We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Malta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Malta to your Saves list
InterContinental Malta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
County Cork Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Pure Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 5 nights (June 3rd to 7th incl.), we flew from Dublin via Frankfurt with Lufthansa and when we arrived at Malta we were without our luggage. We are ambassador members and when we explained our misfortune at check in we were upgraded to a suite (we had reserved a club room), the concierge staff from then on dealt with Lufthansa on our behalf. The room (2 rooms, bedroom & lounge together with a large ensuite and lavatory off the hallway) was everything you would expect of an IC hotel. Excellent A/c which we needed. The club lounge was superb, the breakfast had all the usual fare and very well presented. We dined at 3 of the hotels restaurants and all were to a high standard, the main restaurant (it was an asian theme night the night we dined), Waterbiscuit (recently opened and excellent, good value) & Paranga (wonderful setting and excellent food v price ratio. I agree with other reviewers that the area may not be as salubrious as other locations (a lot of bars and clubs for the 20/30 somethings) but looks can be deceiving and same did not take away from the tranquility of the hotel. The pool is located on the rooftop and covers a large area, ample sun loungers are available and the pool bar/restaurant serves good quality food at a reasonable prices. The spa is outsourced to an other company (mainly run by russian and eastern european folk - probably a tad over priced for whats on offer, the russian staff can be quite pushy!!) We availed on the hotel car with regard to airport transfers at €22 each way it was hassle free. We were invited to the managers reception (05/06) at the Waterbiscuit restaurtant to celebrate the opening of same, it was a nice touch. The one abiding aspect I took away from this hotel was the STAFF, from door to housekeeping and all grades of managers, each and everyone was pleasant & polite, no question or request was a bother and handled in an efficient manner. We have no hesitation recommending this property and look forward to returning sometime.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us at InterContinental Malta.

We are very pleased at being able to help you with the issue with you luggage as we understand it can be quite distressing. We are very please that you tried so many of the hotel facilities and that you found them of such high standard. We would also like to thank you for you Ambassador membership and for being true Ambassadors of IHG we would be truly delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

If you have any further issues or comments please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    825
    293
    91
    47
See reviews for
565
933
88
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

First of, the negatives. We ordered this trip through a charter agency, who sold us flight and hotel in a package. When the flight arrives at 10 AM in the morning, I think it is uneccessary to wait until 3 PM to get our room. It is nice to be allowed to use the facilities (pool, bar, etc), but after a tiring flight, you really want to go change first.

As other has mentioned, temperature of shower also a little difficult to adjust.

The restaurants are not as good as the ones around the hotel. Possibly the Al Fresco, but that one is a bit pricey.

Last negative comment was that there were two queen-sized beds in our room instead of one King-sized.

The positives:

Really good location. Even though we are a little too old for the party street, we are not that old that we are bothered by it. The staff is also super-friendly, and the concierge goes out of his way to assist you, even booking tables at other restaurants. The pool area is really large, with helpful attendants who fixes your umbrella for you (which is apparently too complex for vacationing people like us, haha). If you think the pool area looks full, walk around a little. You will soon find a huge area with lots of sun beds. It was never close to full when we were here.

We like to go to spas and gyms a lot, so it was perfect for us with the huge Cynergy gym and the nice Carissa Spa on premises. You can train for free as a guest, and also use the basic facilities of the spa (sauna, pool, Turkisk bath). If you want gym classes or spa treatments, that cost extra, but it was not too pricey. We have not tried any other hotels in Malta, but this was a good experience for us.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us at InterContinental Malta.

Please accept our apologies for making you wait so long for you room, it is always our intention to provide all guest with their room as soon as they arrive however this is sometimes not possible due to the high occupancy of the hotel and the time it takes to ensure that the room is cleaned to the highest of standards, though you patience is greatly appreciated.

