We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts to your Saves list
Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 02, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

After looking at the reviews this hotel had received I was extremely worried about me and my partners first trip abroad other than Spain.
However the hotel transfer was brilliant they were there as soon as we got of the plane no problems at all.
When we got to Blue sea hotel we thought it was fine. It then took us an hour to check in and we were then sent to la Valletta and were quickly given our key.
We then went up to our room and it was lovely, clean/towels/bedding and totally acceptable for the £123 pound we paid for 7 nights.
We were meant to be self catering, but there wasn't any pots and pans to cook so that soon went out the window.
The only real problem I had was the noise from the very inconsiderate people that came in at all hours of the morning (this is not the hotels fault). We left of a Saturday night and experienced a group of 6 lads coming in shouting. Reception asked them to be quiet but as they were drunk not much luck.
This hotel is extremely good quality for money, but I would advise if you have children and don't like noise pick somewhere else.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear guests, Thank you very much for your comments, we're happy you've found our room lovely. We apologise that you had a bad experience with some other inconsiderate guests, note that both hotels are located in one of the most popular hotspots in Malta near Paceville reason why sometimes we have noisy people. We are looking forwards to see you again.
Thanks and Regards, St.Georges Park & La Vallette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    217
    361
    257
    881
See reviews for
334
569
121
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Where to start.....arrived and waited 15 minutes to get seen at reception of St George's Park, then got told we were in the other hotel, the Valette, and then another wait at other reception only to be told should have been in the first one....not looking good so far.....and fairly sure there were male prostitutes hanging around the lobby for passing trade......

Finally got to the room in St George's Park using the only lift that was working (carpeted inside wall to wall so nice a damp smelling). Room itself was well sized, and had a half decent view of the bay, as well as a good quality safe (which you pay to use).

However there were no towels to start with and when asking at reception they said we would have to wait until morning. Ok, fine, let's just have a wash, use the beach towels we brought with us and get out for dinner. Enter the bath with an ancient stained shower curtain that leaks all over the floor as it has so many rips and broken links. There was a line round the bath that didn't look like it had been cleaned in a while. At least the water was always hot, though had to get the light fixed as it was flckering and migraine-inducing. Oh and the toilet would only flush if you first pumped it several times.

We did not realise, and this is no fault of the hotel, that we were in the middle of the red light district with hookers and topless bars nearby....quite fun to wander around and fortunately the room faced the bay and pool so there was no noise from the strip. The receptionist, Javier, was very helpful and realised we would prefer a quiet room (7th floor) so put us facing away from the strip, so that was good.

Had dinner, not in the hotel, and came back for a cuppa before bed as arrived quite late.....hhhmmmmmm....where's the kettle.....self-catering with no kettle....interesting. Opened the drawers and had to close them again until we could get bleach and dishwashing liquid before using anything.....not that there was much to wash as there was only a saucepan, 1 cup, 2 glasses, and some rusty cutlery, and an all in one microwave sized grill and electric hob.

After sharing a thimble-sized cup of tea, we tried to go to bed.......holes in the sheets and what we were quite sure was blood on one of the blankets....so slept more or less fully clothed 1st night as too late for housekeeping. Finally got to sleep, even with people knocking on eachother's doors in the corridor and the ripped curtains that let in light and the weird shaped pillows and saggy bed. Until about 4am when the police kicked down the door of the flat opposite us....again not especially reassuring....made sure the door was double-locked again. A few nights later someone else kicked the same door off its hinges....clearly a popular guest.

Next morning went to get towels and when got up to the room realised there were blood stains on one and brown stains on the other....so these we used as shower mats (as there were none) and continued using our beach towels.

And this kind of set the tone of the place....loud nights of people in corridor partying, stained towels and linen, less facilities for self-catering than a camp-site, questionable marks on walls and floors.

