We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you are 20” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resort to your Saves list
Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3140, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Only if you are 20”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is only suitable if you are in your early 20's and looking for a wild holiday were you party all night and sleep all day. I went with my family of 8, from my dad to my 5 month old nephew. The pool is so murky you can't see the bottom, it seems the just add more chlorine instead of actually cleaning it, my daughter came home with a skin infection that she got from the water and spent a week on antibiotics. The staff do their best but they have a lot to contend with, the lifts don't work, there's no air con, the rooms are very basic, with a lot of furniture thrown from the balconies every night. Is very very noisy at 4-5 am when the clubs are over. This place is ok for young people looking to party, but that's all. The nearby beach is a joke, it's tiny, not sandy, and we actually found 'poo' floating in the water.
Malta is a beautiful island, stay in a different part to appreciate it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    235
    396
    290
    1,010
See reviews for
366
637
134
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on Sunday 28th July 2013.
It was like we arrived in Afganastan, 4 in the morning the streets were packed with thousands of night clubbers, rubbish everywhere,people being sick, one couple actually sex on the floor at side of hotel, the reception area was dirty with rubbish on the floor and approx 30 to 40 people out side the doors smoking as its a none smoking hotel with a fine of 150 euros if you was caught smoking in the building or balconys. We was given a room on the 7th floor and guess what iam a disabled man and the lifts are broken so my wife told me that room was disgusting and even if I could climb the 182 steps to get there I would not want the room anyway . The receptionist was so rude and did not care. When u complained about the place calling it a dump they agreed with me!!!!!!!!!!.
At six o'clock they got me a temperory room in another block which was only 1 floor up and again no lifts working there either so we took that one as the manager did not start until 8 and luckily 6 students was there to help me get up there as the staff would not Help.
That room was bad as well.
This was my honeymoon and all we wanted to was cry.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Best way to relay my disgust and serious issues with this place is to show you the letter of complaint we wrote, to the holiday company that put us there!! We are not the sort to complain and accept a bargain break as just that, never expecting too much but this place is just the pits. Its known locally as a run-down 'students crash pad' - not a holiday resort.

My letter:
Further to my telephone call to your Customer Services department again today, whereby I spoke to James, I am writing to explain our complaint in more detail, as requested.

On 23rd June 2013 my friends (and sister) and I were subjected to the worst holiday experience we have ever had to encounter. One that will haunt us for a very long time and one that has probably ruined our motivation for our annual holiday, which we have previously enjoyed for about 12+ years.

We are all grown up women in our 40's and 50's, who booked our trip requesting a relaxing holiday, close the the beach and fairly close to a few bars and restaurants. Instead of this we found ourselves at what can only be described as a run-down student hovel, that was totally unfit for human occupancy.

