We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sale e Pepe Tradizione Italiana

Sale e Pepe Tradizione Italiana
Portomaso Yacht Marina, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ4011, Malta
+356 21383345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 212 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Price range: $43 - $61
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Sale e Pepe Tradizione Italiana is a typical Italian Restaurant for all the family, with the advantage of having the picturesque view of the award winning Portomaso Yacht Marina.Sale e Pepe is the ideal place for a casual or a business lunch as well as a romantic dinner.Sale e Pepe Tradizione Italiana accepts all types of groups; small and large groups. Exclusivity of the venue, for staff parties or birthday parties, during opening hours is also considered.The menu at the Sale e Pepe Tradizione Italiana is varied and includes homemade pasta, fresh fish catch of the day and meat. Your choice for lunch could include a light starter such as the "Beef Carpaccio with rocket leaves and parmesan shavings", followed by a delicious plate of "Rigatoni alla Burina, with sausage, mascarpone, mushrooms and parmesan cheese" or the "Homemade Fettuccine with courgettes and prawns".For a more comprehensive meal you could go for the "Steamed Mussels and Clams served with wine, garlic, chilli and fresh tomato sauce " or the "Gnocchi with aubergines, buffalo mozzarella and cherry tomatoes"In true Italian style there are several pasta dishes to choose from such as: "Spaghetti Carbonara" ,"Risotto with Sardinia Saffron" and "Pappardelle with Rabbit Ragu`" . For those who prefer stuffed pasta we offer "Homemade Ravioli filled with Maltese ricotta in a tomato and basil sauce".Fresh catch of the day is offered depending on what the market offers. Fish dishes on the menu include "Grilled Calamari", "Sole Meuniere" and Sale e Pepe Tradizione Italiana's specilaity: the "Fillet of Salmon cooked in olive oil and tyme in a potato crust".For patrons preferring red meat, the "Black Angus Beef Fillet" and the "Carved Prime Irish Beef with rocket and cherry tomatoes" are available and can be complemented with any of our variety of sauces. House specialites are: the "Pork Cotoletta alla Milanese" and the "Slow cooked braised Lamb shank with potato mash". For those who prefer white meat the "Chicken casserole alla Romana", and the "Veal Escalope with creamy lemon juice" are also a must.Sale e Pepe Tradizione Italiana has recently been awarded with the certification "Marchio di Ospitalita` Italiana" among the Quality Approved Italian Restaurants project in Malta.
Mellieha, Malta
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great setting in portomaso harbour, staff very attentive and the food well presented and good quality.
Great at lunch times, try the Pork Milanese its really good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    53
    19
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely jubbly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We fancied an Italian and this place came highly recommended. It did not disappoint. The starter of bread, bruschetta and risotto balls were fabulous. The garlic bread was truly amazing. My ravioli was slightly bland but the slow cooked chicken was terrific. Well worth a visit and good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsaskala, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pure pleasure of dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

For my family and myself, Sale e Pepe is the best restaurant Malta has to offer. Situated in a perfect environment, enjoying superb views of the marina in summer and cosy and warm in the winter season. Parking is no problem as you can use the Hilton parking grounds and walk the few distance straight into the restaurant. The staff is simply amazing. Mike is both professional and friendly at the same time, his warm smile and welcoming approach makes you feel comfortable and feeling at home. The food is superb and no one can resist their freshly baked, mouth watering bread! Especially the ones filled with garlic or olives!! My husband's usual choice is their 'Rigatoni alla burina' (he's crazy for it! ) while for me it s the grilled salmon. Coffee and dessert have always been excellent as well. Sale e pepe is spacious, well decorated and with comfortable tables. We've been dining at this restaurant for years now, and there NEVER was even one time that we went home disappointed. Sale e Pepe, thank you for making every dining out occasion a special occasion! :) I couldn't choose the month when I visit the restaurant, we go there more than once a month!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
“Reliable and Genuine...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have been to Sale e Pepe quite a few times for the simple reason that we love Italian food and this must be one of the best Italian restaurants available in Malta today. The atmosphere, view and location are perfect!!
What really sums up this restaurant is that whenever we invited our Italian business / social friends they loved the place and moreover always suggest that we return...well done and keep it up!! By the way, the freshly baked bread and appetizers wow!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
1 review
“Not a Nice Experience ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I passed by for lunch yesterday at Sale e' Pepe in Portomaso.
To be fair normally the food is good here and in fact this why I have returned... However we cannot understand what happened on our last experience yesterday.

Have they changed Management or Chef... or what??

We waited quite a while for our food but to that perhaps one can close an eye being it was a busy time for the restaurant.

We ordered different pasta dishes and the pasta seemed to have been boiled ages before it was served it was cold and sticky.. we complained however waiter came saying it's looks normal to him.. I'm afraid we shall have to forget this restaurant from our list. sad case !!

Also lots of flies in the area but maybe this is not the restaurant fault.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sale e Pepe Tradizione Italiana also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Sale e Pepe Tradizione Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sale e Pepe Tradizione Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.