The only saving grace of this place is the price and more importantly the staff. The staff are trying to run a dirty, old, ill-equipped, and under-resourced hotel the size of a small tower block with too little staff and too many things that can go wrong. They did try to help and had to deal with the queues of people trying to checkin or complain, and some did try that bit extra to make our stay more bearable...However I never got my safe key deposit back as nobody knew where my deposit envelope was even though I had the receipt and went to both hotels and had to leave as taxi was waiting.

Occasionally while waiting to ask for toilet paper at reception as housekeeping only came twice in 10 days, we would hear people complaining, and our experience was better than others...overheard one lady saying that her room had damp dripping down the walls, dirty fridge that stank the room out in addition to what we had in ours who was checking out after 2 nights having booked in for 2 weeks. So copuld have been worse but only by a bit. There is no way this is a 3 star....not a chance.

Room Tip: Facing pool and away from lifts so less traffic in corridors, and apparently St George's Park is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear guests, Thank you very much for your comments, which help us to improve services for the future. We're happy you've found our staff helpful and well-intentioned. As for you other comments, we are trying to improve both customer service and quality of our rooms .. As you say, our rooms are well sized but basic, which reflects the category of the hotel. Please note that both hotels are located in one of the most popular hotspots in Malta near Paceville. Its with regret that you feel our housekeeping was not what you expected, the team work daily to attend to all guests needs. Safe key deposits do not come in envelopes? If you contact with us directly am sure we can resolve this issue.
Thanks and Regards, St.Georges Park & La Vallette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I have traveled extensively and stayed in all sorts of accommodation from 1 to 5 stars. Nonetheless, this is without doubt the worst we've ever stayed in. There is noting positive I can say. The room was dirty and had not been vacuumed, the ceiling was continually peeling and dropping more rubbish everywhere, the food was rubbish and checkin took over 2 hours because reception staff are continually inundated with complaints. Cheap and Nasty!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
It is with regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

As you are aware you booked a 3 star Low Cost resort in the heart of Paceville St Julians and Maltas night life.

Or receptions can be very busy due the popularity and competitive low cost economical rates for people of many nationalities.

Our catering team work daily to provide a varied menu which both checked and consumed by our management team.

Our management team work visibly around the clock to rectify guests personal dissatisfaction's it is with further regret that you did not avail yourself of this service whilst in resort.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife had visited Malta previously on two occasions and thoroughly enjoyed the Maltese experience whilst staying in Sliema. In February, driving through st julians on a tour bus it looked a lively and picturesque resort with a sandy beach. I decided to treat my husband and daughter to a weeks stay in Malta and searched the internet for a cheap and cheerful hotel in the st julians area. We came across the Blue Sea Hotel and after reading reviews on trip advisor, decided as we weren't hard to please and going with an open mind we'd try it out. On arrival our original room had been allocated to someone else and we were sent to a nearby hotel with our suitcases at 1am (our daughter was exhausted, it was a joke-fawlty towers springs to mind) called la Vallette. On arrival at the lavette hotel there was an irate Chinese man complaining about been sent back and forward between the two hotels and "where's the free wifi?". Out of 4 lifts only 1worked at a time and usually this was stuck on some floor. As we were on the 8th floor , we had to walk up the stairs on
numerous occasions, you got plenty of exercise anyway, but it was sad to see older people struggling up the stairs having to stop at every floors to catch their breath. I suffer from asthma and found this a real struggle having to stop for breath climbing the stairs .We entered our room to find two single beds and a wooden bunk bed which my daughter was not impressed with , it had an adjoining room which had very noisy neighbours. We unpacked and tried to get some sleep . At 2.00am 3.00am 6.00am there were people knocking on doors and shouting in the corridors . Our second night we were wakened at 4.00 am to knocking on our door and some one shouting and vomiting in the corridor, my daughter was very frightened at this so I tried to call reception, only to find our phone didn't work .At 6.30am we were wakened again to shouting, we looked out to the pool area to find a drunk man shouting and roaring and jumping in and out of the pool .(where was the security? )At 7.00 am we were really frightened as we heard a group of men shouting and roaring in the corridor- they where in the room opposite, eventually we heard security arrive and talk to them .At 9.00 am we arrived down to reception and asked to be moved, the girl on reception said to come back at 5.00pm, i was crying at this stage with lack of sleep and my daughter was totally exhausted . At 5.00 pm we arrived back to reception and we were moved to blue sea st George's on the 6 th floor. Lifts were working our room was ok, beds very hard, plugs didn't work, shower didn't work but all we wanted was a sleep , which we got ,it was much quieter . We spoke to some people the next day and one lady had been moved four times . There was a constant stream of people at reception looking to be moved or checking out early to go to other hotels. We booked this holiday through alpha rooms who we complained via email they responded promptly and said they would contact the hotel for us to be moved to a quieter area (not much satisfaction looking extra money to be moved to another hotel) .The food was disgusting,cold and reheated, pizza and pasta on the menu everyday . I would not recommend this hotel for a dog and I hate dogs . Avoid this place and spend an extra few pounds for a restful and enjoyable experience which we'll do the next time as Malta is a very nice place.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs, spend the extra few pounds at another hotel for a restful and enjoyable holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments

