We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Malta to your Saves list
Hilton Malta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Cracow
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
187 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great property and staff. The executive room was modern, clean and has very nice decor, everthing was perfect clean and comfy. Free WiFi (for HH Gold), nice gifts from manager (bottle of wine, cookies). The level of service is high and at 5 stars standard. Great breakfast buffet with huge choice of everything. Stylish executive lounge. Nice indoor pool with spa area. The location is very good, just few steps from St. Julians center but in the same time very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear CracowDanang,

Thank you very much for your loyalty towards the Hilton chain.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit in our property and very pleased to have lived up to your expectations.

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,665
    629
    169
    51
    26
See reviews for
555
1,183
86
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Howden, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is set in a Beautiful location, with fabulous sea views, very comfortable rooms, the food was very food, the staff were warm and friendly. If you are travelling to Malta this hotel is well worth a visit. The staff cannot do enough for you.

Room Tip: Fantastic views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Wendy C

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel and for your kind comments on us, that work at Hilton Malta

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tockenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's not often we would return to a place for holiday but this hotel and St Julians were so nice we would go back in a heart beat. It's worth spending the extra bit of money to get the 5* rewards you have with the Hilton. OK drinks and food are expensive but there are so many restaurants and bars literally on the doorstep you don't need to pay the excessive prices of the hotel. Go for the hotel breakfast, it's more than worth it.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Massive_Duck

Thank you very much.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay so much that you do not hesitate twice to come back.
Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna



I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay so much and delighted that you consider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

At £250 a night I expected honestly a little more ! The Room was very nice with a good 6 foot bath and good size bath and shower room. But the vanity sink was too small to be useful. One of the "fluffy Robes" their brochures harp on about was very shabby with a nasty little blood stain ! urgh. I threw it in the bin to save them the bother. The balcony was nicely presented and well lit with pleasant sea views over toward the casino and jetty. There was a nice range of fruity teas and the overall felling was relaxed and comfy. Breakfast was a lovely relaxing affair, overlooking the palm shaded pools and sea. But the greasy streaky bacon was aweful !!!
good range of muffins, cereals and hot goods. Quite nice coffee with good service too.
However down stairs was very Business like with lots of suits and brief case types hovering around.
The few sad looking people there with kids looked apologetic for having them and said hush a lot. NO NEED ! we were all kids. the children looked bored senseless.
The bar Pianist in the evening was excellent but a little loud.
The Bar:- 6.5 Euros a pint is about 3 times going rate for a pint of CISK. Try Peppermint Park, round corner for 2 Euros a pint for noisy fun or The Avenue for 3 Euros a pint in a much better restaurant and save a few quid.
Zofia and Nicola were very helpful and spoke perfect English. On a down side all the outside pools were shut despite the fine weather.

Room Tip: Ask for a free wifi code or simply sit by the Piano for very fast speed lock free access. The lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Bob L

Thank you for your write up and thank you again for taking the time to bring the matter, with regards to the bath robe and the bacon, to our attention.

I assure you that these will be brought to the attention of the respective departments for necessary action and supervision to be taken.

I do hope that overall, despite these issues observed by your good self, you enjoyed a comfortable and pleasant stay with us.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna


it show how much you care about the standards of service we provide for our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a few days at an extremely reasonable off season rate. The room was very, very nice, the beds super comfortable, etc. Plush. Breakfast was very good, but unfortunately I forgot to choose that package so had to pay out of pocket. As I said my room was severely reasonable, but the trade off was that they put me an extremely long way from check in. Even the concierge was laughing when he asked what room I was in, mentioning that it was about as far as you could walk in the hotel.

As for the layout of the interior, it is interesting with restaurants on sort of overlapping levels. I think it is meant to sort of have a nautical theme that way. I liked it. Another good thing is that the Malta Sightseeing bus literally stops right in front of the hotel. I believe there is only one other hotel on the entire northern route in which the bus stops so close to.

Definitely recommend the hotel, and would like to come back when it is warm enough to take advantage of the pool and surroundings.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear callmeishmael,

Thank you very much for your observations about our hotel.

Yes indeed, some rooms can be quite far away from reception. In total we have 404 rooms and 6 family suites and the hotel is built on 31 000 square metres of land but should you plan to come back to the hotel, do not hesitate to contact me directly and we will allocate a room closer to our main facilities.

Hope to see you soon!
Kind Regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Close to the airport, well organized, missing pringles in the minibar. The Rooms are wonderful if facing the sea, but "old style" Expecially the bathrooms. Also close to Many pubs. The food IS very good and the staff IS professional and very kind. A perfect location for business conventions and meetings

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Massimo S

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
Our aim, as team members of this hotel, is to offer the best service ever together with superior cuisine.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind reagrds
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Visiting my Grandfathers grave for the 70th Anniversary of his death on the Island...and bring my father along for his last visit to Malta where he used to live. I was in touch with Ruth, the manager, pre journey to smooth what would be a difficult trip with my Dad and she was very helpful. On arrival Zofia the reception Supervisor was marvelous with upgrading our rooms and making sure our stay was perfect. All the staff i came across remebered our names and treated us like royalty...i cannot thank them enough.

My Father was interviewed by the Times of Malta whilst we were there and the staff even arranged a special room without cost...

Anyroads...lets get to the nitty gritty :

Pros...

Fantastic location on the seafront with the left side overlooking the swanky Portomaso Marina
Large rooms with a great bed,high count bedding and a twin sofa to relax.
Free Girfts during our stay including wine, pastries, cakes and bottled water.
Deluxe Breakfast with everything....make the most of that Gozo feta !
The Swimming pool and facilities were great and included an Ice Cold plunge pool.
The Gym was one of those with outside membership so very well stocked but maybe a little busy.
The Spa was the best thing of the facilities though....the best massage i have ever recieved !
Parking being free in such an area...very handy .

Cons....

You couldn't get a lift direct down to the breakfast area...you had to walk down a set of stairs. Could be a problem for some.
The 7 Euro a pint of Cisk sadly reminded you were in a Hilton !?
The Underground car park is very confusing...chat to staff before you park there to get your bearings.
The weather in Januray can be awful...i heard we were very unlucky.
The Car park

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the 9th floor with a seaview...pay as much as you can afford to get the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear chastoursdotcom,

Thank you very much for your comments especially with regards to our team. This will be shared with the respective employee and their departments.

With regards to the pros and cons of your write up, we have taken note of them and will follow up or improve if necessary. With regards to the car park, you are 100% that it is confusing but should you visit us another time, please allow us, the team, to have your car parked and brought up at your convenience. We offer Valet service at no extra cost.

If you wish to contact me directly for more information about our hotel, do not hesitate todo so on my email address is annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com

Kind regards and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean.With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort.The hotel’s Classic rooms and suites are furnished to high standards in a Classical Maltese decor, producing a blend of luxury and traditional warmth. All Classic rooms and suites have a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea.The hotel’s Contemporary rooms and suites are tastefully furnished in contemporary Mediterranean style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.