We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wedding and Location We Dreamed of” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta to your Saves list
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Wedding and Location We Dreamed of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

What a beautiful hotel in an amazing setting. The service was remarkable from the friendly greeting by Tony all the way to the generous gifts from the hotel manager. Everyone was so kind and inviting. My husband and I had our wedding there on September 3, 2007 and everything was absolutely perfect. The service was impeccable and very welcoming. Malta and the Westin Dragonara will always hold a very special place in our hearts and we plan to return here often. Thanks to everyone for such an amazing stay and a wedding that was truly a dream come true.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff and the dream wedding we had.
  • Disliked — The shower wall that caused the floor to become drenched because it did not extend beyond the spray of the water.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,348
    548
    151
    65
    37
See reviews for
663
772
58
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

What can I say!! My husband and I have just returned from a weeks' honeymoon at the Dragonara, and came home wishing we had booked 2 weeks!!
I booked this hotel purely on the basis of the excellent reviews it received on this site, but then as the months went on the occasional not-so-good review started crepping in and I started to worry....as it happens, needlessly so, there was no need as the place is perfect.
When we arrived in the early hours of the morning (2am) we were told that the hotel was overbooked, and there was no room for us, but it wasn't a problem as they had organised a room fo rus at Le Meridien which was literally 5 mininutes away, and also a beautiful hotel. They sent a car for us the next morning to take us back to the Westin.
When we got there a mistake had been made by the company we booked with, and they had booked us a standard room as oposed to the suit we paid for. The hotel were brilliant, they made sure we still got a suit (we stayed in a junior suit), and due to all the problems we had suffered so far in the short space of time, they also up-graded us to half board. They were the most helpful and friendly people, nothing was a problem, in particular Alex Falzon, he was great and a credit to the hotel.
Our room was immaculate, and the beds are truly 'heavenly', I got the best nights sleep whilst there that I have ever had. Room service was brilliant, infact everything about the place just breathed relaxation. We would most definately recommend it.
Whilst we were there there were conferences and weddings, but we never felt negleted, there were more than enough staff to go around, and more than enough room for all the guests, it never felt crowded.
The breakfast buffet was fab, I've definately gained inches I didn't have before hand!! The evening buffet was lovely too, but not the greatest choice other than mainly Maltese dishes, which I'm sure would have been delicious if we'd liked the ingredients. We also ate off the a la carte menu, the fillet steak was to die for.
The resort itself was only a short walk away, if indeed you wanted to leave the hotel, which we only did a couple of times, we prefered the relaxation as oposed the the hustle and bustle.
In other reviews I've read there was mention of the lifts being 'wiffy', well, yes, they were a tad, but seriously, when you spend literally seconds in it does it really matter??!!
All in all, we would highly recommend a stay at his hotel, we will definately be going back, ASAP!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

My cousin and I stayed 4 nights at the Dragonara. It was wonderful. There is so much to do and see in the area. The service was wonderful. It is very very clean. The prices were reasonable. The room and view was spectacular. They have a range of restaurants one in partucular the pizza place had the best food at really good prices. If you wanted a very quite and relaxed holiday you would not have to leave the premises. If you wanted to go out all the time the buses run often and are very close. This is truely and 5 star hotel.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — no coffee and tea in the room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

A beautiful hotel with the most courteous and friendly staff you could ever hope for! Huge comfortable rooms, an elegant, grand foyer and extensive well maintained grounds set in a quiet but fabulous location just a few minutes walk from the lively areas. Every amenity you would expect from a large, 5 star hotel can be found here.

We spent 16 fabulous nights here in August. We booked our room direct with the hotel by phone 7 months beforehand and arranged our flights with Ryanair from Luton. This way we could add on another 2 nights to the usual 14 night package holiday available through a tour operator and also we could specify just what we required from our stay! On arrival, everything we requested was exactly as we'd agreed when we booked.

