We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Giuliano Restaurant

San Giuliano Restaurant
4, St Joseph Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2135 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 211 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Winchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Nice setting, overlooking the harbour, but service was very slow! We arrived late evening so the restaurant was not busy, yet our food still came out of the kitchen a bit at a time; by the time the potatoes arrived we had almost eaten our main courses! Meat dishes are NOT recommended; the steak was so thin it was almost transparent and the accompanying sauce was like dish-water! The Veal was equally disappointing. The fish stew, however, was very tasty, but was not served with any side dishes, so you need to order those separately - adding to the (already quite expensive) bill. My advice would be to eat at the Barracuda restaurant, a little further around the bay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    75
    62
    34
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The view makes up for everything!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Ate dinner here during our stay in St. Julians. The food is okay, the service is slow but the view is absolutely amazing. They have fresh fish and a decent winelist with a wide selection of various wines at affordable prices. Make sure you book in advance, and ask for a table with a view. Toilets are smelly and messy, but the restaurant is overall clean and nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Slow and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We visited and found that the food took ages to arrive after we ordered it. The pasta was oily and tasteless. The portions were very small and for the price we felt it was not good value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Service at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Beautiful setting over looking harbour, service & food was exellent. Nothing was too much trouble we didn't have to pour a glass of wine all evening waiters were very attentive and polite. Will be going back before we leave Malta.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Terrible service, nice food, same as restaurant with 193 Spinola Rd address”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

So, this is odd, because there are two restaurants in Spinola Bay, St Julian's, on Tripadvisor that have the same name but different addresses. They are, in fact, the same restaurant. Maybe Tripadvisor should link the two up. This is my review for the "other" entry for this restaurant:
We arrived at this restaurant full of expectations - the entrance via a lift or a spiral staircase seemed to make for a different experience.
We were greeted and seated within minutes of our arrival at a table near the back, and within a few minutes noticed that one of the tables near the window was about to become free and asked to be moved to that one. The waitress said she would check if it had been reserved and never came back to us. That table remained empty throughout the whole time we were there, so we could have been reseated there if the staff had cared enough.
Then, we waited 30 minutes to get a menu!
We ordered starters and main course (1 of the dishes we originally wanted wasn't available) and the order was taken quickly.
Another 10 minutes and we were given bread and butter - this was part of the cover service that you pay extra for.
Another 40 minutes until our soups were served.
The people at the table next to us fared no better and their children had fallen asleep by this time.
Another hour until our main courses were served.
No apologies. The only explanation given - "it takes time to make the food".
Didn't stay for dessert or coffee!
The food was very pleasant but the experience was tiresome. Once we got our main course and after we had complained, the staff kept poking their heads round the corner so that the minute we finished, they could take away our dishes and whisk us out of the restaurant.
If you have several hours to spare twiddling your thumbs, then this is the place for you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Giuliano Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to San Giuliano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Giuliano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.