We are very please that you made good use of our Concierge they are indeed extremely helpful in ensuring that you experience the best of what the Maltese islands have to offer.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

If you have any further issues or comments please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This has everything you would expect from an IC hotel. Great design, excellent service and a nice resort feel. Room was great - comfy beds, lovely balcony overlooking the pool area with a sea view and a fab bathroom. Aircon was excellent. Beware the robobar tho - 15 seconds and you've bought the coke and it's not cheap. Definitely worth the upgrade to the club lounge which is fantastic with a wonderful terrace - the usual excellent IC service and courtesy.

Spa is great, gym HUGE, Waterbiscuit restaurant was really excellent - superb food and service.

Location is not great but take the walk down to their beach restaurant - the food is really great and lovely to sit on the sand and enjoy the evening breeze.

Pool area is lovely with very efficient and attentive service.

All in all this is a very good hotel - but as other reviewers have said, in a not so tranquil location. There is a mall opposite with a Marks and Spencer food store, great for essentials and it's party central at night. If you want chilled days at the lovely resort pool and funky nights in the restaurants, bars and clubs then you cannot do better.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool, away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us at InterContinental Malta.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us so much. We are especially pleased that you had such excellent service from our staff they do indeed provide the highest quality of service. We are also pleased that you managed to use many of the hotel facilities as we believe that they can only enhance you stay.

We apologise that you did not find the area surrounding the hotel comfortable, we hope that this did not spoil your stay too much while on the islands.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

If you have any further issues or comments please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in July for the 2nd time in this hotel and booked a king leisure club room. To my surprise they upgraded us to a terrace suite, which was over looking the pool, & the room was extremely clean and lovely. . Room was huge and beautiful and since we were celebrating a special day they even gave us sparkling wine and petit fours in the room :). We stayed in the new 7th floor Carissa exec lounge which was included in our room rate and this was lovely. Predinner canapés and beautiful cocktails in a nice relaxed atmosphere was amazing. From one of our 3 balconies we could see the chefs of the pool bar cooking and noticed that whilst cooking they licked their fingers,literally dipping their fingers into sauces and then making up wraps and baguettes for guests as if it were all ok. They also had spoons in some sauces, they licked the spoons and put them back in the sauce!! They also got bugged that we were watching presumably cos of these things. For me, in a hotel of these standards, its not acceptable. Also there wasn't a woman that passed next to them that they didn't hiss at or try to attract her attention by all means possible. On the day we were checking out housekeeping knocked at our room at least four times starting from 9am...other than that..the room was incredible and the staff are a gem, in all areas of the hotel, they are extremely attentive. Loved it

Room Tip: Book a room with lounge access and become a Ihg member it is definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us at InterContinental Malta.

Thank you in particular for for you wonderful comments about our rooms we are very pleased that you found them so comfortable and are pleased that you made use of our new family lounge and found it so comfortable.

We are however extremely concerned about you remarks concerning the activities of the Chefs and would like you to contact us in order that we can discuss this issue.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

If you have any further issues or comments please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my 7th or 8th stay at the Intercontinental Malta. I have stayed here with my family when we were young children, friends as a teenager and recently with my boyfriend. I have always had a pleasant stay here and the Intercontinental Club Lounge staff are consistently helpful, friendly and welcoming.

The location is near many restaurants and only about a minutes walk away from the hotel's private beach. It is near nightclubs, however, if you choose a room overlooking the pool and gardens you will not hear any noise. The nightclubs can easily be avoided and the Intercontinental Beach Bar has a relaxed atmosphere in the evening. The food at the hotel was excellent - we ate there 5/7 nights and found the food outside the hotel extremely poor in comparison. I am vegetarian and there was a wide range of dishes for me to choose from. The Club Lounge chef even created vegetarian canapes, specifically for me. The downstairs breakfast was extremely tasty - chefs there to cook omlettes, fried eggs and there was a large choice of cereals, pancakes, fried breakfast and cold meats. The hotel is a short walk from Spinola bay, Balluta bay and Silema. You will always find something to do nearby (and Malta has very good bus links).

