We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgrace to the Westin Brand!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta to your Saves list
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
perth
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disgrace to the Westin Brand!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I came to the westin dragonara together with my partner for our month off travelling throughout the mediterranean region. We have been to quite a few other Starwood hotels in recent years and this by no means meets the standard that you would expect from this brand.

When we arrived to check in, we found one lady on her own at reception with two other guests waiting to check in. We had to wait 20min to begin checking in. We were given a room on the 5th floor, the corridors leading to the room had falling cealings and were in a very bad state. The room itself looks refurbished at first glance. Carpets are new. But furniture looks very dated.

There are no restaurtants available for lunch, you are forced to dine at the lobby bar or in your room. We complained about the bath tub leaking and instead of getting this fixed we have received a call from the duty manager who I believe her name was Janeece and she was very rude an impolite and made us feel very unwelcome with her tone of voice and attitude.

When we went to the health club to try out the indoor pool we were surprised to see how dated the area was. Pool tiles were cracked and had bad grouting. Most equipment looks like it was there for well over a decade. it was also very crowded due to the fact that they sell many memberships to locals. Something we were not used to in other westin hotels and starwood brands.

Overall our 5 star experience suffered greatly beacause the dragonara is obviously focused on maximising profits at every chance they get. not taking into consideration whatsoever on how it will impact a guests experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_kamsky, General Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Linny_S01,

Allow us to thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Resort.

We have read your comments with great concern and apologise for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with the rest of my management team.

As you have well mentioned the rooms at the Resort have been refurbished recently and we are always engaging in renovating parts of the Resort. Your comments pertaining to the furniture in the rooms thus come as a surprise. We invite you to contact us directly with further information as regards this matter.

With regards to your feedback on the food and beverage opening hours, indeed, during the winter months our ORVM lounge is open throughout the day with full restuarant service, in addition to in-room dining. Moreover our Quadro Restaurant is open daily for dinner. This does change during the summer months, where both our two pool areas will be serving lunch in their respective Venues as well. Nevertheless, we thank you for your feedback in this matter which will be discussed with the food and beverage team.

Once again, I invite you to contact me directly. In the meantime we apologise for falling short of your expectations, and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort in the future to give you the memorable experience we are so well renowned for.

Be well
Michael

Michael Kamsky
General Manager
Michael.Kamsky@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    517
    143
    64
    37
See reviews for
631
730
54
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Khartoum, Sudan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed for 8 nights at this hotel and was very pleased with the room, overall service, and amenities. Upon checking in, I was offered an upgrade,at a reasonable additional charge, from the junior suite which I had booked, to a "bay suite" with separate bedroom, kitchenette, and living/dining room. I accepted and was very pleased with the room. Service was friendly, and efficient, and the bellman was extremely knowledgeable -- acting as a de facto concierge. The gym was excellent, probably in the top 1% of hotel gyms and attracted locals who paid for memberships. Internet access was very fast. My only complaint is that the Westin is among the growing number of hotels that levy a hefty charge for internet access. While internet access was included in the rate for my suite, the hotel ordinarily charges 18 euros/day for a regular connection and 24 euros/day for a high speed connection. I consider this extremely steep for what has become an essential service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Paul J,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Dragonara Resort with fellow travellers.

Happily we read that you were pleased with the room, service and resort amenities during your stay with us. The Luxury Baysuites, as you have well noted, enjoy a kitchenette with a living room separate from the bedroom. These suites are spacious and are only metres away from the Mediterranean Sea.

We thank you for your feedback regarding the internet charges in the guest rooms. May we take this opportunity to clarify that internet is offered free of charge at our lobby area. Nevertheless, we have shared your much appreciated feedback with our team.

Once again thank you for your wonderful comments. We look very forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed for five nights on the Executive Club Floor. The room was large with two enormous beds and a large balcony with a fabulous view, immaculately clean and comfortable. The hotel is beautiful and I would like to return another time later in the season when more will be open - the pools and pool bars etc were still closed last week. That said, it was still totally comfortable and being able to use the Executive Club Lounge was a big plus, both in the evenings for cocktails and for breakfast, perfectly served by Pam! She is a delight! We dined mostly in the hotel where the food was delicious and the service immaculate. Of particular mention is Quadro and the wonderful Thomas who looked after us so well! The staff in general could not have been more helpful or done more for us and I cannot recommend them all highly enough, in particular Jonathan Borg, the Director of Operations and Stephanie and Rachel on the front desks. All in all a wonderful few days.

