We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Juliani to your Saves list
Hotel Juliani
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Pick-up
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Sark, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at Hotel Juliani. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for anyone looking for a small boutique hotel in an ideal location. We had a very large room with balcony looking out over Spinola Bay. Furnishings, housekeeping etc. were of a very high standard and all the staff very friendly and exceptionally helpful. There was a very good choice at breakfast and, although we did not eat in the restaurant as it did not offer the sort of food we like we heard very good reports from other guests. Although on a busy road we had no problems with noise and with a bus stop just outside the hotel we were able to make full use of the excellent and cheap buses to travel around the Island.
We really enjoyed our time in Malta due in particular to this very special hotel and if we go back to Malta would certainly want to stay at Hotel Juliani again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony and front facing view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    239
    48
    15
    0
See reviews for
91
565
49
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at Juliani on a 4 night break, 5th-9th April. We had a standard room which was fine for us. The hotel itself is charming. Lovely airy cafe area where we ate a great breakfast every morning. Hot food, cereals, fresh fruit salad, selection of breads, cheeses, meats and lovely croissants and muffins. Excellent coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. Staff very friendly. Very comfortable bed and having a back room, extremely quiet.

Excellent wifi in room, just need to get password from reception. Lovely roof top pool area for when the weather is good, view amazing! Very easy to get around by local buses and so cheap. €1.50 for a day pass!

Fantastic location, great walk along the promenade. Absolutely loved it there and would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband, mother in law and I just spend 4/6 nights at Juliani, it's very convinient to get around Malta by bus, lots of bars and restaurants close by.

The staff is real nice and helps you out everyway the can, our rooms were clean and well maintained, mother had a side view of Spinola Bay ours was out back into a small road, so no noise even with the window open.

We certainly would stay there again, sitting out front in the morning sun with a view of Spinola Bay and all the other things going on was so nice and relaxing but not boring.

Room Tip: 704 side view of Spinola Bay small balcony. 707 out to the back, no view but quite at night, 2 balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed 1st to 6th April on a B&B basis
This lovely boutique hotel is well located at the end of Spinola Bay, St Julians. Our room was very nice, clean and overlooking the bay with its brightly coloured boats. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the world go by.
Our room had good noise insulation, blocking out the traffic noise at night. Don't make the mistake of leaving the balcony door open at night or you'll be kept awake by late-night revelers & squealing tyres as they take the sharp bend at the end of the bay.
The hotel has two lifts covering all floors.
All sockets were UK 13amp sockets.
The free WiFi worked well within the hotel confines. Reception provided the necessary User Name & Password, so there was some security control.
All the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
The weather was not warm enough to use of the pool on the rooftop but it was a good location to enjoy the sun and views. Breakfast choices are extensive & well presented.
When you leave the hotel front, turn left and after a few minutes’, walk up a ramp to the Scotts Supermarket. It has most things you may want.
The bus stop across the road was ideal for the must do trip to Valletta – bus 12 or 13, stay on till you reach the bus station terminus. It’s a very interesting ride all around the bay inlets. We did the ‘Malta Experience@ and the WW1 & 11 museum. Both were very good. As you would expect there are numerous Cafes and restaurants in Valletta. We would not recommend the Cafe Royale near bus terminus and City Gate. Coffee poor, savory snacks not nice, cakes passable. Single toilet upstairs nasty!
Also from the same bus stop you can catch the ‘Hop – on – Off’ tours of Malta and Gozo. We did the North and South tours. They were both very good.
There are lots of very good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, if you plan to eat in the evening i would recommend pre booking for the restaurants we used – see below.
We used the following: Wigi’s Kitchen, Gululu, Zeri’s (twice), Caffe Bocconcino. All were very good and lived up to their Tripadvisor ratings.
We also had 1927 Cuisines next door to the hotel on our list but forgot to book!

Room Tip: Go for the front sea view room 801
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The positive reviews attracted us and we stayed here for six nights late March/early April in a junior suite which coincided with a holiday weekend. St Julian's is just down the road from Placeville which is where many nightclubs are located. No issues the first night but the second night, Friday, the noise from cars and people leaving the clubs went on until 06:00am. Ear plugs solved the problem for the rest of the long weekend and peace resumed on Tuesday night. Our room was also starting to look tired - scuffed paint, cracked basin & tiles, a shower head that took maintenance two attempts to resolve, dusty balcony furniture. However the view and location are excellent with many restaurants nearby. We stayed room only as we only tend to have a coffee and croissant for breakfast and the 14 euros per person for breakfast option when we booked seemed excessive.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view & balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had an excellent stay for a long weekend in March at the Juliani. The room was a good size, clean and well set out, the view from this non-upgraded room was good if you stepped onto the tiny-stand-up-only balcony but I never expected more. Just a word about parking, whilst it advertises as having a car park there are in fact only 7 spaces and you need to be good at 48-point turns to get in or out (hire a small car!); I'm not sure there would be anywhere nearby to park if it were full.

Didn't eat evening meals at the Hotel as there were so many restaurants within 2 minutes stroll, but the breakfasts were buffet style with plenty of choices and excellent coffee.

The staff were helpful and attentive, sorted out a booking issue with Expedia without fuss. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Hotel
We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel in 6 months and as last year, it was perfect. From day one (booking) to check out, we could not have asked for a better experience. Last time we had a sea view room which was excellent this time as it was only a 4 day break we decided to have a standard double room, but were not disappointed, the room was to the back of the hotel and had a large balcony at the back and a window to the front which overlooked the harbour. The room was large and spacious with the most comfortable bed, with fresh, crisp, white bed linen. The bathroom was immaculate with complimentary shower gels, and shampoo/conditioners which were replenished each time they were running low. The rooms are also equipped with a complimentary hospitably tray with tea/coffee, or if you wanted something stronger there always the mini bar which was realistically priced. There was also a large flat screen TV and DVD player.
The staff where exceptional they were friendly, helpful and efficient.
The breakfast was very good you were offered coffee/tea and juice on arrival which were both of a very high quality, my husband thought that the cappuccino was one of the best he had tasted. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and it was all labelled, there was a full English (the eggs were scrambled but you could ask for boiled, poached, fried or an omelette, there were cakes & pastries, along with, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, cheeses hams.
Location
The hotel is set in a perfect lactation in the heart of St. Julians overlooking the picturesque harbour with plenty of bars and restaurants on your doorstep. We bought a 7 day bus ticket outside the airport on arrival for 6.50 euros and toured the island using it. We were very impressed (or lucky) as we never had to wait more than 3 minutes for bus, the bus stop is literally outside of the hotel.

I cannot rave enough about this hotel and our stay was faultless.

Thank you to everyone at the Juliani for making our stay perfect and looking forward to our next visit in September

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star Hotel, is Malta’s only small design boutique hotel, and it is enviably located in the heart of St Julian’s. In fact, you’re never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the hotel has been meticulously converted to provide 44 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment, and we are committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian’s surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Juliani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.