We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly staff, fantastic setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafael Restaurant

Rafael Restaurant
Spinola bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 212 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff, fantastic setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our first port of call on our return visit to Malta and we weren't disappointed. We ate here several nights and everything was consistent. The staff work really hard and are so friendly and welcoming. It was busy every night but you never feel under pressure to make way for the next customer.

The food isn't gourmet but is good. If you like olives while waiting for your starter, ask for some as they're not on the menu but are delicious.

Agree with other reviewers that it is a shame about people smoking, but that appears to be the same in all the restaurants.

Looking forward to our next visit to Malta and we'll definitely be eating here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    32
    18
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very ordinary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Disapointing as it looks better than it was and was very busy. The food was standard tourist fodder, nothing special, and not even accompanied by a bit of greenery on the plate to make it look nice! Although the food itself wasn't the worst I have elated, it was forgettable and we wouldn't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Simply Ghastly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Dear oh dear, what has gone wrong? Last year, I gave this restaurant 5 stars and obviously, we headed straight there as soon as we got back to Malta in July this year. Oh how the mighty have fallen.

The food was revolting (how can you mess up a child’s cheese and tomato pizza?) and the service (which had previously been 5 star) was non existent. At one point, my wife had to walk up to a waiter and say that if we weren’t served drinks immediately (bearing in mind the 90 degree evening heat), then we were off and not paying for what we had ordered. That got their attention.

Overall, very disappointed to see a previous favourite plunge so low.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“really enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We ate here for a quick lunch, we shared a beautiful pizza, and the view was amazing, even though we were in the presence of a massive cat throughout, this it didn't throw us and we would highly recommend this place. beautiful food, great service and fantastic setting.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

friendly service and a very relaxing atmosphere. Casual dining at its best

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafael Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Rafael Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafael Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.