We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hugo's Terrace

Hugo's Terrace
Ix-xatt ta San Gorg, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 227 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Rabat, Malta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“surprisingly superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

relaxed atmosphere, great music, service with a smile and the food was a real surprise. food was totally different to the usualone finds in a lounge bar. simple menu but gourmet style. we had a platter, which was genuine and generous and we also had a burger and a light salad. really delicious. Can't wait to try something else from the menu. highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    68
    23
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cocktail & Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you like to meet people, for drinks during the day, after dinners etc , fantastic place to go... the interiors and atmosphere are just perfect . You can tell that the owner in in the business and knows what is doing ..Staff trained well and all the rest , starting from the music , to the security, to the prices value and even the toilets attendant are just perfect . I hope they will keep the standard up to this level .. Malta needs places like this ...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great night out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went to terrace for dinner last Tuesday night it was buzzing with fantastic live music. Ordered a couple of cocktails.. The stooli master class is great, really refreshing on a hot summer evening. We were served by a really nice waitress, I think she said her name was Danika. After taking our food order we were presented with an amuse, red pepper pesto and salad with basil foam and garlic croute, very flavour full and appetising. Our steaks took a bit longer to arrive but this was understandable as the place was packed with people for dinner, but it was well worth the wait! The price is a bit high but your getting what you are paying for, good service, friendly staff, amazing cocktails and great food.. All in all we had a wonderful evening, were meant to go there just for a drink and a quick meal instead we ended up dancing and singing along till the early hours!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A couple of friends and i went inside hugo's for a couple of cocktails. The place was packed with people although it was in the early hours of the morning and the music was still on. Upon sitting down and almost deciding what we were having a manager (im guessing as he was wearing casual clothes yet seemed to be ordering around) came and said that we had to leave as they were closing as the police had gone and told them to stop taking in people! I thought he was joking at first and said that we were only staying for drinks but he simply said that we had to leave! Now if this was true, the securities at the door would havr stopped us or the door would have been closed apart from the fact that the music was still pounding through the walls. Embarrassed we walked out in awe. First and definitely last time i set foot at the place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

There are 2 venues called Hugos - connected i'm sure by the management. They serve excellent sushi - beautifully presented, incredibly tasty. The chefs are Japanese. The staff are very friendly, very attentive. The food is superb. The cocktails are delicious, and 2 for 1 at 1-6pm. the drinks are also very well decorated. It is not the cheapest restaurant, but you get what you pay for - we went here 4 times in our holiday. I really rate this place highly. The mood was very cool, soft lounge music in background, plenty of tvs for distraction, and very cool air con.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugo's Terrace also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Hugo's Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugo's Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.