared from authentic Thai ingredients and forgotten centuries old recipes from the Royal Palace.
Gaborone, Botswana
2 reviews
“Blue Elephant, Hilton Malta - Five Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just returned from a stunning trip to Malta & Gozo and ate at the Blue Elephant in the Hilton, Malta. Both the food and service is fantastic and the staff are some of the most service orientated that we have met. Great food, wonderful staff and not to be missed. We will miss it back in Botswana.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear John C,
Reviews such as this is what our Blue Elephant team always strives to achieve. Its great read that you had such an enjoyable time and that the team looked after you so well. All your comments have been shared with the team and I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Kind regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    192
    87
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Algiers
1 review
“5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful experience!
The staff was very professional and friendly. The Manager arranged a table though we didn't have a reservation. Excellent food and location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear AroundtheWorld031,
Thank you for such a positive review of our Blue Elephant restaurant. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments about our team members and am very happy that our restaurant manager was able to accommodate you with a table.
Kind regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service and lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A superb Thai restaurant in a stunning modern location. Brilliant staff, delicious food and a view to die for! Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Simon-Pitchers,
You summed up our service in the best possible way – and we are very appreciative that you shared it with our Trip Advisor community. We have a great team at our Blue Elephant restaurant who do truly care about each and everyone of guests. Recognition such as this is always greatly appreciated.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, great service, great ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We like to visit Blue Elephant when on holiday in Malta. They have great food (the set menus are also great, saves you the hassle of choosing the right number of items). The surroundings are very nice! The staff are very helpful and unobtrusive, and will always describe each of the dishes and the sauces that go with each dish. You can also buy a souvenir from their shop!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Kbn001,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit and for your continued patronage. Our set menus do offer great value for money and the opportunity to sample a number of truly authentic Thai dishes and I’m glad you take the opportunity to try them out.
Thank you once again
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Food is amazing, drinks are very expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a special occasion restaurant. the food is pretty good although they ran out of banana leaves that wrap the chicken which I think made the chicken a little dry. The rest of the family had amazing food - a dish that allows a taste of everything. The drinks are about 8 euros each (give or take). It is an expensive restaurant for Malta.The service is efficient. We all enjoyed it and we would visit again. We ate inside and really liked the ambience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaHilton, Manager at Blue Elephant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear MomDawn,
Thank you for your review. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to communicate your good experience. My apologies regarding the lack of banana leaves on the night you visited, this has been raised with the head chef.
Thank you once again and I do hope we see you again soon.
Kind Regards
E Phillips
Assistant F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Elephant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Blue Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Elephant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.