As a Health & Safety Manager, I was totally shocked to find such terrible issues with the place known as St Georges Park & Vallette Resort in St. Juliens, these include:
Human faeces all over the toilet brushes (in both rooms) and around the toilet pan
Thick clumps of dust all around the rooms and shutters
Wires hanging out of the ceiling fan, which didn't work and gave off electrical sparks when we tried to turn it on
Smelly mouldy damp around the walls hidden behind the beds
Smelly dirty stained curtains that appeared to be stained with a combination of urine and beer
Sticky and mouldy residue in the fridge, which also had broken mechanisms and mould
A balcony floor that was crumbling away and looked terrible; and was equally as dirty as the room
The view from the balcony was of a 5ft 7inch wall
The window locks were broken
Broken showers / taps - falling off the dirty bathroom tiles
Dirty sheets on the beds, with one of them having a sticky substance on it that resembled semen from a man
Vomit on the sun loungers that were left out for use
Strong smells of vomit, urine or faeces at various places around the building including our rooms
Patio chairs floating in the pool, all day and night long
Drunken students falling around, vomitting, urinating and screaming all day and all night
A long, hot 2 hour queue on arrival for room keys
A second long hot 1 hour queue at another reception - when they realised they had messed up our booking at the first reception
We were put on the 9th floor with only 1 out of 4 lifts working
We then got stuck in the 1 working lift for over 20 minutes with no one coming to our assistance, even though the alarm was going off
I eventually prized open the door with items out of our luggage and we had to climb to safety - as the lift was up above ground level
Not one member of staff was interested in our ordeal (apparently the lifts always break down or trap people in them) and we then had to climb 9 floors, with two members of our group having serious mobility issues with their back and hip, and 2 of us with severe asthma. This took us over an hour with our luggage and health issues.
We were then unable to stay in the disgusting, uninhabital rooms and after begging for assistance from the staff (by phone) and not getting any, we took over an hour to climb all the way back down to seek help and request a manager.
We lost over 2 days of our holiday trying to sort things out, trying to get through to your office - which was closed on Sundays, trying to request a manager from the hotel, etc - so we had to sit in the lobby all night, with drunken students running around and some of the staff making fun of us. One of them also made very controversial remarks about us, saying things like 'bloody English.' I told her that we heard what she said and her only response was to laugh. My friend sat all night crying in pain with her back and we was also told that there was no number to call for any medical assistance.
The whole experience was like something out of a comedy disaster movie, only that it was not funny - not funny at all; and the above list is not exhaustive.

We started to look at finding flights to take us home as we were so depressed, but eventually got through to your team (Thomas - on the Monday 24th), who promised to ring us back within 2 hours to sort something out, after we explained that we had not slept and could not stay in this hell-hole another night. I spent £68.23 on the phone calls but yet no one rang us back that day! We then managed to contact the hotel Assistant General Manager after I used my phone to google the head office number. He was remarkable and probably the best person we had met so far.

The Asst General Manager, who was new and had taken up the role just a few weeks or so before - to sort out the place, was very apologetic and helpful. He moved us to an alternative hotel on the Island and ensured that we received a free taxi to get us and our luggage there too. He was super and we would like to commend him for his understanding and resolution.

So we arrived at the alternative hotel late on 25th June and so our holiday finally started on 26th June. This is not acceptable and nor is it acceptable that we was put into such a condemned building, which the locals describe as a 'student crash pad.' You defaulted on your agreed contract to provide us with a holiday resort suitable for our needs and suitable for human occupancy - and we would like to know what you intend to do to compensate us for the suffering and costs to our health, time and finances. I have attached some of the photos taken but I have many more available on request.

Please respond by return email within 7 days. Failure to do so will result in this communication and further photos being presented to a holiday watchdog, via my Solicitor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Worst hotel and location I have ever been. This hotel should be shut down. Rooms are filthy, no air conditioning and self catering facilities are non existant. This hotel is right in middle of the night life so never got to sleep till gone 5am every nite. This location is a big let down to malta. Having said that the rest of malt is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My daughters and I stayed from 17th to 27th July and had a great time despite some negatives. I must admit we were very wary after i'd read the reviews. I was reassured however by the fab lowcostholiday staff!
We didn't get charged the 50 euros a piece as a deposit fortunately! Reception was a bit mishmash and did take about forty minutes to book in, though listening to the other rude people pushing in and being quite unpleasant to the poor girls behind the counter I just felt sorry for them.
We were told to leave the key with reception any time we went out but we didn't do this! No chance! In fact, as the holiday went on we just left the fob in the door and took the key, that way it was nice and cool when we got back (the fan kept the room cool but the electricity would only work with the fob in the holder).
Very smooth transfer to and from the Airport from Resorthoppa.
Tips on transport,... arriva buses are about a tenth of the price of local excursions from the resort and go same places! Book your trips from sliema directly as we got them for a third of the price to go to comino / blue lagoon.
Take ear plugs as it's extremely noisy at night and extra loo roll save you having to chase the maids!