St George Park and La Vallette are run as one resort therefore guests can be allocated in either but use the facilities of both

We are going through none intrusive refurbishment programme which is reflected in our economically friendly rates. However as you highlight , our staff will go out of their way to resolve any issues a guest may encounter.

The Hotel is situated in a lively are , but this is advertised in ours and agents websites.

As you may have noticed we are installing new elevators , 2 which are up and running , the others are serviced on a regular basis. The only reason a lift would stop would be if the restricted load was ignored.

All our linen is provided and laundered daily by the same outside contractors.

We also have a management team who work around the clock to resolve any issues a guest may encounter. It is with regret that you did not avail your self of their services and afford them the opportunity to address the issues you now raise.

The above said we genuinely take your comments in hand in order to ascertain the areas we need to improve.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed 3rd - 12th April all inclusive. Had to change room at first because sea view request and payment was not honoured, but was moved to a decent sized room facing the pool - decided to accept this than continue messing about. Housekeeping service was every 2 days and was fine. Room was clean and good size. Food was the same every day but always found something to eat. All inclusive bar became a bit of an idiot magnet at night so only used it a few times before heading out to local bars. Staff were fine and friendly if treated with manners, so you get what you give. As a base with a good room and basic food I could have no complaints for the very reasonable price I paid. Some people did have horror stories, others - like me - found the hotel clean and good value. Certainly not 5 star but good for the money, Butlins in the sun.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give your unbiased feedback.

I am pleased you found your stay with us good value for money , which is our main aim

We genuinely take all comments and constructive feedback in hand to help us with future improvements

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Having read some awful reviews I was very worried about staying here, thankfully on arrival we were able to check in immediately, the staff were really friendly and helpful.
Our room on the 7th floor was clean and the beds were very comfy, there was always plenty of hot water and having a bath rather than just a shower was lovely.
It was possible to hear a little noise from outside at night and the doors closing was quite noisy (this was due to people slamming them rather than closing them quietly) hardly the fault of the hotel.
The breakfast was very nice, lots of choice available and nicely cooked.
This is an unbelievably cheap hotel and in my opinion exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter, staff very happy to oblige on check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for feedback .

As you concur we provide economically friendly accommodation, and are committed to further improve the services we provide.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

