We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien St. Julians

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien St. Julians to your Saves list
Le Meridien St. Julians
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We went to the meridien in May for a friends 50th birthday, we only went for 3 nights but this turned into 7 as we were stuck due to the ash cloud, we were in the intercontinental hotel for the extra 4 nights, which was also a good hotel.

The rooms were very roomy and very clean.

We were only on a b&b basis so I can only comment on breakfast, the breakfast was plentiful and very good, however, on the Saturday and Sunday it was very busy due to all the weekend visitors.

People say in some reviews that the staff are not polite, however, in my opinion you reap what you sow, all the staff that we dealt with were courteous and polite and very helpful. There was however a number of guests who obviously think that please and thankyou is beyond them, you can't expect expect staff to be gushing if you can't show them some degree of politeness and respect.

A restaurant I would recommend in St Julians is 1927 and also a visit to Bezz Cafe is well worthwhile, great cocktails and very reasonably priced. You will find Bezz cafe on the sea front but you will need to look closely for it.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay in the meridien. Oh and the massages are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    532
    216
    80
    39
See reviews for
283
745
74
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We went here for my wifes birthday treat.
Booked online costing £100 a night we presumed we had a bargain for a 5 star hotel.
On arrival we were told our Valley View room was available and we checked in. Soon to find out the Valley view was the carpark and road behind with building works adjacent.
The room had a seperate toilet (smallest ever in the world... tiny, tiny, laughably small) to the bathroom and the room was on the small side for a family staying for a week, with a rather unsuitable single chair bed for our 9 year old. So we asked about an upgrade and paid more money again to have a family room, with again valley view as they wanted a further premium for a sort of half view of the bay below, Sea view.

The family room was great and at least our daughter had a double bed and there was floor space to move about etc The toilet at least now, you couls close the door and move in it.
Shower was amazing and bath was ok.
Bed was MASSIVE and comfy except for the poor quality cheap pillows provided. Asked a maid to be told no others available..... 5 star ???

The next shock was a small pool on the roof. Not big enough for all the guests!!! no more than 10 meters or so by about 5.
Infact there were only about 40-50 sunbeds and unless you went up first thing or last thing they were in use or reserved with towels!! When we complained to reception we were told it was a business hotel, not a family hotel!!!!!! WHAT.... they why take our money booking children in..... Not very good.
We asked to use the indoor pool, no children during the day... after 6 was ok,
We used it once at 6pm to have the chavy Maltese youth hog the jacuzzi. The pool was ok, but as its open as a health club as well as to residents its too busy.

The bar was good, happy hour a bonus... bar staff ask you to take a seat and they will be over. Can be hit and miss..... drinks can take a while to arrive and one night we waited and questioned the wait.... to be told they forgot our order!!!! we cancelled it and headed off out! Not 5 star.

The hotel is not 5 star for holiday makers... yes it has a spa room, conference center, business area....... Business 5 star maybe... not family holiday 5 star.

Each morning the drilling, banging and cutting from the building works next door drove us mad. In fact so much so... we escaped to nearby hotels and used their pools as ours was so poor.

Would we return..... No.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Good points:
Great location - an easy stroll to St Julians and the bus to Valletta is efficient
Room - spacious with a sea view (decent sized balcony)
Food at breakfast - a lot of choice and good quality
Cleanliness - can't complain
Spa - lovely warm pool, good jacuzzi and quality of massage pretty high (but see below...)
Bad points:
Reception - our check in was not especially warm, she was most concerned about getting us to sign up to the preferred customer scheme than informing us about useful things like breakfast
Spa service - we were kept waiting about ten minutes (no apology at all) for our massages and the time was not made up. This is VERY disappointing and unacceptable - a good spa is important to me. I used the spa at the Meridien in Dubai and couldn't fault it.
Rooftop pool - due to the high winds, the sun shade in between us fell down. It was a huge heavy object and potentially could have killed us if we happened to be under it at the time - that really is not an overstatement. No-one was on duty so it was guests who went round and out the other shaes on the floor so not to injure anyone.
Bed - far too hard.
Please feel free to contact me if any queries.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zandvoort
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We had a wonderful honeymoon in Malta, and stayed for 7 nights at the \meridien. As we -unfortunately- arrived at 07.45 in the morning, they told us at the reception that ou room was free from 15.00 hours. NOBODY came with the suggestion that maybe we would like to breakfast, nothing, you just have to wait 7 hours without having a room...and than, on the morning of our departure -at 6 o'clock - you can take a small cookie and a cup of thea, so in the endeffect the Meridien steales 1 breakfast but most of all show little/non hospitality.
Spa and massage as offered are wonderful, bar with happy hour is really good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Although I am glad that you enjoyed our Spa and our Bar facilities, I am truly disappointed that you've had a negative impression of our hospitality services. The comments you've highlighted with regards to the breakfast issue have been passed on to the departments concerned and are seriously being looked into. On behalf of our team, I truly apologize for falling short of your expectations on this aspect.

