We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish I was still there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta to your Saves list
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wish I was still there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Amazing hotel and fantastic service from the staff. Rooms spacious and clean. This resort is beautiful and has the advantage of a calm and relaxing adults only pool away from the main pools.
Not much of a sandy beach but water is lovely for scuba diving.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Hagostino,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers.

We are very happy to read your comments and look forward to welcome you back for another vacation on the Maltese Islands.

As you have rightly mentioned in your comments, the rooms at the resort are very spacious, with the deluxe rooms measuring around 40sqm.

Once again, we thank you for your review and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    517
    143
    64
    37
See reviews for
631
731
54
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Having stayed here for a week B&B in a sea view room on the executive floor I would definitely recommend this hotel - very high standards and excellent customer service skills from all the staff Worth upgrading to executive club room for breakfast on 8th floor, afternoon tea and canapés and excellent choice of drinks all included in the upgrade At this time of year the half board option is taken in the Quadro restaurant - here the meals are lovely with all the aspects of fine dining. A 10 minute walk takes you into St Julians or St Georges where the local bus service is 1.5 euros for a day pass and you can access anywhere on the island with this.

Room Tip: 7th floor sea view room or Tower rooms have larger balconies with sun loungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Heathy80,

We gladly read in your comments that you have enjoyed your visit to the Westin Dragonara Resort and the Maltese Islands.

The Westin Executive Club rooms indeed enjoy access to the Westin Executive Club where breakfast and pre-dinner drinks are served in a relaxing atmosphere, enjoying wonderful sea views. Gladly we note that you have enjoyed this venue as well as your dinners at the Quadro Restaurant.

Thank you for your time to share with us this experience; we look very forward in welcoming you back.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The best hotel by far to hold a conference and have a relaxing break on Malta There is a good balance for both business and pleasure with great facilities. The conference rooms are numerous, modern and well equipped. Staff make you feel at home and the best possible customer service I have come across in a hotel.

The location is good and although it is not far away from busy areas the place has a quite relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Linda E,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with fellow travellers.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the resort for your conference and for a relaxing break as well.

We look very forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Our team of models, make up artists and photographer spent 2 nights in the hotel. We used it as a base for our photography shoots whilst exploring Malta.

The hotel is in a superb location - right on the beach front.

The rooms were immaculate and the service excellent.

Many thanks to Aaron and this fellow colleagues for their invaluable help during our stay.

We would have no hesitation is coming back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear beemerUK,

Thank you for sharing your comments with fellow travellers.

Gladly we note that you have found the location of the resort very comfortable for exploring the Island and enjoyed your visit.

We look very forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Dragonara Resort. Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com for any assistance.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Right where do I start....Well we have been to Malta more times than I can remember, as we just Love it there.We have stayed in many differing hotels there and this is by FAR the best even though we have stayed at other 5* hotels in the area this is the Best.It is in a great location just minutes from pubs,bars and restaurants,and is right on the coast with amazing sea views from our room,but I think you get that from all the rooms by the way the hotel is positioned?.We were given a beautiful deluxe room with not one but two massive beds.I have to admit that I am not one for lying in bed and am usually up by 6am yes even on holiday,but that bed made not want to get up.It has to be the comfiest bed we have ever had and we have been in quite a few over the years.I know it sounds strange but after each night out I could not wait to get into bed,oh by the way we only used the one bed lol.The room its self is massive bright and airy,nice large bathroom along with robes and slippers(the wife loves it when there are robes)oh and a large balcony ideal for having a drink before you set out for the evening.The room was spotlessly clean and in fact the whole hotel was gleaming.

The breakfast here is a gourmets delight of everything you could want.Fruit ,cereal,meats,cheeses and of course full cooked,and a chef even on hand to make you eggs any way you so wish.It was such a pleasure having breakfast here as it was busy early on but you never felt rushed or squashed as there is plenty of room between the tables.Each morning we were given a table by a window so having a lovely view along with the great food was treat.