I always look forward to my regular trips to this hotel and after briefly staying/visiting other 5* hotels, I would not choose to stay anywhere else! The outside bar on the 7th floor is lovely to have a cocktail in after dinner. I would definitely recommend this for families, couples or a group looking to go on holiday.

Room Tip: I would choose a room overlooking the garden or the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us at InterContinental Malta.

We are very pleased to welcome you back so often and are pleased that we have been able to maintain such a hight standard of service during your multiple stays. We are also please that you found our chefs so accommodating and that they were easily able to assist you with you requests.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

If you have any further issues or comments please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well located in St Julien and car is not needed at all. It is close to a hop-on/ hop-off stop and a walking distance from several bars and restaurants. It has a private beach, fantastic swimming pool and great restaurants. The staff is also super friendly. It is a worth stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us at InterContinental Malta.

We are very please that you enjoyed so many aspects of you stay in Malta and at our hotel, thank you in particular for you comments about our staff they are always greatly appreciated.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

If you have any further issues or comments please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk, england
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just returned from a week at The Intercontinental and overall, I was very disappointed by what purported to be a 5* Hotel. It isn't. and it is in a horrible location.
We also had a couple of very disturbing incidents during our stay.


* We arrived very late at night to be greeted by very snooty staff who insisted on taking a 140 Euro deposit on my credit card. In all my World travels, I have never come across this before.
* Our room was large, but the carpet was dirty , the woodwork very scuffed and the shower was badly mended, with an old tissue stuffed in it to stop it leaking. Not exactly five star.
* Hotel states it is "close to" the noisy bits of Paceville, it isn't close to, it is right in the middle of Paceville, and it's ensuing ghastly yoof culture. The minute you walk out of the Hotel, all you can smell is old vomit.
* I came back from the pool one afternoon to find a workman in our room, apparently measuring up,. Why couldn't he use an empty room?
* The next day, even more worryingly, we returned to our room, both showered and were relaxing on the beds, when there was one quick knock at the door and a man burst in. He said he was there to check the mini bar, but he hadn't even given me time to get o the door to answer it, before he burst in. I was travelling with my 16yr old daughter. She could have been in the room alone, and possibly in a state of undress, as could I. He didn't even apologise for his rude behaviour.
* The rooftop pool is a HUGE disappointment. It is very, very small, nothing like the image shown. You cant swim in it, it is only just over 1m at the deepest and half of it is just a kids splash pool. Lilo's, footballs, etc all being used. Access to the pool was also very difficult. The sunbeds were pushed so close together you had to walk about six inches from a strangers genitals to get into the water.
* There seemed to be quite a few non residents using the pool, looked like local lads on the pull, bringing their own towels.(The Hotel provides pool towels to residents)
* Poolside drinks ridiculously overpriced. Most people were seen smuggling their own in, don't blame them - 10 Euros for 2 soft drinks???
* The indoor pool was horrible, unwelcoming, dark, humid and over chlorinated. Empty every time we went past. We christened it "Gollums' Pond"
* I wondered why the delightful "internal" garden was so unused, until I discovered that you were expected to pay an extra 45 Euros a day to access it. Unbelievable. Apparently it was part of the piano lounge that has been swiftly turned into a Childrens area.
* Free WiFi was advertised. Not so. You only get 30 mins free per day. if you want more you have to pay extra. Good grief, even in McDonalds, you get free WiFi! I would have expected a lot more from a 5* establishment..
* We attempted to watch 2 films in our room. We didn't get to see more than half of either of them because the T.V. picture stated to break up. When I phoned reception I was told I wouldn't be charged for them, but when I checked out they had charged me, which I challenged..
* The private beach is an absolute joke. The sunbeds are so close together you cant actually get to the sea. In what other (decent !) circumstances would you be expected to lie almost naked six inches away from a complete stranger???

I could go on, but it was all such a huge let down.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden is quiet. Avoid roadside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBache, Marketing Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you review, we are extremely sorry to hear about the very disappointing stay you had in the hotel and we would very much appreciate you contacting us immediately to discuss the multitude of issues that you mentioned.

Yours Sincerely,

David Bache
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.