We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Juliani

Save Saved
You added Hotel Juliani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Pick-up
Ranked #2 of 31 hotels in Saint Julian's
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great hotel, fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Very nice hotel. Personnel was very friendly and helpful. We were in an ambassador's suite (upgraded from a junior suite). We loved the balcony overlooking the bay.
The hotel is surrounded by some great restaurants so diner was no problem.
If ever I return to Malta, I will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    593
    221
    44
    16
    1
See reviews for
83
509
42
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Malta is very worthwile to visit. History as well as the present mix into a great stay. We did not meet someone who was not helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Thoroughly pleased with our choice of this Hotel. Great location,friendly and helpful staff and very pleasant room.Breakfast excellent.

Handy for the cheap and efficient Maltese bus service,a good choice of restaurants and bars are also nearby. Anyone requiring specific information please feel free to contact me.

Rod

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

This is a fantastic boutique hotel run by great staff where nothing seems to be much trouble, with lots of nice little touches (we were there on Valentines and they delivered a little box of chocolates). It is in a great location overlooking the whole of Spinola Bay, we had an ambassador suite which was identical to the website pictures, a sitting area with sofas, huge very comfortable double bed, balcony for watching all the comings and goings, would be great to sit on in the summer but it was little chilly in the evenings whilst we were there. The rooftop pool looked lovely too and I'm sure would be a little oasis in the summer heat. As advised on here too ask for a tea tray for the room for that morning drink. As a previous poster said it was a little noisy at night, particularly the Saturday night until the early hours and then the mornings with general traffic and buses etc, but not noisy enough to really disturb and certainly an acceptable trade off to be in such a good location, to feel in the hub of the action (not Paceville just the bay), with many good restaurants within a few steps. If you want total peace and quiet then maybe its not ideal but we were very glad we chose to be here rather than the Corinithia our other choice at the time.
The hotel has its own little underground car park free of charge, the wifi was also free, (most unusual), and worked very quickly too. Breakfasts offered almost everything you could want and eggs could be cooked to order at no extra cost too, coffees refilled as many times as you liked. The fresh orange juice was exceptionally good.
We tried their restaurant Zest and enjoyed that although it is not a style we usually like being a fusion of east meets west. However the service was impeccable and the food unusual and well cooked. My favourite restaurant of the trip was Pepinos an Italian with wine bar just a few buildings up the hill on the left of the hotel.
We will visit Malta again, this was our third time and having stayed in Valletta last time, we much preferred the St Julians area because of the restaurant choice for the evenings and would stay at Hotel Juliani again without hesitation, in fact you shouldn't really consider staying anywhere else. If you're using buses it seemed to be well located for that too as the bus stop is right opposite the front door! This hotel is more our type than the very large 5 star chains where you never seem to see the same staff again and they never get to know you either, here we felt the staff knew us and really cared whether all was going well for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

If you like being on holiday in a busy, vibrant little town then this is the place. You can walk to a number of first class restaurants and there is a restaurant called Zest on the first floor of the hotel. It specialises in Asian cuisine and is excellent.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and clean. The views from the front of the hotel overlook Spinola Bay and there are three rooms on each floor that have sea views where you can sit, read and sunbathe. We will certainly return but perhaps in October rather than February when it can still be cool and breezy. There is also a pool on the 9th floor where there are sun loungers and it has bar facilities during the summer season.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Top Contributor
554 reviews 554 reviews
307 hotel reviews
Reviews in 279 cities Reviews in 279 cities
872 helpful votes 872 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights in a luxury room w/o sea view due to Trip Advisor’s recommendations. The hotel is a small boutique hotel with friendly and attentive service.

The hotel has an excellent location overlooking Spinola Bay. My first day I regretted not having stayed in Valleta as there are so many museums and the country’s central bus is here for easy access to the rest of Malta, but I ended up being happy to stay in St. Julian’s as it is easily the foodie and entertainment capital of Malta. (Catch up on movies you missed back home at the Eden Cinema a ten minute walk from the hotel.) Buses to Valleta take less than 30 minutes and leave every five minutes in picturesque 60s Bedford diesel buses. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the heaving night club scene of St. Juliani, so you are spared the insomnia inducing hotels near that area where you can’t sleep because of the loud music and noise from the bars.

Internet is fast and supplied by either cable or WIFI. It’s free but you need a password to use it in your room (no password required to use it in reception). The décor of the hotel and the rooms is chic and upmarket. My room was very spacious and the bathroom bright and modern. Rooms are very clean. TV has good satellite channels.

Some drawbacks: Normal laundry service takes 2 full days. You can pay 50% extra for one day service but it is very expensive. (Note that this seems to be the norm for Malta unless the hotel is large enough to do laundry in house. Even the Laundromat next door worked to that schedule.) The other inconvenience is that the room has the standard key card that switches off electricity when you leave the room. But it also switches off power from the wall sockets so you can’t charge your laptop of camera batteries while you are out of the room.

The hotel boasts one of the best restaurants in Malta—Zest-- an excellent Asian fusion restaurant. It is worth a splurge though it is very expensive even with the E10 off voucher they give hotel guests. If you like this kind of food, go to the Hilton and eat at the wonderful Thai Blue Elephant which is a bit less expensive.

The hotel has no gym but has made arrangements for guests to use the fabulous gym at the Hilton for 12 Euro. This is 4 Euro less than the walk in rate. Just ask for a voucher from reception. The gym (which also has an indoor pool and spa) is a 5 minute walk from the Juliani and is open until 10 pm.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

It is difficult to find better location in San Julians! This hotel is incredibly charming and superb! Hotel staff is helpful (administrators, chambermaid,waiters). The rooms are spacious, sound-insulated and stylish. The view from the window was picturesque!!!! I do recommend You to visit restaurant Zest on the first floor.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star Hotel, is Malta’s only small design boutique hotel, and it is enviably located in the heart of St Julian’s. In fact, you’re never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the hotel has been meticulously converted to provide 44 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment, and we are committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian’s surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Juliani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.