We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dean Hamlet Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dean Hamlet Aparthotel to your Saves list
Dean Hamlet Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3223, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Having read some reviews of this hotel we were initially quite hesitant about our choice of accommodation. On reflection we could not be happier with the Dean Hamlet. On arrival we found the staff to be very accommodating and eager to help. We were two days late on account of the ash cloud and had expected to be charged as the cancellation was within 24 hours, in fact they generously charged us only the days we stayed. Throughout the trip the staff were friendly and the rooms were kept acceptably clean. The room itself was more than adequate with fridge, kettle, TV, balcony and a very good shower! We didn't find noise to be a problem at all, although our room was quite high up and round the back of the hotel. The location was ideal for a young couple such as ourselves, offering a multitude of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs within a 5min walk. Bus link to Valletta and Sliema is within a 1min walk. Highly recommended for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We booked a superior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    29
    18
    18
See reviews for
8
28
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

This apartment block in St Julian's is close to Paceville but off the main road and so is not noisy. The location is excellent; the accommodation is good, clean and very good value. There is a fine swimming pool which was never busy. Free wifi too. Very helpful and courteous staff. How could you go wrong?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Correggio, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

we had the 4 bed room, a kind of apartment with 4 bed + kitchen.
Quite clean, not everyday though. big terrace, quite basic furniture, and sheets. bathroom was ok, but not cleaned every day. I would definitely not suggest to stay in St.Julian's as I did not like it, too noisy, too crowded... I would rather stay in other places.
If you do have to stay there, well... do not expect much.
The hotel has a pool, and two lifts. it is also used as a base for the elgnlis lessons for foreigners students. Quite at night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I stayed here for a couple of nights to get a flavour of Malta having spent the preceding week on Gozo.
On the plus side the location is great and the wireless internet was free, but I would not stay there again.
A large part of the place's business seems to come from language schools as opposed to travellers/holiday makers and as a result the area is very noisy until quite late at night and while I was there the air conditioning did not work at all one night and on the other it had a lock on it so that you could not set the temperature lower than 23C!
On top of this the self-catering facilities did not look up to much and eating is out in Malta is so cheap that when travelling on my own I would never choose that option again.
I can understand why people would recommend this, but I can't.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

we went to dean hamlet aprt. in 2006. staff were ok, the room had 3 bedrooms 2 with 2 single beds n 1 with a double. the floor was dirty but apart from that the rooms were nice, a bad thing was that are room was looking at the swimming pool and it was noisy in the morning at around 7 so it woke you up! and at night when u heard them at the pool! even though there were 2 swimming pools they were dirty and disgusting and had bits of food in it. there was good restaurants around and a fruit stall. it was the first time we had ever been away for 3 weeks and it was HORRIBLE! we wish we went somewhere else tht was nicer for 3 weeks! i dont think tht i would recommend dean hamlet because it wasnt good!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

First of all it was dirty (just like all the rest of the island) we even had algea in the shower, the cleaning of the room was every 4 days and when we arrived the first day we found our that the bed sheets were dirty, we asked to change them and they replaces them with other which had a big cut inthe middle, in general, the the personal was really rude to us. They answered to our questions by using monosillabic words. During our stay we had frequently problems with the shower and the techincs entered in our room at 7 am in the morning without knocking at the door; they also did it another time, and the last time one one of my friends was about entering in the shower so she was naked...
then... the area is very very noisy, but this is not strange in St. Julian's, what i really couldn't stand was that the room's windows gave on the swimming pool so starting from 8 am people started to scream and during the night there was always somebody drunked near the pool, which made sleeping impossible...
in general.. avoid Malta, if you really need to go, choose another hotel...

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — all
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

The apartments are clean and very basic, which suited us as we just needed a clean bed to sleep in at night. Our apartment had 3 bedrooms, a living area which had 2 bed settes, a kitchen and 2 toilets/shower-rooms. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful.

Dean Hamlet was in a good location, as at the bottom of the road was the bus stop for buses going to Sliema/Valletta area. The main bus terminus is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel were you could get a bus to other areas of Malta. Also about a 5 minute walk away was a supermarket with a wide variety of fresh fruit & veg, fresh meat, cheese and fish counters and other general groceries.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No phone or TV in room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dean Hamlet Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Hamlet Aparthotel

Address: Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3223, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dean Hamlet Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in St.Julians, Dean Hamlet Aparthotel has been totally refurbished during 2010 and upgraded to a 3 Star Aparthotel. It is only a few minutes walk from the bustling resort and approximately 10 minutes walk from the sandy bay of St.George's. Dean Hamlet has its own swimming pool, sun terrace and gymnasium, 24 hour reception, TV lounge, restaurant, game room, internet cafe and Free WIFI service. Accommodation consists of modern hotel rooms, most of which are with balconies, studio and one bedroom self-catering apartments sleeping up to 4 persons. All apartments are equipped with kitchenette (2 ring cooker or microwave, fridge, etc.) and private bath/shower and w.c. Some studios and most 1 bedroom units have balconies. Some rooms and apartments have their own private terrace at penthouse Level. Twice weekly cleaning service with weekly linen change is provided as standard, unless otherwise arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dean Hamlet Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Hamlet Aparthotel Hotel Saint Julian`s
Dean Hamlet Aparthotel Saint Julians
Dean Hamlet Aparthotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dean Hamlet Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.