We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts to your Saves list
Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 02, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here Dec18 to Dec24 2012. Booked all inclusive but should have gone self catering.

The food was appalling, little choice and the hot food was lukewarm at best. We ended up eating out all the time, but having said this there are lots of bars and restaurants very close by, including Macdonalds, Burger King and Hard Rock for the less adventurous. Prices for eating out seemed to be on a par with home, or perhaps a little cheaper.

The rooms are very basic and a little outdated, but sheets and towels are clean and maid service is every 2 days.

Staff were not the friendliest ever seen, with a couple of exceptions - an extremely smiley young lady who greeted us into the restaurant for breakfast most mornings (shame she was having to deal with so many complaints about the food ...) and Marcel who runs the poolbar. He was by far the nicest person we met during our stay, and cannot praise him highly enough.

All in all a little disappointing, but it was the cheapest hotel on offer with Easyjet holidays at the time of booking, so I suppose you get what you pay for. If you want 5 star, book 5 star.

The hotel is right next to Paceville which is a stretch of bars and clubs (including a couple of gentleman's clubs) so there was quite a bit of noise at night, and it is not an area I would suggest that single females frequent in the evening!

Oh and finally, we checked out at 11am as required but had to wait till 4.30pm for our transfer back to the airport. Although there is a luggage room, the reception staff hand the key out to anyone who asks for it and we heard that there have been incidents of cases "going missing" especially in the height of the season.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side to the stretch of clubs, or failing that with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments, these will be taken seriously in order to improve services.

Our aim is to provide clean, friendly value for money accommodation, and since your stay with us, we believe we are steadily achieving this.

Kind regards,

The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    217
    361
    257
    881
See reviews for
334
569
121
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

oh my god this place reminded me of the overlook hotel in the shining! no joke. no hot water, no internet, phone didn't phone out, no double bed, the all inclusive drinks weren't fit to run your car on, complaints went nowhere. girlfriend lasted 2 hours after they tried to put us in a room in the basement that hadent been decorated since the 70s. no smoking even on balcony. she left and went to another hotel. the only redeeming feature was the other guests united in moaning abourt the place, that was funny. the pool was minging, crud floating in it, unfiltered and ice cold. if u truely hate someone send them here. also the local night life is all serbian run strip clubs and the cops are itching for a fight. ive moved out to a better place at my own expense.. as there was no rep to sort it out....oh and to add insult to injury the boiler blew up and leaked water into all my kit....

Room Tip: rent another hotel they're all terrible, basement stinks of damp and there is only one working l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments which we take very seriously, and as the new management of the hotel will help us better the services of the hotel.

The spirits provided are of local Maltese origin, as they are in most all inclusive establishments.


There is an internet corner, as well as WiFi at a charge i most areas of the hotel, and calls may be received but not made direct from the rooms.

The pools, whilst not heated are cleaned daily, and have the required filtration systems.

Our reception does its best to solve the complaints of our guests to the best of their abilities, so it is therefore with regret to us that you felt you had to move hotel.

Regretting the circumstances which you have informed us of, once again thank you for the comments, and giving us the possibility to better them.

Kind regards,

St.Georges Park & La Valette Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times in the last 14 years and when our children were younger it was a great family resort ,but the last time we stayed here we were in a room which was facing the
"Clubs and nighttime was a nightmare we could not sleep until around 3amish when the clubs closed and ,so would defiantly request a room poolside as this is on the other side and you can hear nothing in that side ,but on the whole had some great holidays here ,I would recommend a car as they drive on the same side as us in the UK ,and nowhere is far away ,you can take the car on the ferry to Gozo for a day out and would recommend the blue grotto for a boat ride the water is extremely blue ,Valletta has a market in the city walls near the bus terminus and there are also other markets in other areas ,Malta is a lovely island and plenty to do ,if you go at Easter you can see some great holy processions and immerse yourself in the atmosphere and mingle with locals ,on the whole a great holiday island

Room Tip: Always request a poolside room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 02, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea St George's Hotel and La Vallette Resort is located in the heart of the very lively city of St Julian close to the beaches, restaurants and bars that make this a great destination for those who like to party especially during the months of July and August. It is also the perfect base from which to discover the best tourist attractions that Malta, reputed to be one of the most beautiful islands of the Mediterranean, has to offer. It is a great starting point for trips to Gozo and Comino, the other islands that make up the Maltese archipelago. Malta caters perfectly for all tastes from its rich historical heritage to the beauty of its landscapes to the quality of the local cuisine and nightlife. The Hotel Blue Sea St. George's and La Valette Resort is located in St Julian's Paceville district, a few kilometers from Valletta, capital of Malta. The beach is located just 300 meters away. The hotel has a privileged location as the public transport, shops, restaurants and night-clubs of the amazing St Julian are all close at hand. The Hotel and Resort offers hotel rooms and studio/apartments. All rooms have a private bathroom, balcony or terrace and ceiling fan. Some rooms have sea views. The studios and apartments have a kitchen. The hotel has a pool beside which you can relax and while away the hours, plus a restaurant for all of your culinary needs, a sun terrace and solarium with hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Georges Park Complex Hotel Saint Julian`s
Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea St George's Park & La Vallette Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.