We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out on the executive lounge!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Malta to your Saves list
Hilton Malta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
LISBURN, N. IRELAND
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on the executive lounge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I spent a very pleasant week in Malta starting 13/10/12. This hotel provided us with the 'feel good' factor particularly because of the very pleasant and helpful staff and the well appointed standard of the public areas and our room. The meals we enjoyed in the hotel were all excellent as was the service. We were made very welcome in the executive lounge and thoroughly enjoyed the refreshments and snacks. I was delighted to realise how much my tips to staff were appreciated - obviously what was not a lot to me meant something to them both financhially and to know that I valued their service.- It really is worthwhile showing this recognition sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Look out for Hilton offers and develope your Hilton Honours for extra perks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear X6MAN,

Thank you very much for your comments.
The executive lounge is indeed a very nice place to relax in and enjoy the great views of both our pools and of the mediterranean sea.

We are very glad you had a pleasant week with us and I hope this will lead to many others.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,665
    629
    169
    51
    26
See reviews for
555
1,183
86
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent a week at the Hilton as we had never visited Malta in all the years we have been taking holidays abroad. This was because of the glowing reviews we read whilst doing our research. Yes I have to say that the Hilton was definately the best hotel we have staying in yet.
It was extremely clean and the bedrooms very large. There was carpet on the hallways so there was never any sound of footsteps to disturb you. Our room had a balcony overlooking the marina so it was very quiet.The beds were really comfortable and I especially liked the fact that you slept under a duvet and had squishy pillows. This was a new experience for us as all the other hotels we have stayed in have had those bedcovers on them that you know other guests have laid on and they would be too expensive to keep laundering.
The only problem we did have was noise from the lifts...in the end it got so bad and we complained. The management were marvellous and after hearing the noise for themselves they actually shut down the offending lift for the night. However, this did not resolve our problem as it put extra loads on the other lifts and they became noisey too! The management were yet again wonderful and changed our room. Shame this was for just for our last night. It was a very large room and carpeted with a lovely view of the pool area and sea. Honestly the staff and management could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. I must not forget to mention the wonderful breakfast buffet. Wow it was amazing. The hot food was actually hot and the fresh fruits,yoghurts, breads, pastries, cakes etc. were to die for. Also you could have eggs/omelette freshly cooked by a chef. Yes we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hilton if it had not been for the hotel we would have tried to get an earlier flight home!......as they say you either love Malta or hate it.

Room Tip: Don't have room 1001 due to lift noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear orrid422

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your comments with us

The lift concerned is one of the oldest elevators in our hotel and also an extremely busy one. We will in the very near future be undertaking some major work on this elevator and at this time will examine if there is anything we can do to make it operate any smoother and faster. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for your comments
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have just returned from a week holiday at the Hilton Malta, St Julians with my partner and We had a fantastic holiday and cannot fault this hotel in any way. All-round attention to detail, friendliness and professionalism made our 6 nights there a real pleasure. Breakfast was wonderful, you name it you could have it, fresh fruits, freshly cooked bacon and eggs, pancakes, pastries everything so yummy. The room was spacious, clean & bright. The view from our window was simply breathtaking, the lit marina, the beautiful boats, and the endless sea. It was a peaceful place to stay. The Hilton Malta is definately worthy of it's 5 stars. really looking forward to go back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Fabiana1011,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and very pleased that we were able to contribute to a memorable stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I decided to write this review as I appreciated other reviews when trying to decide on our honeymoon. We are just back from spending our 10 nights at the Hilton St Julians Malta and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is fabulous and very professional staff. The housekeeping were excellent every day and never disturbed us before we left the room any day. We always came back to a cleaned room with fresh towels and toiletries topped up. The spa, pools, sun lounging area are all brilliant. The hotel location is ideal and the only traffic is dropping off or picking up people. We travelled around alot of the island and to us St Julians is the nicest resort being on the marina with loads of restaurants to choose from. There is loads to do in Malta. Excellent public transport system with very frequent buses to popular areas to visit such Sliema and Valetta for shopping. There are other beautiful areas to visit with loads of tour options morning/afternoon/evening or full day trips. The Hop on/hop off buses are also convenient and frequent for sight seeing. Eating and drinking, overall cost of living is more affordable than Ireland! The only downside at the Hilton is the price of food and drink at the hotel. If it had been less pricey we would have been quite happy to stay around the hotel some nights for eating and drinks but when you can get it for half at a stroll down the street, then why not.... But overall we would not hesitate to go back to the Hilton Malta and recommend others not to hesitate choosing this hotel and we definitely look forward to a future trip there.