This being said, I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future as to be given a chance to change your perception of our services, regain your trust and exceed your expectations,

Once again many thanks for sharing and for your custom,
Kind Regards,
Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

This was our second trip to this hotel and again we had a great time, I look at other reviews on this site and sometimes wonder if I am at the same hotel!

Check in is a very smooth process and we had booked through lowcostholidays.co.uk so not with the hotel direct, I had however contacted the hotel before our stay to upgrade our room in order to have a sea view and this was all confirmed when we got there and very kindly they upgraded us again to a larger room.

The room was clean and nicely presented, with large bathroom and seperate toilet. The whole hotel is very nicely decorated and this is carried through into the rooms, simple but with warm med based colours.

It is in a great location for walking around the coastline towards Silema or St Georges Bay and all the way there are various restaurants, cafes, bars and shops to keep you mor than occupied.

I have recommended thhis hotel whole heartedly before and will continue to do so as I think all of the staff are helpful, friendly and provide excellant customer service. Well done to all and I hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure for me to read about your positive experience with us. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the team.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your repeat custom and I hope we will be welcoming you again soon amongst us,

Thank you for your time,
Kind Regards,
Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

I stayed at hotel while at an International Nursing Conference in May 2011. Arrived with two other colleagues with reservation arranged through conference travel agency. We had arrange a two room suite. No two room suite available. Cost of room doubled. We had to pay for two rooms ($500.per night each) Called after in room and raised our room charge another 40 euro a night. No conference discount honored. Had to pay for bottled water in room even though you can't drink tap water. overcharged for items not taken from mini bar, charged for breakfast which told was included in room charge. Tried to have erroneous charges removed from bill while at hotel (viewed on TV) but was told couldn't. Only recourse through credit card company? Poor customer service!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear Guests,

We do remember the situation you unfortunately had to face during you stay with us. As discussed directly with you during your stay, it appeared that we honoured the booking received through the agency organising the conference. With this in mind, we did our very best to accommodate you and to help you getting closer to your expectations. Unfortunately we had limitations due to the fact that we were very tight with availability during that period.

I deeply regret that you didn’t raise the additional issues mentioned in your review upon check-out as we would have certainly looked into what else we could possibly do to ease your disappointment.

I would like to invite you to contact the hotel directly, so we can further discuss matters.

In the meantime, thank you for your feed-back and looking forward to hearing from you,
Kind Regards,
Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We booked 2 rooms at this hotel which were on offer and we got a good deal through Hotels.com. On arrival, we were allocated standard rooms overlooking the car park but decided to splash out and pay the extra for a sea view executive floor room. We were shown around the Exec Lounge but decided not to subscribe to the extra charge as the kitchen area looked uninviting and it was nothing special for the extra cost. To be fair the standard rooms were nice enough if you are not bothered about the view. Our rooms were very comfortable with sea views and balcony. There are little nice extras such as slippers and dressing gowns and the very important kettle to make a cuppa. The rooms were clean although the balcony was permanently covered in a layer of dust (hazard of the weather) maybe could have been given a bit more attention. Everyone was friendly and helpful from the maid to the reception staff. It was in a great location for getting out and about with free parking. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the Maltese evening (they have themed evenings on a regular basis) but it was a little disappointing but there's lots of nice restaurants in the area. The build yourself burgers in the bar are the best ever. I wouldn't rate it a 5* hotel but a decent 4*. We tried the spa and enjoyed the facilities for an afternoon and used the roof top garden area to relax although the pool area did get quite busy with limited sunbeds. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMalta, Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. It's great to know that your accommodation met your expectations, although I am a little disappointed about your impression of our themed nights at Scirocco Restaurant. I have shared your comments with our kitchen team. If you visit us again in the future, we will hopefully manage to turn round your perception of our main restaurant.

On a more positive note, I am glad that you enjoyed our Burger menu - it is indeed one of the most popular options at our KuDeTa Bar & Lounge.

Thank you for selecting Le Meridien for your holiday in Malta,
Kind Regards,
Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the fashionable and architecturally rich Balluta Bay, bordering the cosmopolitan town of Sliema, the hotel embraces the Maltese way of living by celebrating its diverse culture with a new perspective. The contemporary design of this seaside hotel stimulates creative minds. The concierge team shares its secrets for unrivaled experiences around the island of Malta or you may join in the artistic, cultural and culinary initiatives  being held at the hotel all year round. The hotel is perfectly and centrally located on a stimulating journey to discover Malta's unique treasures. With impressive Spa facilities in a beautiful tropical setting, a holistic approach is given to your relaxing experience. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting), 24h room service and daily happy hour at the bar. Part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien St. Julians, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.