We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing christmas break....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien St. Julians

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien St. Julians to your Saves list
Le Meridien St. Julians
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing christmas break....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Taking into account location and price I would highly recommend Le Meridien.

One of the best hotels in Malta.

We stayed over the christmas period with our 3 year old daughter and had a fab time.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was lovely, our room was very nice and we really enjoyed our stay.

In indoor pool was lovely and warm and our child was allowed in before 6am to 12am and after 6pm at night - this was ideal.

We ventured into the bar Ku Da Ta...cocktails and dinner one evening. Staff very good and food was enjoyed by all our party.

Will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experiences following your stay over the Christmas period.

I am delighted to hear that both you and your family found the hotel so ideal for your Christmas break and it is a pleasure to hear that our associates played a role in enhancing your experience.

While thanking you once again for your contribution and for your excellent recommendation, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco VellaGeneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    530
    215
    80
    39
See reviews for
281
740
74
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qormi, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I decided to take my colleagues to the Le Meridien hotel for December to celebrate. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Our table was set up perfectly in a quite place . The waiters served us perfectly and were very helpful. The food was excellent and good. We enjoyed our evening there. I will definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent visit.

I am pleased to hear that both you and your colleagues enjoyed your buffet dinner experience and I am glad to hear that the service offered by our associates was also a positive one.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I just returned from a week's stay at Le Meridien and was very impressed. The hotel facilities are all very good (what you would expect from a five star hotel) and the happy hour, with two cocktails for the price of one, was a big winner for us. The main highlight though was the staff. They were all extremely friendly and helpful, and definitely made our stay a great one.

A few minor points:
- wireless internet only available in the lobby and bar
- music during breakfast, in the lift and in the bar was almost constantly Christmas music, played a bit too loud. Mariah Carey seemed to have been on constant repeat
- the food in the hotel restaurant was mediocre in my opinion

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you found both the product and service that we offer up to your expectation and that our associates played a very important role in ensuring that you had a great stay.

Thank you once again for your contribution and we look forward to having the possibility of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited this hotel one week in August and had great time there. The room was big, clean and modern. We didn't go for the ocien view room but still had partial view of water from our tiny balcony.
Location: Hotel is on a nice walking strip on water. There are some restaurants right on your door step and you can walk for hours (or take the bus) on either direction and go to more crowded cities and there are restaurants and ice cream parlors along the way. That's what we did every day. What I liked about the location was that it was far from the crowded party area of St Julian but still close enough. There are bus stations outside of the door. Breakfast buffet is nice and lots of choices and you can get seats with beautiful views. The only thing that I wasn’t as impressed with was the outdoor pool. For us it was okay as we wanted to explore and weren’t there for a bathing holiday. We tried the outdoor pool once and then never bothered with it again as it was mediocre and there was nothing interesting about it.
Service: Before arriving we called the staff and asked for crib and confirmed that there is a bath and the girl on phone was very accommodating and when we arrived everything was set up as per our requests.

Things to consider before booking this hotel:
- This is not a beach hotel or a hotel with luxurious water activities. If you want a beach vacation then reconsider your choice of this hotel. It does have a nice indoor pool and a "okay" roof top pool. But it doesn't have fancy pool area or private beach of any sort. We took bus and after 1 hour went to a nice sand beach on the north of island but it was too far of a hike to do every day. There are some fine pebble public beaches closer in St Julian but we didn't like that they didn't have soft sand and therefore decided to go further where we can get soft sand and nicer beaches. There is a public pool in front of the hotel, which to my view was nicer than the hotel's mediocre outside pool, however, we didn't try it as it was too crowded.

- If you are coming here for partying, then you are a taxi drive from the party area and you may want to consider one of the hotels actually closer to St Julian and party scene. This hotel is 5 mins drive and comfortable location for people who would like to go out to lounges once or twice and don't mind paying for the taxi ride back.