I have to mention the staff,from housekeeping to reception to restaurant all were first class,polite,professional and above all what we prefer Friendly.We have been to other 5* as I said earlier and yes the staff are professional but they are not allowed to be themselves so are not that friendly.It is not like that at this hotel,and when we return to Malta as I am sure we shall soon,we shall definitely stay here without a doubt.

The hotel booked us a taxi to return to the airport and I do recommend this as you get a nice car and if your lucky enough you may get the same driver as we did??We were driven by Francis who we have to say was by far the nicest ,friendliest driver you could wish for.The journey flashed by with stories and banter from him.Also some of the driving there is mad,but he was a safe and professional driver.

Room Tip: 622 nice view sheltered balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear RobertAnne,

Thank you for your wonderful comments following your stay.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your visit to the resort and we thank you for choosing the Westin for your visit to the Island.

As you have very well mentioned in your review, the resort enjoys a great location; being set on a peninsula allows for great sea views. The rooms at the Westin Dragonara Resort are indeed equipped with the famous Heavenly Beds, which we gladly read you have found very comfortable.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience at the resort with fellow travellers. Your review has been shared with our team, and we look very forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the Island.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were warmly welcomed by Aaron Axisa who explained everything we needed to know. It was our first visit to Malta and we soon realised we had chosen probably the very best hotel on the island. The hotel is extremely well designed so that all the rooms have a sea view. The rooms are large, with large well appointed bathrooms. Our balcony was enclosed which enabled us to enjoy the sun without the wind. The large indoor pool was a comfortable temperature and not too busy.

On arrival we noticed that there was an ironing board in our wardrobe, but no iron, also there were no slippers. I rang housekeeping and within minutes these items were delivered with friendly efficiency. This excellent service is what makes the Westin different to other hotels. Also, the "heavenly beds" really are heavenly. They have the exact level of firmness as our bed at home, so are just what we would choose. My back soon lets me know if I sleep in a bed which is too soft.

The breakfast buffet gives a good choice, but if anything different is required there is no problem. We had poached eggs a few times which were cooked to perfection. The first few evenings we ate out, there are so many good restaurants to choose from within easy walking distance. We knew this from trip advisor reviews, but if needed, Aaron was always happy to give us information regarding distance and directions. However, as the week went on the evenings got a little cooler and more windy so we decided to eat in the hotel bar area. This proved to be a good choice, we enjoyed some wonderful pasta dishes and excellent service from the staff. One evening when the hotel was busier than usual with conference delegates a table was reserved for us without us even asking.

We enjoyed our visits to Valletta and learned a great deal about the interesting history of Malta. Getting around on the local buses was so easy, not to mention cheap. We would definitely book the Westin again if we returned to Malta and would highly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear janet s,

Thank you for your review and for your recommendation.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your visit to the Maltese Islands and the Westin Dragonara Resort.

As you have well mentioned in your review, the rooms at the resort enjoy a balcony with sea views and are equipped with the famous Heavenly Bed; which we gladly read you have found very comfortable.

The resort enjoys a great location, close to the centre of St. Julian’s whilst situated on a peninsula enjoying great views. These views can also be admired from the terrace of our ORVM Lounge and Piano bar where we happily read you have enjoyed some on your dinners.

Once again we thank you for your comments and look forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very nice hotel for our company anniversary meeting. Accommodation was highly appreciated by the participants and food was excellent. Conference centre newly renovated and up-to-date and many of the rooms with daylight. Sometimes a bit too much cooled down for the season.
Very professional staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Bea M,

Allow us to thank you for sharing your comments following your visit to the Westin Dragonara Resort.

As you have rightly mentioned, the conference centre at the resort has been newly refurbished and many of the syndicate rooms enjoy natural daylight. We are glad to note that you have found this to be comfortable for your company’s meeting.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.