We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but hotel is a bit old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dean Hamlet Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dean Hamlet Aparthotel to your Saves list
Dean Hamlet Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3223, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good location but hotel is a bit old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

At the airport, I managed to book an airport transfer to the hotel at 8 euros and reached the hotel within an hour. I booked the studio only 2 euros more per night - and it turned out to be pretty spacious. There was a kitchenette with sink, stove, kettle, oven and microwave. The weather was great so I opened the windows (no need for the air con). The room itself was clean but the bathroom was old and bathtub wasn't very clean. AND I saw about 4 cockroaches (large ones) during my stay! Argh.
There was free wifi but it was very slow and I had to log on every few minutes which was annoying. Staff were not friendly but not rude and still quite helpful.
Just down the street from the hotel was a bus-stop with buses that bring you to Sliema, Valletta, Rabat (Mdina), and one that even goes to the airport. Very convenient! You can buy bus tickets on the bus for a full day at 2.60euros. Also a late-night convenience store just down the road, and some restaurants and bars in the area.
The breakfast was simple - coffee/tea, cereal, bread/jam/ham/cheese.
On the whole for someone on a budget, this hotel is a good choice.

Room Tip: get a studio! only a few euros more per night from the standard room but you have larger windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    29
    18
    18
See reviews for
8
28
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, staff were not that friendly like other comments been mentioned here before; no hair dryer in the room that need to borrow from front desk EVERY TIME you need to use it.
Bad things:
1. Student accommodation - the hotel didn't mention they are EF (Language School) student accommodation AT ALL on their web page so as can imagined all teenagers were partying and shouting at the hotel all the time, very difficult to have a proper rest at night.
2. Unstable WiFi - although the WiFi is free in the whole hotel it was super unstable that basically you got disconnected every 1 hour.
3. Bunk beds - Quality of the beds in the room were pretty bad, as it was some kind of bunk beds.
4. Pool - Outdoor swimming pool looks very dirty, seems like they didn't clean for a very long time.
Good thing:
1. Location - When you arrive at the airport all you need to do is take X2 (airport shuttle bus) to the hotel and get off at 'Ross' station, very easy to find, just need to walk down the road next to HSBC and only cost you 2.2 Euro (single way) from the airport.

Stay here if you only need to sleep at night, save some money and don't need to have their free breakfast as they are nothing special at all.

Room Tip: Great location for a budget hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I didn't expect a lot from a budget hotel but even allowing for that, I found this place poor. OK, it was clean, in a superb location, but that's about it. Students charging around making noise all night, unfriendly staff, and a woeful breakfast. I have stayed in far cheaper places that have been able to offer more than this. Stay somewhere else is my advice.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra, Malta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I used to live here for a whole summer and it was a great experience!!! :D the same year, during the Xmas holiday my grand parents from South Africa stayed for a few days, maybe a week and they liked it too. They had a normal hotel room while i lived in a sort of apartments. It was fairly good and I highly recommend it for tourists to stay for a visit in Malta. It offers great facilities and the staff is friendly. The cleaning service is always precise and in a whole it is a very clean hotel and they have just refurnished some parts of it. They have 2 swimming pools and
these are great and big enough for many people at once. The location is perfect mainly for younger people as it is a few minutes away from Paceville, what I call the Club ville :P It is best for poeple without children due to its location but even they would enjoy their stay as I lived there with 2 younger siblings aged 9 and 2 so it was no problem at all :)

Hope you opt for it as you won't regret it, prices are fairly good

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here in a 4 bedroom room for 1 night, its good if you want to have fun and don't want to spend much money because it's cheap...

Don't expect anything special from it, rooms are small and nothing is high tech but we still recommend it for people or groups who want to have fun on a low budget.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very clean and comfortable. Quality cleaning is every day. Fresh towels are every day. The rooms are very clean and recently refurbished.New furniture and very comfortable beds. Bright, spacious rooms. There are a fridge and a kettle in the room, it's very comfortable.
Balcony and nice view over Spinola Bay.
Very good air conditioning, which was the most important thing in August for us.
Quiet in the hotel.
There is a pool, which is open from early morning.
Good breakfast: assorted sausage and cheese, butter, muesli, cereal, milk, tea, coffee, juice, jam and etc.
Excellent location. Very central to everything you need. Quiet street. At the same time, very close to everything. Bus station is 2 min away with very good connections to Sliema, Valletta and all other parts of the island. Sandy town beach is 15 minutes by foot. Also, very close to shops and very good restaurants.
To the best beaches of the island you have to travel by bus, bus stop next to you.
Very good minimarket with very late operating hours (a rarity in Malta) is only 2 minutes walk. Supermarket is only 10 minutes walk.
Nice and quiet area but very close to all the night clubs and pubs (5-10 min walk)
The staff are very efficient, helpful and friendly.

Unfortunately there are no special rates for single occupancy.
Only thing was not so good.It's Wi-Fi. Stream was weak. You would only check and use your mail.

However definitely we enjoyed it so much. I'd like to stay there again I'm sure. Just loved it. The best hotel in this category and price range. I stayed in three hotels during my stay in Malta and I can compare - it is the best.
Many thanks and best regards for everyone of the staff.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4 floor, it's more comfortable area, very clean, quiet and nice view from b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figueira da Foz, Coimbra, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed in the dean hamlet hotel for 2 weeks in august, the hotel was all occupated by young people, wich created a really friendly environment. It's less than 5 minutes from paceville, has a nice pool, staff is friendly and everyday someone does minor cleaning in your room. Perfect for young people

Room Tip: higher floors don't have ants and cockroaches, I only had that problem on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dean Hamlet Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Hamlet Aparthotel

Address: Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3223, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dean Hamlet Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in St.Julians, Dean Hamlet Aparthotel has been totally refurbished during 2010 and upgraded to a 3 Star Aparthotel. It is only a few minutes walk from the bustling resort and approximately 10 minutes walk from the sandy bay of St.George's. Dean Hamlet has its own swimming pool, sun terrace and gymnasium, 24 hour reception, TV lounge, restaurant, game room, internet cafe and Free WIFI service. Accommodation consists of modern hotel rooms, most of which are with balconies, studio and one bedroom self-catering apartments sleeping up to 4 persons. All apartments are equipped with kitchenette (2 ring cooker or microwave, fridge, etc.) and private bath/shower and w.c. Some studios and most 1 bedroom units have balconies. Some rooms and apartments have their own private terrace at penthouse Level. Twice weekly cleaning service with weekly linen change is provided as standard, unless otherwise arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dean Hamlet Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Hamlet Aparthotel Hotel Saint Julian`s
Dean Hamlet Aparthotel Saint Julians
Dean Hamlet Aparthotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dean Hamlet Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.