We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts to your Saves list
Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 02, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cheap but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed in St George hotel 22nd-29th Dec, we choose it because it wad cheap and fact we only wanted somewhere to sleep and shower which we did fine. You can hear the clubs from here but that didnt bother us considering we were in them on christmas eve!! We were B&B which filled us up in morning till dinner was issue with toaster tho as one was awful other was hidden at far end of restaurant. Rooms were clean and comfty. Not good that they wanted 8€ to use pool so we never used it or seen anyone use it. Tbh I would recommend it if you are young and just want somewhere to kip if older please still go but dont expect a lot but it not like 'hotel from hell' it does its purpose. If eatting out recommend the two bars on just outside the hotel Black bull and The Higgins both excellent value for food and drinks at either nearly every night. Also go to facefood for a nice crepe!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    217
    363
    257
    882
See reviews for
334
570
121
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is a definite NO NO.... ive been many places before but never like this, the toilet was hanging off the wall, shower curtain full of mould along with the toilet brush, some balconies face a brick wall, the young Italians were terrible running down corridoors naked, without a thought for families fire alarms continuous throughout the night, even if there was a fire no one would believe it was real...a complete health and safety nightmare. Doors did not lock, food basic and the restaurant was very hot will poor and inadequate air con. The whole holiday was a disaster and cosmos must be mad promoting it within their company. PLEASE DO NOT GO THERE..I do not normally write reviews as everyone has their own opinion, but please NO NOT take a family there..no matter what price...

Room Tip: none were good..spoke to other families and they all had the same problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest

It is with regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We are currently undergoing a refurbishment program which is reflected when setting our economically friendly prices .

I would like to mention although all our accommodation rates are very competitive, guests have the option to reserve rooms with pool view , sea view and basic at different costs.

Whilst management can not predict the behavior of guests we can act accordingly to any disturbance during their stay. Unruly behavior is not condoned within the hotel and has in the past resulted in the removal of guilty parties, actions applauded by other guests.

Our catering agents provide a varied and daily menu to satisfy multiple nationalities. Where we strive to do so, you must appreciate that it is not always possible to adhere to all individual tastes. However, we certainly welcome all feed back ,which help us to continue with improvements.

I must highlight that we have a management team who work around the clock to address any problems a guest may have..It is unfortunate that you did not avail your self of this service and afford us the opportunity to address the issues you now raise.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The staff are fabulous, the hotel is well butlins.....but hey they only rent it....considering what I paid great value. Food was great. Pools freezing, being all inclusive it was easy to stay in and drink, plenty of company, night time entertainment was rubbish.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for your kind response.

I am pleased you found your holiday to be good value for money and the staff friendly.

Your input confirms that the steps we are taking to improve the services provided are in deed working.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were looking forward to our first trip to Malta, but what a let down! The minibus dropped us off at what we thought was a lovely looking hotel, only to find it was a conference centre and our grotty hotel was round the back!
We knew from the info before we went that check-in was 2pm, so we'd put shorts etc in our hand luggage as we were due to arrive at 11am. Not a problem, we thought! Well, 6 hours later, at 5pm, they finally found a room for us ... and it wasn't just us, there were several other parties without rooms, even after we had got ours! The young lad on reception was really embarrassed, not his fault though, he complained to the manager and got us a lunch voucher (we were B&B) but lunch had long since finished by this time.
The rooms, when we finally got there, we quite good, surprisingly, about the only things that were though. Luckily we had a room in the quieter part of the hotel, away from the noisy area of Paceville, but it was still noisy at night ... and not just the music either, noisy people coming in in the (not so) early hours.There were only 2 lifts working and quite often they were out of order as well, once with someone stuck inside!
The bar was never open (not that we visit hotel bars that often, prefer to get out and about, especially when there are so many other bars/restaurants to choose from) although the bar in La Vallette was. Went there once, nobody else there, no atmosphere!
They say you either love Malta, or hate it. We did neither, it was ok and we did enjoy our holiday. We bought a weekly bus pass for 12 euros each, unlimited travel all around the island, really good value. We got about quite a bit, and when those ran out we just bought daily passes as and when we needed to.
Hubby was disappointed by the lack of beaches, sunbathing on the rocks isn't quite the same! Some interesting days out though, especially Valletta.
We wont be going back to Malta though, been there, done that!
Happy Holidays!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest

It is with regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations ,

As you are aware you booked an economically friendly hoilday in Paceville St julians, which as stated on websites comes alive at nights.