My wife & I have just got back from Malta , after having stopped at what is the worst hotel we have ever been to . We arrived around 4am and entered the hotel , the lad on reception seemed to be more interested in his pal & 2 drunken girls stood nearby . We explained we had booked two separate rooms for ourselves & 2 friends who were with us . He denied any knowledge of this despite being shown our paperwork from the travel agent . We were eventually sent La Vallette Resort just down the road from our hotel , but it was then we were in for a real shock . The young lad on reception there told us we were to have one apartment between 4 of us but that only the start of trouble . Firstly there were no lifts at all , second , there was litter all over the place , chips and wrappers on the stairs , what I can only assume to be ketchup smeared up the wall . After having got to our room , there was no electricity in the room , alarmingly after being given another room opposite , I noticed that most of the doors in the block had strips of ply stuck on them where they been kicked in by previous yob occupants . Breakfast time arrived and I was extremely disappointed with a meal , that at best I would say would keep you alive . We then marched back to our hotel , where we given our rooms , after 11am , once in more disappointment followed . Rock hard mattresses , grubby bathtowels , air con that blew hot air , but worse was to follow , having retired for the night , we were kept awake till about 4 am by a very noisy Havana night club . After finally getting to sleep around 5am , we were then woken at 7am by workmen on the building site just down from the nightclub . Breakfast at the Blue Sea was very poor & so was the food for the rest of our holiday , be it breakfast lunch or dinner . I went to reception after breakfast & spoke to the only person of the hotel staff who knew what they were doing , Andrea , a capable young lady , apologised for the noise , even if it was nothing to do with them . I explained about the towels which were replaced immediately , but I had to buy an inflatable li-lo to ease my back pain , it's funny but after I installed the li-lo the mattress problem was resolved . That's enough of the hotel for now , more of the good points of Malta , Andrews bar in the bay just down from our hotel , good beer & wine excellent food including the superb " lobster special " . Other places of note were the Sicilian food & wine experience & Gozitan the ice cream in the Sicilian was to die for & the pan fried rabbit in the Gozitan was excellent . As for Malta itself , it is a truly remarkable island along with Gozo which we also visited Joseph our driver had a great depth of knowledge as well as a great sense of humour. All in all Malta & Gozo are lovely places to visit but avoid the Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts like the plague , there are many more & better hotels to stay in .

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time to write this review, we use all comments and feedback to continually improve our resorts.

As you are aware you booked an economically friendly hotel in Paceville St julians, which is advertised as a lively location

We are undergoing a none intrusive refurbishment programme which is reflected our economically friendly rates.

However as in you case our staff will always endeavour to re allocate any room that a guests airs dissatisfaction to.

You may have notice that we have installed 2 new elevators and the rest will be replaced in the very near future.

Our linen is provided and laundered on a daily basis by a professional service.Rooms are cleaned every other day with extra towels available at reception

Our catering agents provide a varied and daily menu to satisfy multiple nationalities. Where we strive to do so, you must appreciate that it is not always possible to adhere to all individual tastes. However, we certainly welcome all feed back ,which help us to continue with improvements.

I would also like to emphasize that the restaurant catering manager is at hand during all meal times and would be happy to address any issues that were brought to his attention.

Our management team prides itself in assisting guests that feel there expectations were not met on a 24 hours basis and it is with great regret you did not avail yourself of this service to address the issues now raised



Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 02, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea St George's Hotel and La Vallette Resort is located in the heart of the very lively city of St Julian close to the beaches, restaurants and bars that make this a great destination for those who like to party especially during the months of July and August. It is also the perfect base from which to discover the best tourist attractions that Malta, reputed to be one of the most beautiful islands of the Mediterranean, has to offer. It is a great starting point for trips to Gozo and Comino, the other islands that make up the Maltese archipelago. Malta caters perfectly for all tastes from its rich historical heritage to the beauty of its landscapes to the quality of the local cuisine and nightlife. The Hotel Blue Sea St. George's and La Valette Resort is located in St Julian's Paceville district, a few kilometers from Valletta, capital of Malta. The beach is located just 300 meters away. The hotel has a privileged location as the public transport, shops, restaurants and night-clubs of the amazing St Julian are all close at hand. The Hotel and Resort offers hotel rooms and studio/apartments. All rooms have a private bathroom, balcony or terrace and ceiling fan. Some rooms have sea views. The studios and apartments have a kitchen. The hotel has a pool beside which you can relax and while away the hours, plus a restaurant for all of your culinary needs, a sun terrace and solarium with hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Georges Park Complex Hotel Saint Julian`s
Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.