- There are restaurants in walking distance and the bus connection is fabulous and the bus stop is in front of the hotel. We rented a car for parts of our trip to discover the island and loved having the flexibility although finding a parking in Malta is impossible.
- Don’t miss going to Medina! I was there in 2007 and loved it then but still got so touched by this quiet city and noticed that I had forgotten how infectious the medieval feeling radiating from all that old buildings are!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed experience following your stay with us in August 2012.

We are delighted to hear that your experience of our hotel and that of the Maltese Islands was a very positive one. As you indicated the hotel's unique location, set in Balluta Bay which marks the point where St Julian's imperceptibly merges with Sliema. With art nouveau style buildings, which were built at the turn of the last century and the neo-gothic Carmelite church with its long spindly bell towers, the hotel is set in a unique location typically associated with bourgeoisie since the early 19th century. With a promenade stretching all the way to the Capital Valletta, public rocky beaches (which are more popular with the Maltese), cafes, ice cream parlours, children play areas, public gardens and some of Malta’s finest restaurants our guests find themselves very much in the heart of the Maltese way of living. In an opposite direction and just a few minutes walking distance from the hotel one can find themselves in the bustling Spinola Bay which leads on to the heart of St. Julian’s and Malta’s prime night spots which encompasses numerous entertainment niches -from nightclubs to casinos, cinemas and other entertainment venues.

While thanking you once again for your contribution, we do look forward to having the possibility of welcoming you once again at Le Meridien St. Julian’s Hotel & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I, along with other family members decided to book Gala Dinner on New Year's Eve at one of the hotel venues. It was really great! It shall be memorable in years to come.The tables all beautifully laid out, the buffet meal was of exceptional quality, fresh and very very tempting - you name it, it was there.
The staff were friendly and courteous offering a smile at all times. There was space on and around the tables, not cramped as many times one finds in restaurants. Of course the live band contributed to a splendid evening and no kids.
Thank you and well done Le Meridien. We shall certainly pay a return visit and recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that the service and the quality of the product we offered to you, your wife and other family members were instrumental in ensuring that you started 2013 on the right note !

Thank you for sharing this experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Meridien for 4 nights over Christmas. Our room was gorgeous and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the room has everything you need. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is perfectly situated in St. Julians Bay near lots of pubs and restaurants. We were completely spoilt here, worth every penny!!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very spacious and have a nice big tub and a lovely rain shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience while staying at our hotel over the Christmas period.

I am delighted to hear that your experience of Malta and Le Meridien were very positive and that our associates played a key role in helping to achieve this. As you stated in your review the hotel has a truly unique location and the accesability to all the areas is one of the key features for our guests staying with us.

We do hope to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for another unique Le Meridien experience.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabbar, null, Malta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was so amazed by the hotel staff, they were really helpful. The hotel is wonderful as well and it is in the center of Malta. whether one would like to go to eat in a restaurant, take a walk near the seashore, visit the clubbing scene, go shopping, Le meridien is close to all these attractions. One must also mention the lovely Le Meridien have.


One of the best hotels I ever been to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences while staying at our Hotel.

It is always a pleasure for us to hear that our guests have not only found the products and services that we offer to their complete satisfaction but that they have also enjoyed the hotel's unique location - Truly in the heart of the Maltese way of living.

While I would like to once again thank you for your contribution, we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the fashionable and architecturally rich Balluta Bay, bordering the cosmopolitan town of Sliema, the hotel embraces the Maltese way of living by celebrating its diverse culture with a new perspective. The contemporary design of this seaside hotel stimulates creative minds. The concierge team shares its secrets for unrivaled experiences around the island of Malta or you may join in the artistic, cultural and culinary initiatives  being held at the hotel all year round. The hotel is perfectly and centrally located on a stimulating journey to discover Malta's unique treasures. With impressive Spa facilities in a beautiful tropical setting, a holistic approach is given to your relaxing experience. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting), 24h room service and daily happy hour at the bar. Part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien St. Julians, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.