We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta to your Saves list
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent resort and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I had a very good experience visiting the Westin Dragonara for the first time and I will definitely come back. The location close to the sea was perferct ,stunning room with large balcony overviewing the Mediterranean ocean. The restaurants were very good and the service was above expectations. Very good location close to St. Julians with lots of nice rstaurants . I can really recommend this hotel and I will come back as soon as I get an opportunity .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Kirsten A,

We are very happy to read in your review that you had a very good experience at the resort and that you plan to return should you have the opportunity.

Thank you for sharing your comments with fellow travellers and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay on the Island. The resort indeed enjoys a great location close to the centre of St. Julian’s; sitting on a peninsula enjoying wonderful sea views.

We look very forward in welcoming you back to the resort in the future. Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    517
    143
    64
    37
See reviews for
631
729
54
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel is unique in that it has the quietest rooms you could hope to sleep in. The sound proofing is excellent. The rooms are very clean and amply sized. The staff are friendly and attentive. We booked Bed and breakfast only but found that we dined quite often in the hotel. The verandah attached to the lobby bar served good meals.

The only gripe I had with the hotel was the fine dining experience in its exclusive restaurant. I asked for lamb from the menu and was told they had none left. Then the wine I wanted from the list was also unavailable. In the light of this experience I would recommend dining at the lobby bar, as recommended above.

On the whole it is a good spot. A lot of the reviews reflect on which rooms to book. Any room facing the outside pool area will be sufficient and most have balconies. Don't worry which side you book as the courtyard layout limits sunshine (certainly in September anyhow). Also, you must remember that Malta is on the same latitude as Tunisia and can get hot, so a shady balcony is no bad thing. All your bathing will take place at the pool and beside the adjacent shoreline.

Restaurants and shops are 5 to 10 minutes walk away but many of them have limited outside seating so best to eat early or late in order to get the alfresco experience. They are also cheaper.

The trips on offer are good value and worth doing. This said, Malta is a small island and limited in its tourist offer. You'll struggle for a good beach. The island has strong italian and Arabic influences and it's culinary delights focus on rabbit and horse. It is worth a visit but, as the taxi driver told us on arriving, you'll either love it or hate it. I wouldn't say we hated it but 'been there done that' springs to mind.

If you do choose to go to Malta the Westin would be one of your better accommodation options.

Room Tip: Book one facing the pool area and don't worry which floor you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Anthony Q,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and the facilities the resort offers. Your comments have been shared with our team and we apologise for any inconvenience caused during your dinner at our restaurant. Should you wish to share with us further comments, I invite you to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay in Malta.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I first went to Malta as a young Marine in 1970. I loved the Island and the people then and 43 years later I still love it. It is an acquired taste, you either love it or hate it. Over the years I have returned on many occasions and have a great sense of nostalgia for the place. Gone now are the war widows dressed in black who used to sit on their doorsteps their husbands and Islands were subjected to one of the greatest landscaping projects of all time courtesy of the Luftwaffe
and Mussolini, they failed to break the spirit of the Maltese just as the Turks did centuries before.
For me, apart from the obvious, it is a great place to walk in. The seafront from St Georges Bay down to Sliema seems to go on forever and walking it is beneficial for my creaking bones and my love of coffee, their are many pit stops en route. The flight on Easy Jet was excellent and being able to pre book your seat has made all of the difference. The cabin crew are efficient and friendly.
For the second time we booked a tower room at the Westin Dragonara, which had an enormous sea view balcony and really pleasant room. The staff and management at the Dragonara really have got their act together and are friendly, efficient, charming and nothing is too much trouble.
It has a lovely pool area with access to the sea for those with the energy for swimming in the sea. Even in November many people were doing this. The food is excellent, if you want to go out their are many good restaurants houses, a Sicilian restaurant is a couple of hundred yards from the hotel and the fish is to die for (Giardino opposite a Hotel called the something Tulip????). Much development has been done in the Paceville area just outside the Hotel. It has to be said it is bit seedy, but my guess is it will be developed in the next few years and already the area is being squeezed, having said that at no time did we feel in any way threatened.

Room Tip: 777 is a great room if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear dirkle,

Thank you for your comments following your second visit to the Westin Dragonara Resort.

We are very happy to note in your comments that you have enjoyed your stay at the resort and on the Maltese Islands.

We look very forward in welcoming you back and invite you to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com should you be planning a return visit.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dowling
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The staff and all areas of this fabulous resort were family friendly. Lots of areas and activities for grandparents, parents and children. Staff was exceptional from the front office, excursion, food services, and cleaning staff who went above and beyond in all circumstances. Much appreciated!
Wonderful family safe accommodations, even for our one and three year old grandchildren. Balconies provided wonderful, safe play areas for the children and areas of relaxation for the adults. Many great meals on the terraces were enjoyed by all!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a tower room with a balcony! Well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Gail744,

We are delighted to read in your comments that you had a fabulous trip and enjoyed your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort. The resort is indeed a great location for family vacations and offers various room types including rooms with two Queen Sized beds.

