We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - a wnderful and relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien St. Julians

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien St. Julians to your Saves list
Le Meridien St. Julians
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Falkirk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it - a wnderful and relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Loved it from the moment we stepped in. Room fantastic - large and lots of storage space. Pools were great. We went in April and pool upstairs was too cold for us wimps to swim in. We did spend a day up there, lovely views and lots of space. We mainly used the pool downstairs which was a super temperature and not very busy. I had spa treatment which was wonderful - the therapist was very firm which I like but made me feel comfortable enough to tell her if she was being too firm. Bed very comfy and a good sized bathroom. Room cleaned everyday without fail. Lots to choose from for breakfast and they serve till 10:30am which, if you are lazy like us, is great!! We arrived early hours in the morning but not all our luggage did. When I went to see the concierge he had already phoned the airport and was told it was on the next flight. It was delivered to our room promptly and in the meantime we were provided with plenty of toiletries etc to keep us going - they went out of their way to help us. We did not eat dinner in the hotel but the menu looked good. We found a lovely sandwich bar nearby for lunch – leave the hotel via reception, down hill towards the seafront and bear left near the London pub, about a three minute walk. The rooftop does sell sandwiches but they were very expensive and very little choice for me (I’m a veggie). The bar downstairs was lovely – we loved the cocktails especially the non alcoholic ones which were made with fresh fruit. We used the gym, very well equipped but forgot to take our own headphones so we could use the TV’s! Lifts busy at peak times such as breakfast and you do have to wait a few extra minutes but this happens in all hotels. In a week they never broke down. The stairs can only be used in an emergency but there are stairs for the bottom three floors. I would class this as a five star hotel. It is very relaxing and in a great location. A ten minute walk to the busy night life for the young and plenty of restaurants near by for us who do not like loud music. The hotel has some small pubs nearby with a relaxing, non load music atmosphere. Malta have recently enforced a no smoking ban like Britain but smoking rooms are avaibal ein the hotel. The staff were more than helpful – they went out of their way to make you feel welcome and individual. We would defiantly go back.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    531
    216
    80
    39
See reviews for
282
743
74
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

Lifts that dont work, thanks godness we went in low season with no coach loads of guests. Spa facilities v average. Furnishings bland and very very cheap looking.

Breakfast food very poor and coffee was the worst I've come across including America which says alot.(no offence but US coffee doesn't rate against against Italian coffee_)

Its an ok place for 3/4 stars, but no where near a 5 star hotel.Reception staff, housemaids were 1st class, however the spa and breakfast room staff were below average and very rude at times.

Would not return again nor recommend.

  • Liked — great staff other than spa/breakfast dining staff
  • Disliked — poor grade furnishings not a 5 star
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

i'm maltese... my partner was in malta and i decided to treat him to a romantic getaway... the weather was not the best we could get but the hotel made up for it... lovely room, lovely staff, amazing spa...brilliant masseurs, i loved everything about this place...keep it up meridiens!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

Well we went to le Meridien and it was good but didn't impress me so much that I would go back. We were half board but would certainly not recommend this. The Villa restaurant was lovely but one visit would have been enough. The other restaurant was buffet and not impressive at all. The bottom line is that we had been to the Fortina Spa 4 times and we missed all their super restaurants so we've booked to back there again in April. Will happily not return to le Meridien. Nothing in particular to complain about but it lacked character and charm. One tip is, don't upgrade to a seaview room because the sun will not be on your balcony. The sun shines on the back of the hotel which overlooks a car park. The executive lounge is great but not worth the extra. There are better hotels in Malta than this eg Fortina Spa or Hilton.

  • Liked — big bed with comfy duvet
  • Disliked — no character or charm
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

Le Meridien is an upscale hotel on Balluta Bay in St. Julians. As an executive summary, this hotel provided a pleasant stay, but fell short of what I would expect for a 5-star establishment (I would rate it as a 4-star).

Location: The hotel is close to the waterfront, and about half the rooms have water views. It is a short and comfortable walk to Spinola Bay, where most of the restaurants are (turn left along the promenade) and also close to the church. The hotel is a walkable distance from the nighlife area of Paceville, but far enough away that it seems to be unaffected by noise, drunks, etc. Thumbs up for location.

Staff: Staff were generally pleasant and helpful. I was greeted with a drink at check-in. Check-in went smoothly. Personally I tend to engage the staff if I meet them in the elevator rather than simply ignoring them, and it seemed like the hotel had done a good job of hiring "people-oriented" staff and trained them well.