Room Tip: I would choose a room that does not look out over the pool as it will be quieter. All rooms seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear wendyV_10,

Greetings from the Westin Dragonara Resort

Allow us to thank you for your wonderful comments following your visit to the resort.

The Executive Lounge, as you have well noted, offers breakfast as well as pre dinner drinks in a relaxing atmosphere. We gladly read that you have enjoyed this experience.

We look very forward to welcome you back to the resort in the future. Should you plan a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com . Thank you once again for your comments

Kind Regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed for a week.

Large hotel, great breakfast full of everything, large rooms with balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The bathroom was clean and of a good size and the bed was comfortable.

Expensive lunch and drinks.

There's 2 swimming pools. The one further away from the hotel is much quieter and has more shade. Though non hotel guests can also use it.

The surrounding areas have lots of restaurants. You can opt for either quieter restaurants to the party area full of youngsters. There is a shopping complex which is 10 mins walk away from the hotel which has a hard rock cafe, m&s, clothes shops and much more. If you fancy going into the casino its right opposite the hotel!

Hotel staff are very pleasant and cater for all dietary requirements. No problem checking in or out. Hotel can get busy with conferences and events but didn't feel crowded at all.

Thoroughly an enjoyable experience, would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Cutey09,

Thank you for sharing this experience with fellow travellers.

We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable experience at the resort. As you have rightly mentioned the resort offers a buffet breakfast with a wide variety of choices. These include a selection of Superfoods choices for healthy eating.

Whilst thanking you again for your comments, we look very forward to welcome you back to the resort

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Nice place... nice executive floor with lounge and nice Mrs Pam... managing her "paradise" very well and friendly. Also hotel is very good located at St Julians Bay... it is very quite here but you find party locations just around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Mike188113,

Greetings from the Westin Dragonara Resort

Thank you for sharing this experience with fellow travellers and for mentioning Pam for her service and friendliness.

The resort indeed enjoys a very good location, set on a peninsula enjoying sea views whilst still very close to the centre of St. Julian’s.

We thank you once again for your comments and look very forward to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as a couple. Hotel is worth its 5 stars. beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and exceptionally helpful staff, in particular Justin on reception and Pam in the Executive breakfast lounge, both lovely people who went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. We had a problem with our hired car one morning and the staff ordered us a taxi and liased with the hire car firm and on our return later that day it was all fixed - great service. We did not use the gym or the pool so cannot comment on these. Bedrooms large, modern, well stocked with toiletries, etc and bed very comfortable. Lovely view and a delight to hear the sea when opened the balcony doors. Only comment would be to avoid a room overlooking the front of the hotel due to noise from the street outside complex and nightclub goers. Otherwise highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms overlooking front of hotel due to noise from street outside of complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Macl,

Allow us to thank you for your comments following your visit to the Westin Dragonara Resort this March.

As you have well mentioned, the guest rooms at the resort are indeed very spacious and are also equipped with the famous Heavenly Beds. We happily read that you have enjoyed the views from the room as well as the service at the resort.

Whilst thanking you again for your comments, we look very forward to welcome you back to the resort in the future. Should you be planning a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me directly on stephanie.micallef@westin.com

Best regards
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We loved our stay from the first email exchanges with George, the concierge along with Daniella and Tony who were so helpful all weekend long making suggestions for restaraunts,activities and general advice. the rooms are spacious,Netherlands grounds are pretty,never the General Manager and Operating Manager are very involved in making every guest's stay memorable. We would come back again as we fell in love with Malta

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicallefStephanie, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Barry L,

Thank you for your wonderful comments following your visit to the resort.

We are glad to read that you have loved your stay with us and would like to thank you in particular for mentioning my colleagues for their service.

Should you plan a return visit to the Island please do not hesitate to contact us. We look very forward to welcome you back in the future

Be well
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.