We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service from very friendly and professional staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Malta

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Malta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Malta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 02, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 31 hotels in Saint Julian's
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service from very friendly and professional staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Although this hotel is not the newest or in the prettiest of locations we were very impressed by the food, drinks and service of all staff that we spoke to. They were willing to listen to any issues raised and did their utmost to resolve them quickly. They were always polite and professional. We arrived early but still given our room which overlooked the pretty garden. We had complimentary access to the executive lounge for part of the stay which was very nice, but free wifi was available everywhere. Great! The spa is superb and very relaxing.When they heard that it was my husband's birthday they went out of heir way to treat us to cake and sparkling wine plus the offer of a complimentary return taxi to the airport which we did not take as we had already pre-booked and paid. Malta was lovely and I am sure that we will return again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,006
    713
    265
    84
    39
See reviews for
480
810
77
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very good from start of holiday
Staff attentive and helpful
Food in restaurants was excellent and they were very helpful towards my wife who has allergy problems
Also helpful as my wife used her wheelchair and staff went out of way to help
Really impressed
Will be going back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Intercontinental deserves its five stars, from the minute my husband and I entered through the doors we where greeted by friendly and attentive staff, which was typical of our experience throughout the week, the rooms at all times where kept in tip top condition with fresh bed linen and towels daily, the staff at all levels more than happy to chat and give you advice on local knowledge. It's a must to do the hop on tour busses, especially to the island of Gozo, best way is the arriva buses to ferry and pick up the tour bus in Gozo, also recommended is the cruise round the harbour with Latini cruises the guy who tells you all about the ports is really enthusiastic about everything, the point shopping centre well worth a visit, overall a tremendous holiday, well worth a return visit, thank you malta Saha

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have just spent a week at this hotel, nothing but great things to say! From arrival to departure, excellent and caring service from front desk (from Andra, Samantha, Jessica, and all the others whose names escape me), IT (Matthew who resolved our wifi problem) (Oh, free wifi all around!!!), lovely room with a balcony w/great housekeeping service and ammenities, great facilities all over hotel, a wide variety on breakfast, including eggs made-to-order, and service-minded staff. Centrally located in St. Julians, in the heart of entertainment/dining/bars+shopping center+movie theater+closeby bus stops to/from everywhere, while can't hear any of the street noise in the hotel! Just had a terrific experience again thanks to everyone on staff during (rainy) Carnival week! Regards to all from Israel, The Greenwald's

Room Tip: 1226 was great (though a bit of a walk to the south elevators, if you're hard-of-walking)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with friendly staff, excellent breakfast and amenaties. Would definately visit again. Manager dealt with a problem we had in a very professional way even though it was not a problem with the hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here in December 2012 and had a lovely time. The hotel is beautiful and the staff on reception were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room wasn't ready so the front desk took my husbands number and said they would ring us when it was ready which they did. The room was lovely with both a walk in shower and a sunken bath and a lovely view over the gardens. Everything was clean and well presented.
The breakfast in the morning was the best I have ever had. The choice was unbelievable.
There are restaurants to choice from within the hotel and we chose to visit the Chinese one. The food was fab and what we couldn't eat they sent up to our room our beautifully packaged up!
We tried room service also which was prompt and the food delicious.
I think I was most impressed when I had to call the concierge late one evening as there seemed to be a private party going on in one of the rooms upstairs which was keeping us awake. Within ten minutes of my phone call the problem was sorted. Excellent service.
We didn't use any of the spa facilities because there wasn't time during our stay so can't comment on this but the pool area upstairs looked clean and well maintained.
All in all we had a lovely December break. I can imagine this hotel being extremely busy during the summer months but our break was lovely, couldn't fault anything. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMalta, Public Relations Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Malta during your recent visit to Malta.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and that in particular, you found the service offered by our staff excellent, food in the restaurants very good and your room lovely and clean.

Thank you for recommending InterContinental Malta and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again,

Warm regards,

Nicola Busuttil
PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for the first half of our honeymoon in Malta. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is in pretty good shape. We are a young couple, and this hotel is right in the middle of a party central. Happy hour is almost every hour, and the strip is filled with people to the late hours of the night. The food in the restaurant is tasty and fresh, and our room was very clean and fairly well decorated. The only thing we could complain about is the view from the balcony, which faced right into a construction site of a nearby office building. The swimming pool area is clean, and well maintained. The staff is always around if you need drinks or have questions. If you're hungry order something from the poolside restaurant, the food is very good!

Also, the hotel has a "private beach club", which is basically a stretch of sandy beach for hotel patrons only. It's equipped with a beach side bar and towel stand and showers. Malta in general does not have "amazing" sandy beaches and this one was at par with the other ones we seen.

During our stay the hotel was overbooked, so one of the managers offered to relocate us to another 5 star hotel in Valletta half way though our trip, which worked out well for us because staying in the same place for a long time does get boring. They did not push us to move, but rather gave us an option, which we did not have to take. I do have to say that the hotel staff accommodated the move flawlessly. They arranged for all of our bags and items to be moved to the new hotel while we were away for the day on Gozo Island. When we got to the new hotel after our trip to Gozo, our room was ready in minutes and we found out that InterContinental has even arranged for a room upgrade.

Overall, our experience at the hotel was quite good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden view which is where the swimming pool is. It's much better than the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 02, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta gives you the best of all worlds: a wonderful waterfront resort complete with private beach and water sports; a central cosmopolitan location close to shopping, entertainment and historic sites; and an array of services appreciated by leisure and business travellers alike. Valletta, Mdina and the Mosta Dome are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.