Thank you for sharing your comments with fellow travellers following your experience at the resort. We look forward in welcoming you and your family back for another vacation.

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have not stayed in a Westin for a while so it was good to be back. From the moment you arrive the greeting and service is excellent. Reception were swift, friendly and accommodating of our request for a high floor room.

Room size is excellent - very spacious and well appointed. The balcony sea view from the 6th floor (there are 8 floors in total) was brilliant with pool/sea views over the bay. Bathroom was well fitted though there was an unpleasant smell from the drains for most of our stay... Room furnishings are high quality though one point to note; the walls are very thin. Between the kids in the suite next door and the TV on the other side of our room peace was sometimes a struggle to obtain. Apart from that the room is excellent.

We ate in the bar a couple of nights and once again the food and service was excellent. Good quality and reasonable prices for a hotel of this quality though the beer prices for draught are a little OTT at 6EUR for a pint of the local brew. Ironically the cocktails starting at 7EUR represent better value. We ate from the tapas menu and from the bar menu and the food was excellent quality and reasonably priced. Service was swift and friendly throughout every experience so no complaints at all and complements to the bar staff.

The location of the Westin is superb. The best place to be with Paceville on your doorstep with plenty of bars, restaurants and clubs. We found loads of places to eat/drink in the week we were here.

Pool and beach - pool is freezing. Hot tubs are actually cold tubs. No heating which despite the nice weather while we were there left the pool only for the brave. Given the sunshine I am surprised Westin do not fit some solar panels on the hotel roof to supply heat to the pool so as to extend the season. And who wants to sit in a cold tub?

Net of all the above - I would still recommend the Westin as the best place to stay in St.Julians and Malta as a whole.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor, pool facing in the North tower if you want a sunny balcony all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Neil P,

We are very happy to note in your review that you have enjoyed your stay at the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Thank you for sharing your comments with fellow travellers and for choosing the Westin for your stay on the Island. Your notes have been shared with our team and we invite you to contact us directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com should you wish to share further feedback or should you be planning a return visit.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Introduction:
This is my second stay on the island. The first one was at Le Meridien (see my review) and it wasn’t a very good experience. Although I’m willing to give Le Meridien a second chance, I also wanted this second stay to be much better, even flawless if possible.

As usual, I checked TripAdvisor’s members comments for the other Starwood Properties, and found The Westin Dragonara. The reviews were quite great so I decided to go for it.

Preambule:
I emailed the Westin to check out what kind of special package they can offer to a platinum member. I mean, I’m very faithful to SPG, to say the least, and most of the time I’m treated like a true VIP. In Warsaw in example, they always allocate the second best suite of the hotel to me each time I go there.

I got in touch with The Westin Dragonara on October 5th initially. As they didn’t get back to me (because of the week-end schedules I presume), I ended up booking it anyway on October the 6th. I had no choice but to book a place as the plane was already scheduled.
From there I got very nice replies from ALEXIA BUGEJA and STEPHANIE MICALLEF and both assured me they would follow the reservation very closely.

Dates of stay:
From October 25th till October 29th, four nights.

The Exterior:
This is a resort type, with 2 pools, access to the sea, so it is of course not really discreet.
Still, the main building looks quite nice for such a big property.

The Area:
One hell of an area! Walking distance from the center of St Julians where the shops, bars and restaurants are. It’s also the spot where the action takes place during the evening.
Sounds like it could be a bit noisy? Not at all. The Westin is very close, but still very quite as it located on a “private spot” and the rumors of the action aren’t even heard.
I would rate the area 5/5: you have it all. Action, shopping and peace.

The Interior:
Very nice interior design, with a huge BUT freezing lobby. Reception and concierge area is wide enough not to feel packed while waiting and the rest of the ground floor is mainly the lobby bar which is very large opening on a very large terrace.
The corridors and the hotel in general feel very 4-5 stars.

The check in:
Yanice took care of our check in which was very fast and friendly. As we were without luggage, lost in transit once again with Lufthansa, we asked for an “emergency kit.
We had to remind her to give it after she kindly explained the resort facilities but we received tooth brushes and paste and a razor…we were hoping that they would provide some extra stuff, but, in the end, it’s not a big deal to go for shopping for essentials.
I also asked for an ashtray as all rooms feature a balcony but that was never delivered in time.

When we arrived in the room, as the ashtray never showed up, I called Express Service and asked for it again, as well as a second pair of slippers, a bathrobe and some more shampoo and shower gel.

They delivered the ashtray quickly but nothing else. When we came back after midnight I had to call again to get the rest which was finally delivered.

