We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Over Booking Scam"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalieri Art Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cavalieri Art Hotel to your Saves list
Cavalieri Art Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Water's Edge Spinola Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3019, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“" Over Booking Scam"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Im not going to go too into it, as the below over booking reviews say it all. How can they be consistantly over booked and doing nothing about it??? Not one person out of our wedding party was contacted and told of the problem dispite having all of our details and being in frequent communication with the bride who was over a week previously. The location of the hotel is great and the pool and veranda areas are beautiful. However the rooms are basic and for the risk of not getting one at all I would check into another of St Juliens numerous wonderful hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    392
    276
    137
    109
See reviews for
180
525
74
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

The location of the hotel is ideal, within easy walking distance of restaurants and bars, but secluded enough to enjoy a peaceful evening by the poolside. The staff were very friendly an efficient, rooms were cleaned daily to a great standard, with all bathroom consumables replaced and fresh towels provided. Lots of variety at meal times, and towels provided for the many sun loungers available at poolside. We read some of the negative reviews prior to departure, however this really is a top class destination!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Anybody arriving at this hotel after and evening flight has next to no hope of staying at this hotel. Morning flight, you have a 50-50 chance.
A wedding party of 14 of us arrived at this hotel to be told it was over booked. They told us lie after lie just to get us out of the hotel. They sent us to the Radisson hotel in golden bay. The hotel is fabulous but 40 mins away from St julians. It is in the middle of no where. Nothing around the hotel except a lovely beach. If that's what you are after then this would be perfect for you. As we were a wedding party this did not suit. We all arrived back at the hotel early the next morning and stood our ground at the reception. The manager left us waiting for 40 mins. We all were getting a nit irate now. They tried to move us away from reception but we stood firm. The manager finally came and said he would see what he could do. It took us until 2pm to get the situation sorted out.
So if you are greeted with this problem, stand your ground and don't let them move you away from reception. Then and only then you have a chance .
I stayed for two weeks and this problem day in day out. However once you are in, it is great and is ideally situated for everything that is good about St julians.
Book at your own risk!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Have just returned from a family holiday in this hotel, and highly recommend it to others. It is a very central location right on the headland, with easy access to all areas of St Julians - the quiet traditional part, or the modern lively part which are clearly separated. The views are fantastic, no matter which side of the hotel your room is located, all staff are very friendly and helpful, the food can not be faulted , there is free internet access, free pool towels on a daily basis for the padded sun loungers, and above all the rooms are cleaned daily. I do agree with some comments re. the over booking, but hey, one couple who arrived the same day as us, not only were upgraded to a 5 star hotel, but were also given 2 free taxis each day to bring them back and forth St Julians.

Room Tip: all rooms are the same as indicated in the brochu!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We are just back from a great holiday at the Cavalieri Hotel.
I have just looked at the previous reviews about overbooking and I am really shocked as we had a great experience there. I emailed ahead and was given a harbour view room on floor 7.
1) Staff very helpful and polite
2) Rooms exceptionally clean lots of storage space I recommend you take some spare coat hangers - you will aslo have a bath
3) Evening meals - great - mussells, huge king prawns, marlin, tuna steaks were provided over the two weeks - there is a roast joint every night and deserts are really good
4) Location - small swimming pool next to Spinola Bay - 5 minute walk to bus stop and restaurants and bars - yet no noise from them in the evening- probably best location in St Julians
After reading previous reviews we were not expecting a lot but we were very pleasantly surprised and had a great time and would recommend this hotel to anyone.Bear in mind you will pay the same price to stay bed and breakfast at the Hilton or Dragonara as you will get half board at the Cavalieri

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

For an oven stars, we could say to you " hello Sir, Madam " in the welcome(reception). We should have new soaps every day. The room(chamber) should be very well cleaned! The internet is paying in rooms(chambers) . The swimming pool of the hotel closes at 7 pm: too early! the frame(executive) on the bay(berry) is very pleasant but the hotel is WORTH TWO STARS,NO MORE, even if our room(chamber) was spacious.
Finally, if you have a question or a problem, do not try to communicate by internet with the hotel, IT DOES NOT ANSWER!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Myself and a friend booked this hotel for 5 nights from 13 june. We booked last November through Travel Republic and after seeing some of the reviews on here i phoned the hotel a few days before we were due to arrrive to check if everything was okay. I was told "everything is ok with your booking at the moment". Couldn't get any more info from them so we were slightly concerned and sure enough when we arrived we were told to take a seat and someone would come and talk to us. After a while Daniel - one of the managers - came over and said he was sorry but the hotel was overbooked and we couldn't stay there and he asked us to go to the 5 star Excelsior in Valetta. We said that as we had a friend joining us two days later and she had booked in a hotel round the corner, we needed to be in St Julians. After what seemed like hours, Daniel got us in to the Radisson Blu Bay Point which was a half hour walk away for 4 nights and then for our last night we would stay back at the Cavalieri. We had no choice but to accept this and Daniel was very apologetic and did his best - he also gave us drinks and a free lunch and arranged a free transfer to the airport on our departure day. The Radisson was excellant but we still had a long walk every time we wanted to go back to St Julians and the taxis are expensive - we paid from 7 - 12 euros for a 5 minute taxi ride! We went back to the Cavalieri for our last night and when we checked in the reception was full of new arrivals with no rooms for them! It is a lovely hotel with beautiful views but i would never stay there again because of the massive overbooking problem. Beware!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavalieri Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalieri Art Hotel

Address: Water's Edge Spinola Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3019, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalieri Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavalieri Hotel is a four star Malta Hotel set in a quiet and unique location directly overlooking the popular and picturesque St. Julians Bay, Malta. The Malta Hotel is also located on the doorstep of the Portomaso Yacht Marina and within easy walking distance to the popular resort’s attractions. These attractions include Malta’s most popular nightlife area, the Dragonara Casino and Spinola Bay – the heart of St. Julians. The seafront and beautiful promenade with its many bars, restaurants and shops as well as the main bus routes to Valletta and Sliema and to the Gozo ferry terminal are all close by.The Cavalieri Hotel faces south and is right on the water’s edge. It is modern, stylish with comfortable furnishings and attractive décor and consists of well appointed hotel rooms with full sea views of St. Julians Bay or the Portomaso Yacht Marina and the sea beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Budget Places and HostelBookers so you can book your Cavalieri Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalieri Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Cavalieri Malta
Cavalieri Hotel Malta
Cavalieri Art Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalieri Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.