We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great veal - check your bill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meat & Co

Meat & Co
8 St. George's Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
0035621385000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 212 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Price range: $39 - $48
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Steakhouse, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Malta's first meat boutique. With the finest selection of beef, lamb, poultry, pork and fish steaks to choose from, the menu is marked by culinary innovation and whimsical creativity. Freshly prepared salads and pasta are also available for light lunches and dinners.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great veal - check your bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This place has mixed reviews but we had a really good meal, shared the meat platter to start. Couldn't identify which bit was the donkey but maybe something got lost in translation! Veal is so hard to get in the UK so I had the veal chop and my wife had the veal rib-eye, both were perfect. Only downside was when the bill arrived I'd been charged for a bottle of wine that was twice the price of the one we'd drunk. When questioned the correct bill appeared in seconds which made us suspicious

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    81
    26
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

People were very friendly and helpful with the selection of both steak and wine. The menu has recently been changed. Great quality and service. Unforgetable experience!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Steakhouse gets steak wrong ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The staff were very good. The welcome was sincere . However, the medium rare steak we ordered arrived blue rare. The background music was too loud and incompatible . There was also a football match on tv which took away from atmosphere . Ultimately , the bill was excessive for what we got. Go to biancos across the street which will be 50% cheaper and nicer . Heard great things about MEAT and was very disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“It was very good, in the past”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Totally different now from the last year. I cannot understand what is the problem, but the food was horrible, uncooked, the service was poor. You made reservations, but anyway they gave to us a very small and uncomfortable table. The veal was poorly done, and don't make start to talk about the quality of the meat...terrible. And to sum up the price in the higher. I totally do not recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“People should go and try it everyone has there own experiences. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Excellent experience at this wonderful restaurant best welcome ever. Service with a smile good job. The food was excellent especially the Meat cooked to it's perfection with a taste of reality. Wonder were I can get a good type of meat like that. The atmosphere was great with a nice information about the products being told by the staff. I would recommend this very well. Nice job keep it coming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat & Co also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Meat & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meat & Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.