We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Malta to your Saves list
Hilton Malta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
london
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed at your hotel in September this year and we can all honesttly say that it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Each and every staff member was accommodating, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. As for the room, we were speechless at the size of it and even with an extra bed for my daughter, it was huge. The breakfast was abdolutely sumptous and there was something for everyone to indulge in. We are coming back for Christmas and New Year, this year, and really cannot wait. The only gripe I have is that there was no WIFI in the room and the cost to hire this on a daily basis was, I think, rather exhorbitant. Otherwise everything else was great. Thank you

Margaret Davis & family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear tiberlondon

Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Should you need anything prior to your arrival back to our hotel, do not hesitate to contact me directly on annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com

We look forward to welcome you all back!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,667
    630
    170
    51
    26
See reviews for
557
1,184
86
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Location = 10/10
Deco and ergonomy = 10/10
Service = 10/10
Leisure = 10/10
Management = 10/10
People = 10/10
Cusisine = 10/10

It it a must visit and a must stay hotel at least once in lifetime. We did like it so much we spent there 10 days in July and 14 days in September 2012.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear MaciejTPL

Thank you very much for taking the time to communicate such thoughts on Trip Advisor.
We do look forward to welcome you again to our hotel.

We assure you that we take great pride in our unique responsibility as team of this wonderful establishment and it is our committed aim to maintain the very highest levels of service possible and to meet every expectation of each one of our guests.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have stayed in over 50 Hiltons around the world with our careers and have never written a review before. I'm tempted to keep it a secret to keep it a relatively exclusive experience!
We have visited Malta for over 30 years and stayed here a number of times. This visit was one of the most enjoyable, perhaps because we had a full week to enjoy the hotel facilities. Fabio took excellent care of us in the Executive lounge (probably the best in any Hilton) and for the first time ever (but not the last) we had a fabulous meal in the Blue Elephant ( the hotel's Thai restaurant). Again exceptional service from Sam and Anna who advised us to try the fantastic Thai banquet (including the Wednesday evening we were there, excellent wines).
Is this the best Hilton we have stayed in - probably. And the best restaurant in a Hilton - probably yes again. The Maltese are a most hospitable people (hence our love of the islands) and you won't find a more relaxing experience from any Hilton hotel. Come and see for yourself!!
Trevor P, Seaton Carew, UK

Room Tip: Give yourself a real treat with a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Trevor P

On behalf of all the team, may I thank you for such complimentary comments.
Such comments help us to focus on the important issues, which are guest service and personal attention.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed you stay and we do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you to Malta and to our hotel.


Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

this is arguably the best hotel i have ever stayed while traveling on work. Everything from the location to the room to the foyer to the restaurants, the pool and the service was just perfect. the hotel is located right next to the tallest building on the island which also houses a night club on 22nd floor. The room ( Executive deluxe room) was not just big but it was perfectly laid out with sofa set in the room to the coffee maker. The view of the Mediterranean sea from my 8th floor room was just breath taking. The room had a lovely balcony with 2 chairs and a small table for a couple to sit and enjoy their drink. the bath room was huge and the bath area was separate from the rest of the bath room. The foyer was big and very impressive with a view of the sea. the coffee shop was impressive too and the breakfast was very elaborate and sumptuous..the staff were very warm, courteous and ever eager to help you.

Room Tip: choose room nos on floors higher than 7th floor and beyond 56 to get the best view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear PsPuvacha,

We value greatly such encouraging and complimentary comments.
We do our utmost to focus on the important issues of guest service and personal attention.

On behalf of all the Hilton Team may I thank you for taking the time and trouble to share with us your kind comments

We look forward to welcome you back
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Hilton Malta is a very good Hotel. Clean rooms, excellent and kind room and desk service. I booked with breakfast which was superb. I would have given an "excellent" overall rating if there weren't so many additional costs, like 25€ for using/clearing the mini fridge or 5€ per hour (quite slow) WiFi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear eddy4711

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about our hotel.
We are very sorry not to have ranked in the "excellent" area.
With regards to cost of mini bar and internet, these comments will be shared with the team and, if necessary, will be reviewed accordingly.

Once again, thank you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugbrooke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Have just returned from 12 nights in this 5 Star Hotel. Have stayed in other Hiltons in the past and this was every bit as good as others in the group. Food very good but breakfast was slightly disappointing as the pastries were not up to the normal high standards. Main criticism 1 hour internet access price would get me 20 days at home!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Marina get the afternoon and evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear David P

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
These were also brought to the attention of our Executive Chef, Joe Vella, for his attention.

Our aim is to offer our guests the very highest standards of cuisine together with superior facilities for our guests to enjoy.
Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra, Malta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have just spent a long weekend at the Hilton, considering the area it is in it was astonishingly quiet.....I don't mean that in a bad way but it is near a main traffic route. Which is actually handy if you want to get out and about sightseeing.

The breakfast was excellent with a great selection of food to be had, for both the healthy and the 'I'm on holiday I dont care what I eat' visitors.....I was in the I don't care what I eat selection.

Staff were polite and helfpful, rooms were extremely clean and well fitted out. We had a deluxe marina view room whih was superb.

A fantastic selection of restaurants around the Marina, but please keep away from the Chinese restaurant 'the spoon' it was dreadful and I stopped eating as soon as the main course arrive as they were not even warm and incredibly tasteless. It is the first time I have had to actually refuse to pay it was that dreadful. I should have read the reviews first!!!

Altogether we had a great time and will be back again soon.....

Room Tip: Excellent hotel and we will certainly be back for another stay soon, dont worry about not getting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear MikeHutchison,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and very pleased that we were able to contribute to a relaxing stay.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next holiday.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean.With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort.The hotel’s Classic rooms and suites are furnished to high standards in a Classical Maltese decor, producing a blend of luxury and traditional warmth. All Classic rooms and suites have a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea.The hotel’s Contemporary rooms and suites are tastefully furnished in contemporary Mediterranean style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.