We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, nice ambience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canas y Tapas

Canas y Tapas
St. George's Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3300, Malta
+356 2137 7753
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 202 restaurants in Saint Julian's
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Average food, nice ambience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Visited canas y tapas for saturday dinner...nice ambience, good service but average food.
We had fried calamari, patatas bravas and meatballs to start off with and they were all quite good...unfortunately the paella which we were looking forward to was a real let down. Overcooked rice filled with butter beans and green beans! Nothing like the real thing. The Sangria too tasted nothing like the original Spanish one.
Nice desserts though especially the dulce de leche.
Overall an average experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    8
    6
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Msida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent selection of Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spanish themed restaurant offering good food with a wide selection of tapas to choose from. The set menu had a good combination of tapas and had a bottle of wine included in the price together with a glass of fresh Sangria.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“WOW - Brilliant service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We past the restaurant from outside and it did not look much (what a mistake!) on the first day in Malta, however we went in on the second day for lunch to a fantastic atmospheric restaurant around 1pm. We ordered 7 tapas (as we have had tapas in the UK) and was told to order smaller portions...when the waitress brought the food man was she right the portions are massive! (3 times that of the UK!)
The staff could not do enough and the food was extremely tasty and plentiful.

**Highly recommended**

FOOD excellent
Value for money

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
1 review
“Delightful lunch at Malta's Cañas y Tapas in Paceville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Yesterday was the first time my wife and I went over to Malta's Cañas y Tapas in Paceville. Mark Grima and his staff were at our beck and call, although and initially, we purposely did not inform anybody that, we are involved with inbound tourism, as we did not wish to be provided with any special treatment and so fooled by whatever service Mark's restaurant was providing. We were surely not fooled and we feel very assured that, we could recommend it to our inbound guests. We were not dissapointed, as we were served with an array of delightful dishes, in-between a few quick chats regarding the tasteful food we were eating. Mark and staff ... many thanks for your hospitality. You will see us again

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mellieha
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“False advertising”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

From the overall view, this looked like a great place to stop for a relaxing afternoon drink. however, the service was terrible. after waiting 10 min we decided to get up and order from the bar. when i asked for an appetiser menu, i was directed to the large note on the board that said 'free appetisers with drinks'. I was satisfied with this and settled down to have our drinks. after another 10 min, our drinks finally came. when we were nearly finished with our drink, i reminded the waitress of the sign of the free appetisers. she went into the kitchen and brought us out a bowl of olives! and that was it! what a shame as it had all the looks of a great place to hang out. never again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canas y Tapas also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Canas y Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canas y Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.