We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ring ring goes the bell!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Malta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Malta to your Saves list
InterContinental Malta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Avellino, Italy
1 review
“Ring ring goes the bell!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Service is top-notch: the staff are polite, helpful and efficient. However, breakfast fell far short of what you'd expect from a 5-star rated hotel. Accommodation was nearer 4 star! One real plus was the private sandy beach exclusively for the hotel guests! The worst part of the stay without doubt though was the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night ...2 nights in a row!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    825
    293
    90
    47
See reviews for
565
933
88
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at IC for a conference held at the hotel. We had friendly service from the stuff during the 3 days conference. The rooms are quite large and comfortable, small balcony overlooking the pool and the bay opposite the hotel. We had very sufficient breakfasts at the main restaurant – Eastern Breeze and pleasant diner at Paranga, the seafront restaurant. Just around the corner Malta's night life start, lots of bars, dance and gentleman clubs, people of all ages, nations having fun deep into the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We complained to the front desk about the bugs they promised to send room service to spray something but it didn't work. I am back home with big red spots all over my body:(. The breakfast is not wow! But the buffet dinner is good and diversified.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I spent 10 days in Malta last January and stayed at the Intercontinental. This is a very nice hotel and lives up to its 5 start rating. All rooms have balconies some facing the inner garden and some facing the main road and the bay. The check in was quick and easy and the twin room I had was large and comfortable. I would suggest you stay on a bed and breakfast basis if you plan to eat breakfast everyday. The breakfast buffet is first class. Out of season in January only 1 of the restaurants in the Hotel is open, But just across the road in the shopping center there are some nice Italian restaurants at very reasonable prices.A stroll round the bay will bring you to Andy's place eat well for less!. Easy to catch a local bus from the top of the road and a multiplex cinema next door. Short stroll to night life but far enough away not to be noisy. Catch the open top bus for the Island tour at the bottom of the hill 200 meters. I shall be going again in Jan 2013.

Room Tip: Some of the garden facing rooms don't get the sun in winter. Ask for one that does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great staff, good location.
We were upgraded to a Club level room which was really lovely, huge room, big bathroom. Superbly clean.
We did encounter a problem whilst there (won't bore you with the details) but it was resolved quickly, efficiently and very professionally.
The hotel is across the road from a shopping complex with some really good restaurants and a Marks & Spencers (small) food hall. The hotel is right in the middle of the action, Fri & Sat nights very busy in all the bars & clubs but makes for a good atmosphere.
No noise was heard in the hotel.
Overall a good location, a great hotel and a very friendly island.

Room Tip: High floor, pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepest Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was in Malta GC for an ex-Service reunion ( OK. since you ask, the1st Bn Duke of Edinburgh's Royal Regiment. ) We had been stationed here at St Patricks Barracks in the sixties.(just up the road from the Intercon, it is now a Girls College). Most of the hundred or so were staying in the Qawra area but I found myself on a Thos Cook deal which got me the Intercon. I was mildly trepidated by the Tripadvisor reports on noise from the Paceville Bar Strip. When I arrived I asked if it was possible to have an inward facing room and, by the way, it happens to be my birthday( it really was!). I was given a splendid and quiet room (1002).right next to the pool access door,perfect. When I next returned to my room there was a bottle of Asti in an iced Champagne bucket and some petit fours and a card wishing me a Happy Birthday.. What a nice
thought. The rest of the stay was just as good, fab breakfasts too! I clapped out for my last two days and lazed by the pool where there is a very good open air restaurant with it's own kitchen, The sandwiches are great, but the Bruchetta are pathetic and only for anorexics.
Authentic Malta. Try " Andrews Bar" on the Northern side of(St Georges) the intercon Beach bay. Started in 1905 as the "Army Bazaar" the grandfather of the present Andrew was our regimental tailor.
Don't hire a car. you are surrounded by an efficient bus service ( 7 day ticket 12 Euros) If you are here for the history The Lascaris War Rooms and the St Elmo War Museum are good. Don't plan too much if it gets Humid, and it often does, You will find yourself flagging - Enjoy not endure !
You will like Malta!
P.S. Beware of the Matt Black steps leading up to Paceville from the bayside of the hotel, they are lethal at night, they need white edging and a handrail , descending them optically challenging.

Many thanks to Carol and all the staff


Robin

Room Tip: Ask nicely for an internal facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel (first time in Malta). Overall its a very good hotel relative to Malta and the other hotels. Its not full 5-star hotel, since the pool is on the roof and its kinda bit old. But the service is great, and the staff is very friendly and helpful especially when you need information about surrounding restaurants/shops/other.
The hotel is situated in a very good area close to restaurants, shopping, and Nargeela.
-Hat

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the pool side and also at the highest floors (better view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta redefines the meaning of elegance, hospitality and service with its contemporary design and modern ambience providing an exclusive and relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently and centrally located in the prime area of St. George’s Bay, InterContinental Malta is within walking distance of some of the islands finest shopping, entertainment and nightlife venues, also 20 minutes drive from Malta International Airport and 15 minutes drive to Valletta, Malta’s historical capital city. All 481 designer led bedrooms are superbly furnished; having all the comforts expected of a luxury hotel with either twin or king beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, private balconies, coffee and tea making facilities and high-speed WIFI access. The luxury suites and presidential suite are located on the hotel’s higher floors, here guests can avail themselves of the Club InterContinental lounge with its stunning views across the island and Mediterranean. The lounge also includes a private reception desk, rooftop pool, meeting room and valet service. The Concierge team is also on hand throughout the day to provide insider knowledge vital for discovering and exploring the Maltese islands. With six restaurants and six bars, the hotel offers varied local and international cuisine at all times of day, both indoor and al fresco. The hotel’s extensive leisure facilities include a lagoon styled outdoor panoramic pool, a heated indoor pool, the Planet Trekkers Kids Club, a state of the art fitness center, a spa with a traditional Turkish hamam, hair salon and 24 hour room service. The revamped and extended InterContinental Beach Club includes an exclusive sandy beach and incorporates an array of amenities including bars, a restaurant, and water-sports facilities. The hotels extensive meeting, exhibition and conference facilities offer guests 6,000 sqm of space in over 30 meeting rooms, including the state of the art InterContinental Arena Meeting Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.