POSITIVES:
big room, clean, lots of storage.
fridge
big bathroom, large sink and mirror
powerful shower (though took a lot of time to get the right temp!)
good fan which kept room nice at night (again this is helped with ear plugs as its a noisy fan!)
decent size balcony
daytime bar staff lovely
lovely clean pool
nice pool view around bay
good location
helpful cleaners, they will give you want you want (if you find them haha)
mainly nice food.. ish - only inedible twice, didn't go breakky after 2nd day but we're not really into big breakfasts!
entertainment in day was fun, the team really tried to engage people
Amazing coffee, hot choc and tea from bar!
Cocktails good, not too watered down
check out very quick and smooth
only saw one cockroach,... and that was outside on the balcony on it's way up to 8th floor (glad we weren't up there!)
Excellent leg muscle workout walking up 7 floors several times a day due to broken lifts! By the tenth day my calf muscles were rather well toned haha!


NEGATIVES:
pool snacks were just old looking fruit and cheap biscuits, everything else was charged.
late night snacks at st. georges which was a hike away and you would have to trapse through the drunken teenagers to get there!
lifts constantly broke
italians/spanish lads unruly behaviour - this was a BIG problem, setting off fire alarms 4am,.. banging on hotel room doors. One woman had purse stolen by italian lad in lift from right out of her hand!
no air con in dining room - they could have fried eggs on our faces it was that hot!
Had to go find your own towels, sheets, tp and the sheets and towels always had stains (we took our own tp though, wouldn't want to be caught short in that dept!)
All inclusive ends at 11 but you can't get near bar for ages before due to the queues.
No coffee at dining rooms at dinner and evening meal
tv not workin (though we didn't want to watch anyways)
no wifi!
careful with electrics,. daughter got little shock unpluggin phone. Wiring not screwed in properly.
On last day we had to drag 3 suitcases down 7 floors - though one kind maid did help (she must have been mega strong we were all crawlin as they were so heavy, while she leapt downstairs!)


The hotel definitely seem to have taken on some of the comments from Trip Adviser.

Room Tip: Just take ear plugs and you'll be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were shipped here from our original hotel as they had over-booked (Blue Sea San Anton - also to be avoided). The hotel was in a very rowdy nightlife scene (that might be good if that's what you are looking for - we weren't). The room was disgusting. A twin room with one bed so uncomfy that we didn't use it. The bathroom was dirty. The balcony overlooked a filthy garden full of old socks and t-shirts. The receptionists were rude and incompetent. We didn´t choose or pay to stay here, and neither should you.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was 9 days in this hotel in my room change the towel 2 times,never was clean the floor.chairs brouken,toilet bowl was brouken and dirty,like never one month clean.other couple who was with us must be fixs shower head.Breakfest all week the same and no taste,i eat every day out hotel.In hotel no wifi,lift brouken and photos is wrong!Take care if you choose this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resort

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3140, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea St George's Hotel and La Vallette Resort is located in the heart of the very lively city of St Julian close to the beaches, restaurants and bars that make this a great destination for those who like to party especially during the months of July and August. It is also the perfect base from which to discover the best tourist attractions that Malta, reputed to be one of the most beautiful islands of the Mediterranean, has to offer. It is a great starting point for trips to Gozo and Comino, the other islands that make up the Maltese archipelago. Malta caters perfectly for all tastes from its rich historical heritage to the beauty of its landscapes to the quality of the local cuisine and nightlife. The Hotel Blue Sea St. George's and La Valette Resort is located in St Julian's Paceville district, a few kilometers from Valletta, capital of Malta. The beach is located just 300 meters away. The hotel has a privileged location as the public transport, shops, restaurants and night-clubs of the amazing St Julian are all close at hand. The Hotel and Resort offers hotel rooms and studio/apartments. All rooms have a private bathroom, balcony or terrace and ceiling fan. Some rooms have sea views. The studios and apartments have a kitchen. The hotel has a pool beside which you can relax and while away the hours, plus a restaurant for all of your culinary needs, a sun terrace and solarium with hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Georges Park Complex Hotel Saint Julian`s
Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resort Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.