Room: My room was reasonably spacious, and although I did not have a water view, there was a good balcony. I believe I was upgraded to an SPG room, but I also saw a regular room and did not notice any difference, other than a free bottle of water. The bed was very comfortable and the heating/AC worked well. There are both British and Euro power sockets. Now comes the not-so-good part. The architecture is, to say the least, a bit odd. For example, when the room door opens 45 degrees, it almost touches the wall, so that you have to open it almost a full 180 degrees to enter or leave the room. This does not make it easy to bring suitcases in or out of the room, and there were scuff marks/tears on the wall where others had obviously noticed the same thing. Although the room was very clean, the touch-up paint jobs for these types of scuffs were fairly rough. The TV reception and channel lineup is decent, although the TV is on the small side. Internet in the room is via a cable and costs a whopping 20 Euro per day.

Bathroom: My bathroom had a shower stall and separate garden tub. It was a good size, and kept very clean (thumbs up for housekeeping). Washcloths and amenities such as shampoo were provided, of upscale quality, and tastefully arranged. Again there were some quirks: No hairdryer anywhere to be found, and the drain ran so slow that the shower stall overflowed.

Facilities: The hotel offers a decent buffet breakfast in a not-so-appealing (formica-panelled?) restaurant. It certainly was not the best ever, but very acceptable. The hotel has a pool and spa, which I did not use. As noted above, Internet access in the rooms is expensive. There is free WiFi in the lobby, although using it is a wholly frustrating experience. There are at least 3 different access points (one in the lobby, one in the lounge, and one in the business centre) which are configured differently, so if you don't get a reception in one, try moving to another. For the techhies: the lobby AP seems to allow 802.11g connections only, so if you have an 802.11b card you will "see" the AP but not be able to connect. Further, the DHCP lease time is set to about 5 min and the connection keeps dropping out when it renews. Thumbs down for Internet.

Miscellaneous: Tap water in Malta is supposedly safe to drink, but does not taste very pleasant and most recommend against it. My room was supplied with complimentary bottled water, but I heard this was not the case for regular rooms. There is a supermarket a few doors down from the hotel that sells water for under 1 Euro. If you are looking for a restaurant, I highly recommend the Barracuda (walk right along the promenade); upscale but not that expensive. Most of the restaurants are on Spinola Bay (to the left). Taxi from the airport to hotel was 20.35 Euro (pay in advance at the desk). I heard the hotel charged up to 60 Euro for it, and saw signs offering limo service for 10 Euro. A word of warning, the taxi drivers seem to uniformly drive like lunatics. 100 kph on the streets of St. Julians really is not safe. There are buses and a ferry leaving from near the hotel to Valletta. You can also take the #62 bus to Mdina from in front of the hotel. Buses are slow, but cheap and give a good local experience.

Summary: To give a point of reference, I often stay in decent hotels on business, and go for something cheaper when paying out of my own pocket, so I'd describe myself as a discerning but not fussy traveller. Le Meridien had some very noticeable flaws, and if you are fussy or EXPECT perfection you might be disappointed. For those who are "splashing out" for somewhere more upmarket, I think you will enjoy it. My room cost around 80 Euro in March which I consider a very fair price. You don't want to be paying 300 Euro for this place. If I visit St. Julians again, I would read the reviews of other hotels and consider the alternatives, but certainly would not have a problem staying at Le Meridien again if the price was right.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Quirky architecture, poor internet
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

Hotel is brand spanking new with spotless, spacious rooms, nice balcony and bathrooms. Location is right on the seafront, about a 10 minute walk from Spinola bay and its restaurants, so far enough away to not be noisy.
Hotel communal areas are nice, spa looked fantastic and there is a rooftop pool and bar area with great views.
Main hotel bar very pleasant with daily happy hour and great cocktails.
Free parking in underground carpark is a bonus. There is a bus stop right outside and a supermarket round the corner.
Would definately stay again.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a business conference.
The hotel is very well located. Rooms are very spacious, have all the amenities but the decoration is Spartan in an Accor sense of the word.
What makes this hotel truly five star is its staff. Very helpful, professional and friendly, especially the staff at the reception desk.

The building has a 3/4 star feel to it.
Most irritating about the hotel is the elevator.
Not only there is just not enough of them, but the software that controls the operation is either very poorly written, or the whole thing is possessed by a maliscious demon. It just does not stop where and when you want it to stop. It just does what it likes to do.
Result : at peak hour more than 10 people are waiting on each floor for 5-10 minutes

Further point to take care of : the water in the swimming pool was hot like a bath and plain dirty.

  • Liked — Staff & location
  • Disliked — Decoration, elevator, pool<
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the fashionable and architecturally rich Balluta Bay, bordering the cosmopolitan town of Sliema, the hotel embraces the Maltese way of living by celebrating its diverse culture with a new perspective. The contemporary design of this seaside hotel stimulates creative minds. The concierge team shares its secrets for unrivaled experiences around the island of Malta or you may join in the artistic, cultural and culinary initiatives  being held at the hotel all year round. The hotel is perfectly and centrally located on a stimulating journey to discover Malta's unique treasures. With impressive Spa facilities in a beautiful tropical setting, a holistic approach is given to your relaxing experience. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting), 24h room service and daily happy hour at the bar. Part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien St. Julians, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.