Due to high occupancy levels it may on occasion result in late check in . However as you concur we would endeavor to rectify the situation. I our case a meal voucher , which cold have simply been changed for dinner or used later in your holiday.

I am pleased you found your accommodation to be satisfactory .

Whilst management can not predict the behavior of guests we can act accordingly to any disturbance during their stay. Unruly behavior is not condoned within the hotel and has in the past resulted in the removal of guilty parties, actions applauded by other guests.

With regards to other issues raised , i assure you they will be recorded and taken into consideration when assessing the ares we need to improve.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

build is very bad needs refurbish electric require rewiring Essential requirements for the safety staff was dis order one night 3 room been chande short of food at breakfast time table not set up was under low range




  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback

it is with great regret your stay did not meet your expectations.

The management team works around the clock to assist all guests with a personal dissatisfaction and it is with great regret you did not avail yourself of this service whilst with us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel has a cheek to call itself that food is RANK they don't have Brandy it was watered down whiskey the place where you eat (I refuse to call it a restaurant ) STINKS went in once food was disgusting soup that's what they called it was dish water with two bits of carrots that the person who throws it all together ( I refuse to call them cooks ) most of found them at the back of fridge throw it in dish water and called it veg soup , the first day we took are all inclusive arm bands off so people didn't know where we staying we where on the 9th floor I had a swimming pool out side my door puddles everyday would rather eat in a soup kitchen x

Room Tip: Don't do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your comments

As you are aware you booked an economically friendly holiday , where we strive to offer our guest good value for money.

Our catering agents provide a varied and daily menu to satisfy multiple nationalities as well as English. Where we strive to do so, you must appreciate that it is not always possible to adhere to all individual tastes. However, we certainly welcome all feed back ,which help us to continue with improvements.

The restaurant offers minimum of two meats and 2 fish options, vegetables, 2 or more hot pasta dishes, 2 or 3 piza options and a vast selection of salads , pasta salads etc. soups and desserts plus a kiddies menu. I assure you the menus are rotated and not the same each night, in natural fact our management check and in deed consume the food offered every day .

I would also like to emphasize that the restaurant catering manager is at hand during all meal times and would have been happy to address any issues that were brought to his attention

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

we stayed in December for one week, staff was really friendly, one of guy from reception gave to me 1 hour internet voucher free,thanks a lot. just food was disgusting I recommend don't waste a money of that, that time we went to eat in other places. but a price was good so I am really happy. many thanks.... good time in Malta

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback from your recent holiday .

I am pleased our staff made your stay a welcome one and we will continue to concentrate on the services they provide.

Our catering agents provide a varied and daily menu to satisfy multiple nationalities. Where we strive to do so, you must appreciate that it is not always possible to adhere to all individual tastes. However, we certainly welcome all feed back ,which help us to continue with improvements.

I would also like to emphasize that the restaurant catering manager is at hand during all meal times and would be happy to address any issues that were brought to his attention.

Once again , I thank you for your unbiased and helpful comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 02, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea St George's Hotel and La Vallette Resort is located in the heart of the very lively city of St Julian close to the beaches, restaurants and bars that make this a great destination for those who like to party especially during the months of July and August. It is also the perfect base from which to discover the best tourist attractions that Malta, reputed to be one of the most beautiful islands of the Mediterranean, has to offer. It is a great starting point for trips to Gozo and Comino, the other islands that make up the Maltese archipelago. Malta caters perfectly for all tastes from its rich historical heritage to the beauty of its landscapes to the quality of the local cuisine and nightlife. The Hotel Blue Sea St. George's and La Valette Resort is located in St Julian's Paceville district, a few kilometers from Valletta, capital of Malta. The beach is located just 300 meters away. The hotel has a privileged location as the public transport, shops, restaurants and night-clubs of the amazing St Julian are all close at hand. The Hotel and Resort offers hotel rooms and studio/apartments. All rooms have a private bathroom, balcony or terrace and ceiling fan. Some rooms have sea views. The studios and apartments have a kitchen. The hotel has a pool beside which you can relax and while away the hours, plus a restaurant for all of your culinary needs, a sun terrace and solarium with hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Georges Park Complex Hotel Saint Julian`s
Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.