Mainly we wanted a high floor 'tower room' as they have such large balconies (and gorgeous cane furniture if you request it and are lucky enough to get it as they can't promise!), but we also specifically wanted use of the newly revamped 'Executive Club Lounge' which is generally reserved exclusively for guests on the top floor.

Although this was not the norm, the hotel was very obliging as we had negotiated the cost with them to include this facility when we originally booked. It was well worth it in our opinion with it's beautiful modern surroundings, smart leather sofas and trendy outdoor seating with amazing views, soft drinks are available all day on request, 2 hours of help yourself wines, spirits and liqueurs daily from 6pm and the most delicious snacks and nibbles to accompany them!

Also there are loads of travel books to browse through, daily papers, 2 large plasma TV's, 2 computers with free internet use (but on a first come, first served basis so sometimes you couldn't get a look in as kids monopolised them for ages to chat and play games!) At less busy times throughout the day it was easier to find a free terminal to use if necessary.

Also available in the Club Lounge is a lovely buffet breakfast with a good choice of hot and cold food until 10:30 each day; after 16 days we still looked forward to our daily morning and evening visits to the lounge and would have easily enjoyed many more visits given the chance! The girls who welcomed us in every day were just so lovely, Zarah, Sarah, Danielle and Marianne especially, (thank you girls :-)!

Throughout our stay, we encountered several weddings! In my opinion it would be a great place to wed given it's all round elegance and exceptional friendliness.

One word of advice, the Dargonara IS a hotel where you will find many families! I have a 15 year old so I am well used to having other people's children around me over the years, but I have to admit, there definitely seemed to be a 'wilder breed' staying at the same time as us on this holiday! If you don't want to be surrounded by other people's loud and boisterous kids, or crying whiny younger ones.....I suggest you choose another hotel or you may be disappointed at the lack of peace and tranquility! 5 star does not guarantee no unruly kids!

Finally, I just need to reiterate how lovely every member of staff was throughout our stay. Every room maid we passed called 'Good Morning' to us as we went along the corridors, and all the concierge, reception and bar staff were wonderfully polite, chatty and helpful. On 2 occasions, wine or a dish of fruit and delicious local snacks was delivered to our room; one time was because a restaurant booking we requested was accidentally misplaced and the other time was for no particular reason that we knew of, but we think possibly because it was coming up to our last few days there!

These special little touches certainly helped to make a very happy and memorable stay for us and we are now looking forward to our return visit for a weekend in December!

  • Liked — Luxury, elegance and space!
  • Disliked — Unruly kids running around!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

We stayed at the Westin Dragonara for 8 days at the end of August 2007. We were slightly apprehensive after reading some of the tripadvisor reviews about this hotel, but our concerns were unfounded. We had a fantastic time at this excellent hotel.
We have stayed in many hotels over the years including many business ones and this is one of the best.
The hotel is in an excellent location surrounded by the sea on 3 sides, yet very near to the centre of the town with all the restaurants. Although parts of St Julien can be loud we found this a very quiet and relaxing hotel.
The staff are outstandingly friendly and knowledgeable.
Food was excellent. Although sometimes service was rather slow in the Palios restaurant, this was no different to any of the other restaurants in Malta and the location of the restaurant overlooking the sea, made the wait very welcome indeed - in that setting we would have been disapointed to be served quickly.
There are 2 outdoor and 1 indoor pool which were never busy despite the time of the month. We could always find loungers, whatever the time we got there.
We would most definitely be recommending this hotel to others and would gladly stay here again.

If you are interested in culture and history here are 3 recommendations of activities not to miss:
a) The Hypogeum - truly extraordinary prehistoric burial ground. It is a UNESCO world heritage site. A word of warning - they only allow 10 people to visit it per hour with timed tickets. They always sell out many weeks ahead. However you can book on the internet and this is worth doing. You will not regret the visit.
b) The Lascaris war rooms. They can be difficult to find but they near the main gate to Valetta under the city walls. They were the headquarters of the allies control centre during the second world war.
c) The hotel puts on a lecture thursday afternoons on history of Malta. The lecturer is an enthusiastic historian and it is excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

If you are looking for a high- standard hotel with plenty for the children to do then the Dragonara is definitely a hotel to consider.

