We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Juliani

Save Saved
You added Hotel Juliani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Pick-up
Ranked #2 of 31 hotels in Saint Julian's
Watton at Stone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hotel Juliani is an excellent hotel with high standards and good facilities. It is situated at the head of Spinola Bay which is a pleasant little harbour on the outskirts of Valetta. The area is highly developed with shops, restaurants and bars all along the main road and on the side streets. The Hotel is very much at the centre of things and offers excellent facilities including a bar overlooking the sea, a restaurant service and a swimming pool (which was a little cold when we visited in March). The square ajacent to the Hotel was a lively gathering place although it has to be said that during our week long stay there was an election to celebrate and St Patricks day. The Maltese never miss the chance to celebrate and these sort of occasions are always noisy. Probably not something that happens all the time though.
Excellent breakfast, extremely helpful staff, would certainly go ther again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    593
    221
    44
    16
    1
See reviews for
83
509
42
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Having read the reviews we booked a 3 day trip. As expected great place to stay excellent location, very helpful and pleasant staff, and the room was fantastic. Stay here and you will not regret it. Ive traveled around the world and i must say this ranks in my top 5 stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Brief stay on a business trip. Room, staff and service were exceptional. The ocean view room and balcony was perfect. Will be staying at the Juliani again for an extended trip this summer, I can't wait! Bravo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. We did enjoy our stay here, and I would give the hotel three and a half stars if I could. However, it did not quite live up to expectations, although I would qualify this by saying we were allocated one of the cheaper rooms in the 'middle' of the hotel.

Positives:

- Friendly, helpful and professional staff
- Great location in St Julians, next door to plenty of good restaurants, bars etc.
- Parking available - although it is a bit of a nightmare squeezing into the tiny spaces
- Cleaning is a priority here - our room and public areas of the hotel were spotless
- Excellent bar and restaurant

Negatives:

- Walls are paper thin, and we were kept awake by neighbours and the creaking sound of the lift going up and down at night
- The central rooms have no view at all, with the only natural light coming through a small shaft through the centre of the hotel
- Minor room issues - for example no handsoap, faulty shower, few electrical sockets, marks on the bedcovers and carpet, damaged bathroom tidy, no iron, kettle etc.
- Although this hotel has many features of a boutique, the rooms were very much like a chain hotel and a bit more individuality would have been nice.

In summary, you will enjoy your stay at this hotel, but choose a room with a view. The excellent staff and good location are the main positives. A bit more focus on room facilities and creating more individuality would have improved our stay.

Room Tip: Specifically request not to be put in the 'centre' rooms where there is little natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabiensf, Operations Manager at Hotel Juliani, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear dokelly,

thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay, especially with regards to our housekeeping and restaurant service.

I would however like to address some of the issues raised about your room.
The room which you have stayed in, at the centre of the hotel, is generally one of the quietest being shielded from any street exposure. However we do our utmost to fulfil our guests' expectations should these not be met, and would have gladly offered you an alternative room. It is a pity that this was not brought to our attention during your stay.

Other rooms issues are being tackled as I type this response; we are in the process of refitting carpeting and our new bed linen should be with us shortly. We are also exploring increasing our power outlets due to the increase in guests travelling with multiple electronic devices. Hand soap is a standard in our bathrooms, for which I must apologise should this have been lacking. Kettles as well as ironing boards are available on request in an effort to minimise clutter in the room.

I would like to thank you once again for your constructive feedback and would like to assure you that your comments will definitely be considered when next discussing future room refurbishment.

yours sincerely,

Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stay here at the end of March for 5 nights. Rooms nice and clean Big large beds with good bedding, Our room (4th floor) had a balcony that got the warm morning sunshine in. Over a street but not noisy at night. We never had breakfast at the hotel as we thought 14 euro per person was too high. The reason it only gets a 4 star was one morning the maid knocked to do the cleaning at 8.30 am which we thought was a bit excessive.
Tip for eating was Guze bistro in Valletta – we both agreed it was the best food we ate there but along way (better than Chapter one)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Hotel itself is nice and clean.Stayed in a sea view room. The view is amazing and this was the best part of the holiday. It is not worth paying the money to stay here if you are not going to take advantage of the view.

We did come of a late flight and we were met by hotel taxi. (He was lovely) On check in taxi driver had to go searching for someone to check is in. The man checking us in seemed less than impressed when we disturbed him. This is a small hotel and there is not a great deal of life to it. Bar was always quiet even at weekends. bar man was lovely and the blonde girl in reception was so helpful. Cleaning staff are also super friendly this could not be said about the other people in malta. I felt the older maltese people to be very nice and helpful yet the 30-40 year olds to be arrogant and rude and less than helpful.

When you go out the front door of this hotel left will bring you to paceville if you continue straight. 2 minute walk. If you go left and then take the first right you will be at the hilton and the lovely marina again a 2 minute walk. Hilton looked amazing and lovely restaurants and lovely walk around marina. If you come out of hotel to the right and follow the bay around you will walk to Silema in about 15 minutes. Lovely walk.

The shops here are the same as at home new look oasis ect. They are priced way more expensive than at home and not worth buying at all. Prices have clearly been increased to take advantage of tourists. If you travel inland to Birikira there are lovely shops at normal prices.

Paceville is a 2 minute walk but if you intend to get a taxi back ( hills and high heels) it will cost you €10.....Robbery.

Mc Donalds is right next door and has a lovely cafe with muffins cakes ect. Dr juice is also next door perfect for a smoothie for breakfast.

We did not eat in the hotel at all as food was not to our taste and even the cakes were just to healthy to have to eat on your holidays.

Our room was a standard size not huge but without the view of the bay would not have been worth the €155 we paid a night.
Walking towards Silema you will find bus stops saying Valetta and a daily bus ticket bought on the bus will cost you €2.60. Get of the bus on the way back from Valetta at the ferries and the Point Shopping centre is just across the road.

If you intend to hire a car we hired with Avis we had to put €1000 deposit down. Drivers are really bad really bad.



The view is what sells this hotel. Roof top pool and area is also lovely. But location is not the best. If you like shopping Silema would be a better choice as the ferries are also located here.

Room Tip: Book sea view room or don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spend the extra cash to get a sea view room (deluxe), and each morning when you awake you can just chill out on the balcony and watch the street life below, its pure Med. The thing above all that makes this hotel and the rest of Malta a pleasure to visit are the people, the friendliest of any country Ive visited or lived in across Europe. The hotel per se is clean, comfortable and excellent value for money overall compared to others in the area (e.g. Intercon) and much better located as well... ATM is close by and bus runs up and down the road in front of the hotel for Valletta and everywhere else, as Malta is ... small.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star Hotel, is Malta’s only small design boutique hotel, and it is enviably located in the heart of St Julian’s. In fact, you’re never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the hotel has been meticulously converted to provide 44 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment, and we are committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian’s surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Juliani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.