We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Malta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Malta to your Saves list
InterContinental Malta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very good. The rooms are good and big with shower and bath, and a balcony. Food wasn't consistent some meals were good some less. My balcony looked at a run down building, other rooms had a nice view.
The only problem with the hotel is the location. It is situated in a neighborhood which has little to offer, besides the bar and gents club district.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMalta, Public Relations Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at InterContinental Malta and for sharing your feedback with us.

Your kind comments regarding your room are most welcome and thank you for sharing that with us. However, I do apologise for the matters you raised which were unsatisfactory, especially that the food was not always consistently good.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Warm wishes,

Nicola Busuttil
PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    804
    287
    88
    45
See reviews for
559
905
87
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

When booking online I found the website a little confusing which resulted in being offered a room which was totally unsuitable for my friend and me, despite having telephoned prior to arrival. However the Club Lounge Manager, Sonia, made every effort to find an alternative which was a twin bedded room with access to Club International. The staff here were very friendly and went out of their way to help in every way, including very useful tips about public transport.
The hotel is very well equipped to suit everyone's needs. Although I am not a fan of the big hotel, our locations on 14th floor had an air of being 'small and friendly'.
On the down side, the service in the Lobby Bar was less than efficient and other parts of the hotel looked tired but I understand that some renovation is planned.
Overall a very pleasant stay in Malta for a short break.

Room Tip: Be very specific in your needs, e.g. state clearly the type of accommodation that is required and se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMalta, Public Relations Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for recommending InterContinental Malta so favourably following your recent stay with us. It was very kind of you to share your experience and thank you for highlighting the helpfulness of the staff at the Club Lounge.

We are however sorry for the misunderstanding with the initial allocation of your room and for the disappointing service at the Lobby Bar. Your constructive comments help us to improve where we have fallen short of expectations so many thanks for these.

Thank you for selecting InterContinental Malta for your stay on the island and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Nicola Busuttil
PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

All Staff were helpful, and for a big hotel (over a 1000 people can be staying) the only real busy time was at breakfast but the wait was worth it as the food selection was excellent. Don't be afraid to ask the staff if you find that anything wrong as it will be soon sorted. The management are in the process of decorating the rooms up to the 10th floor but even so they were not shabby. I would gladly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMalta, Public Relations Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at InterContinental Malta and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on your recent stay.

Thank you also for your appreciation of our hotel and our team, we always endeavour to provide memorable moments for our guests and we are delighted that we did that for you and your friends.

I hope that you will return to InterContinental Malta on your next visit to the island.

With best wishes,

Nicola Busuttil
PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This time the review is for my family vacation (comparing to most of single stays for business I have during the year).
We arrived at 6AM with our 2 kids 4 and 1y3m.
The first impression was bit problematic as in the hotel they couldn't find a baby cot, so it took around 1.5 hours to arrange one. I spoke to Client relations later that day about this and the room we asked to change - everything was done in a polite way and they did change the room and took care of transferring our luggage while we were out.

In Fact the hotel itself has very good facilities with two pools, one outside and one inside, great and large fitness center and Spa!
Kids playground is open daily from 8-20, which gives the opportunity spend a while without leaving the hotel.
You actually can have a walk in the gardens inside the hotel and there is nice choice of restaurants to dine. Try the 10th floor the bar/restaurant by the outdoor pool.
Breakfast served daily has large variety of options and I would say it is actually deserves 5*

This is our first time to Malta and I cannot compare to other hotels, but from others I understand that this hotel is one of the best choices in the region.
Regarding the noise outside during the night - you probably need to be very sensitive to hear as the dual balcony doors make the job and inside the room is very quiet. Our second room was in the closest point to the center of the nightlife and still we were not bothered by the noise at all.

As a gesture we received a cakes and drawing book for our kids and wine for us at the last day of our stay, which was very kind and appreciated.

I would definitely go back to this hotel, just hope they bit increase the attention to initial room requirements.

Room Tip: Try request the upper rooms with view over the sea or internal gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMalta, Public Relations Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

I am very sorry about the inconvenience caused at the initial stage of your stay with us and are glad that in the end all worked out well for you and your family. Many thanks indeed for complimenting our facilities including the swimming pools, fitness centre, Spa and Kids' Club as well as our breakfast offering.

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back once again.

With kind regards,

Nicola Busuttil
PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We would have graded higher raiting of this Hotel. unfortunatey we found out that 2 shirts were stolen from our room during our stay. We also got no respond from the hotel management when we emailrd them our complaint. otherwise the hotel was very good, large rooms, 2 pools and good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMalta, Public Relations Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Malta.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience of finding your shirts missing from your room and for the delay in receiving a reply from us. Please rest assured that one of my colleagues will be making contact with you shortly.

In the meantime, thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel and for highlighting the large rooms, swimming pools and good location.

Best regards,

Nicola Busuttil
PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We have had a fantastic stay at InterContinental Malta. We Can recommend the hotel to comming visitors, because of its facilities, standards and very nice staff. We are looking foreward to visit Malta and InterContinental again - there are lots of things to expirience here on this very nice Island.
Gitte og Niels, Denmark

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMalta, Public Relations Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on your recent stay.

Thank you also for your appreciation of our hotel and our team, we always endeavour to provide memorable moments for our guests and we are delighted that we did that for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Malta in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Nicola Busuttil
PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Modern hotel central to the bars etc of the lively resort of St Julian's.Large spacious rooms all with balconies - worth paying for a room overlooking the inner gardens & pool as some rooms overlook a not very attractive street. We also found it a great bonus having access to the executive lounge , wonderful views, breakfast without queues,afternoon tea & pre dinner drinks with fantastic canapes.Very close to lots of good restaurants although also close to some lively bars.Not a quiet away from it all location but good for a luxury break ,easily accessable from the airport with good public transport links for sightseeing..Would happily return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICMalta, Public Relations Executive at InterContinental Malta, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at InterContinental Malta during your recent visit to the island.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed the convenient and central location of the hotel and thank you for mentioning our Club Lounge with such positiveness.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With warm wishes,

Nicola Busuttil
PR Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Malta

Address: St George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Malta gives you the best of all worlds: a wonderful waterfront resort complete with private beach and water sports; a central cosmopolitan location close to shopping, entertainment and historic sites; and an array of services appreciated by leisure and business travellers alike. Valletta, Mdina and the Mosta Dome are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Intercontinental Saint Julians
Intercontinental Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.