It’s not a big deal of course, but it’s a bit annoying to have to remind them again, specially that we felt miserable without our own stuff stuck in Frankfurt.

Oh, and yes, we were having our phones, cameras and computers with us but no adaptors. When we got back to the room. Two were delivered for us. Note that they charge a deposit and that it was not on the bill. There is no charge thus.

I have to mention that we received a very nice welcome package delivered to our room with a note signed by the general manager in person (I mean hand signed in blue ink, not a copy).

The room:
Room 827, on the top floor of the building. I was upgraded to an Executive room which also give access to the Executive Lounge.

I was a little disappointed by the room as I hoped to get a suite, even junior, but apparently the upgrades in Malta’s Starwoods properties for Platinum are only from basic to Executive rooms.

Another thing I didn’t like is that we were put in a double queen bed room, and not a single king bedroom. So, we ended up to sleep in different beds :-((

The room itself is large and feature the usual Executive/Club rooms furniture. Armchair, table, desk and chairs, closets and drawers.

One thing is quite stupid these days though: there is only one power plug at the desk and one behind a bed! 2 for 6 appliances, that was quite tricky.

The balcony was quite comfortable, with a table and two chairs and a real great full view on the pools and the sea.

The AirConditioning/Heating:
Was working perfectly and that is important because it’s 27°C these days

The Bathroom:
The bathroom is quite small with a bath, a single sink and a toilet. The shower in the bath is again wall mounted which is a shame. For some reason, after each bath or shower, there was a lot of water on the floor. Luckily, it was under the sink.
Another thing is the sewage smell in the bathroom. Not so strong but not very nice either.
Though the room was for two persons, on top of the lack of a second bathrobe and pair of slippers, we were having only one shower gel and shampoo bottle.
This is really greedy, especially when you lack your baggage.

The Bed:
They were perfect, as usual in the Westin.

The Breakfast:
Served in the Executive Lounge, I was very pleased to see that it wasn’t as poor as the one from Le Meridien Malta.
The choice is wide and the lounge quite nice with a large terrace.

The Restaurant(s)/bars:
There are several restaurants and bars as it is a resort. We didn’t check them though except the lobby and pool bars. Drinks were great and food was too.

The Club Lounge:
The place is very nice, as mentioned, with a large terrace and three sofa areas on top of around 10 tables and chairs.
There are two computers and a printer.
One thing is apparently a Maltese habit: you have a breakfast until 10:30 AM and a Happy Hour from 6 till 8 PM and the rest of the day there is not even a soft drink. Only water and coffee. I have to say that the Happy Hour is fabulous with lots of appetizers wine, soft, beers and alcohol.

Swimming Pools, Seaside
There are two outdoor pools. One is restricted for kids, but was closed due to the time of the year I guess. Both are large and very nice. There is also an access to the sea. Malta has almost no sandy beaches. And, in this area of the island, people simply use the rocks for sunbathing. The Westin spot is very comfortable with sunbeds.

Service/Housekeeping:
Absolutely perfect.

Check out:
Simple and quick. The bill was correct too.

I really liked:
- It is so common to mention, but it deserves to be mentioned. Once again, thumbs up for the staff. Their friendly attitude and professionalism is occulting the minor bugs of our stay.
- The resort itself which is very nice to discover and trust me it is quite large. The fact that it is large I never felt like there were so many people in the place. Even the lobby bar huge terrace when busy, is very quite and lovely. Same for the pool bar or the pool and beach area.
- The interior design
- The location: if you go straight ahead you will be in the crazy PaceVille area where evenings are just like a Pattaya atmosphere. If you go to the left you will have grocery stores, shops, a small port with restaurants and terraces.


I really disliked:
- The elevators: only two for such a building is a guarantee to have to wait.
- The room service on the first day. The following days were perfect though.
- The Air Conditioning in the lobby. It’s freezing.


All the best
Stephane

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear StephaneBxl,

Allow us to thank you for choosing the Westin Dragonara Resort for your stay in Malta and for your review following this stay.

Gladly we note from your comments that you have enjoyed your break and the location of the Westin Dragonara Resort.

Your feedback has been shared with our team, and we thank you for your time to write about your experience at the resort. Such comments will help us to continue improving the experience we offer to our guests.

We look very forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the Maltese Islands and the Westin Dragonara Resort in the near future.

Kind regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The service was amazing.we had a few issues on the first day with not enough wardrobe space but the hotel sorted it out straight away. They sorted out everything and were extremely helpful. The location was very good because we could get buses straight into the capital and it wasn't that far away. There were many restaurants close by. The view from our room was amazing. It was a brilliant holiday and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear sunshine900,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers and for your recommendation.

We are very happy to know that you had a brilliant holiday on the Maltese Islands and that we could assist you during your visit.

Whilst we thank you once again for your comments, we look forward to welcome you back to the resort for another vacation.

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.