The Dragonara is situated on a large plot of land on a peninsula in St Julians. It benefits from 3 swimming pools, an indoor and outdoor chlorine pool, and an outdoor saltwater pool. There is also plenty of access to the sea and a small sandy cove. Not surprisingly, the outdoor chlorine pool is most popular and this can get very busy. This year we spent most of our time at the saltwater pool, which is MUCH quieter and provides an enormous area to sunbathe and plenty of shade if needed. When the weather got too hot, we would take the kids to the indoor pool for a dip. Once again this pool -below a very large and fully equipped gym- would be pretty quiet.

This is my third stay at the Dragonara with my wife and three children (11, 9, and 5). We have stayed in a standard double, a bay-view suite and a junior suite.

The standard rooms are large, containing 2 double beds. Even with five occupants in the room we did not feel at all squashed. The hotel were happy to provide an extra single bed in the room.

The bay-view suites are very modern -consisting of a bedroom, living room (with sofa bed), kitchen area, bathroom, and seperate shower room- and finished to a very high standard. One benefit is the rooms are west-facing, so you can squeeze in a little extra sunbathing on your balcony in the late afternoon.

The junior suite is basically a standard room with a living room attached. Our living room also contained a running machine and selection of weights!

Of the three rooms we preferred the junior suite, basically because it felt the most spacious and provided my wife and me with a place to relax after the kids went to bed.

A major attraction at the Dragonara is the fantastic kids club. I cannot speak highly enough of the excellent staff who are around to entertain your children from 8am to 10pm. There is an itinery of events every week, from twice-daily activities in the pool, to themed events and discos in the evening. The kids club staff take a genuine interest in the children, and show remarkable patience with the more 'lively' little guests. It also provides a safe place out of the sun for the kids to cool-off.

In addition, there is a discovery club. This lays on paid activities such as scuba diving, fishing, and salsa lessons.

You will find all the staff at the Dragonara to be extremely friendly and helpful.

My main criticism of the hotel is the standard of the food. With the exception of the vast and varied self-service breakfast, the food is generally poor in quality for a hotel of this standard. Although there are plenty of places to eat at the hotel, there are also plenty of very good restaurants within walking distance so go and enjoy some of the local resaturants and discover how cheap it is to eat-out in Malta.

Don't let the poor food put you off this hotel. Book bed and breakfast, get a room on the 4th floor upwards, and have a great time.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

We had a family holiday at the Westin in July. After reading some of the reviews I was a little concerned & yet I have to say that the hotel and our holiday were fantastic.

We upgraded to a bay suite and it was spacious and well appointed.

All staff were friendly and helpful and use of the vip room for breakfast and pre dinner drinks was a treat we very much enjoyed.

We travelled with three children, aged 13,10 and 3 and there was plenty to do for all of them.

The pool areas were very good and the children particulalry enjoyed the small sandy cove and sea inlet.

My only criticism is that the cove area could have been cleaned more often and the service in Palio's restaurant was dreadful. We took a couple of meals there and whilst the food was fine the event was ruined by slow service.

The bar area within the reception of the main hotel is lovely and the welcome for children is second to none.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Hotel and will return at the earliest opportunity

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3134, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffused with the clear stillness of our refreshing seaside location, The Westin Dragonara Resort is a place where nothing matters except your delight. The resort rests on its 74,000 square metre peninsula like a crown jewel, with the azure waters of the Mediterranean lapping against two private beach lidos, their outdoor pools, gorgeous views and direct access to the sea. Recharge in our WestinWORKOUT® gym. Entertainment abounds, with diving, watersports, and Malta’s historic casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Splendia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Westin Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Dragonara Hotel Malta
Dragonara Resort Malta
Westin Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Westin
Westin Dragonara Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dragonara Resort, Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.