Room Tip: Sea view room was nice and no noise disturbance from back of hotel as you might expect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear LydsGalway

Whilst thanking you for your kind comments, we all look forward to welcome you back to our hotel. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just enjoyed a week at the Hilton Malta and cannot praise it enough. Our room was very nice; it overlooked the marina, and the maid service was very good throughout our stay. The only disappointment was the lack of a mirror on the desk/dressing table. There was a full length mirror near the wardrobe, but no table and low lighting, making it difficult to apply make-up, dry and style hair etc. I had to keep putting the hairdrier, brush/comb etc on the floor as I dried my hair. After complaining at the reception desk, a shaving mirror was supplied quite promptly, which was very pleasing. We stayed on a half-board basis, and found that the main restaurant provided everything we needed at a very high standard for both breakfast and dinner, with a wide variety of dishes, delicious food and excellent service from the waiters. The grounds were spotlessly clean, as were the various pools. Overall, service from the hotel staff in all areas was excellent. Our only disappointment was the location - St Julian's caters for the younger people, and doesn't cater for the more mature holidaymaker. However, the bus service is excellent, enabling us to travel around the island. All-in-all, a lovely holiday at a first class hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear choosypair.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay.
Your comments with regards to room amenities i.e. mirror next to desk have been noted and we are, in the near future, thinking of placing such next to desks.

Thank you again
We do hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Unfortunately only in Malta for 2 nights for work but fortunately our company has a deal with the Hilton. I have been to the Island before, on holiday, and stayed at another excellent property in St. Julians, I think the quality of hotels is a credit to Malta.

The Hilton is a large hotel, it caters for the conference/convention market but it does not suffer because of that. The room was large and comfortable with a pleasant balcony overlooking the marina. The king sized bed almost vanished into the background and all the required facilties were present. Breakfast was excellent in a substantial dining room overlooking the vast pool area. The location is top notch, right beside the Med and a short walk into St.Julians or Paceville.

Just a couple of minor issues. Check in was under-staffed when I checked in not helped by the constant ringing of the phone (why is the phone more important than the actual person standing in front of you?) and conference goers who felt they were important enough to but in whenever they felt the need. The lady herself in reception was polite but the process took a good deal longer than it should. A small thing but the TV clearly was not working in the room - evident by the message on the screen that surely someone would have noticed - and the helpful maintenance guy had to be called.

To finish on a positive because it was a positive experience, it was great to see a whole host of satelite channels available on the TV as standard. No extra and annoying charge required.

Recommend (a) that you visit Malta and (b) stay at the Hilton.

Room Tip: All good, sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear middleageoe,

Whilst thanking you for your comments, I have forwarded your feedback related to your check in experience to our Front Office Manager. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.After all it is only through such comments that we are able to monitor and so improve the services we provide to our guests

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As you can imagine we where pretty hyped about our honeymoon to not only Malta but HILTON i mean come on who wouldn't want their honeymoon in the Hilton?!
Well after reading some reviews on here before actually booking we came across another review about someone's honeymoon and well it sealed the deal for us! Yes I know that each holiday will be slightly different... but you'd expect the treatment to be the same? we had sent several emails regarding our stay and telling them that it was our honeymoon (mainly due to the fact it was booked in my maiden name) with my husband requesting some little things as a surprise for me (i did not know this at the time)

OK so here's a little look through our 4 night stay at this very hotel!
We had gotten married on the Monday and drove from Bournemouth to Gatwick at 11pm that same day to make the checking of 4am. A very tiring journey considering such an eventful day! well anyway we landed in Malta at about 10:30am Malta time, arriving at the hotel in about 30 minutes. so naturally being exhausted from lack of sleep we went to check in and was told our room was not yet ready and to come back in an hours time. so we wondered off and had a drink. an hour later we came back and was then told that check in wasn't till 2:30pm...its was 3 hours away! we were told we could have our bags stored in the baggage area... it took the bell boy 30 minutes to come take our bags from us. 2:30 we went back for them to have some sort of issue with finding our room... another 40 minutes... as you can imagine at that point we stared to fall asleep the receptionist came over to us and told us the bell boy would bring our bags to our room to save us any more time waiting. no apologies or anything to make up for this...oh well...nor at any point were we asked about our stay or anything mentioned of the honeymoon... surely after our emails and being told it was marked on our booking the receptionist would of seen this?

once arriving in our room and doing the usual snoop that you do, we were a little shocked and disheartened with the bathroom as it was not of the quality you would expect from such a well reviewed hotel.one more thing a splatted fly above the bed remained there for the whole stay?? my partner was then upset that the bed had no rose petals on like he had requested - a small request for such a big thing our honeymoon that's all he asked of - i mean its not like we were demanding a free upgrade that was so kindly requested to the previous reviewers - although that would of been lovely but we cant all get special treatment :D lol

we don't really want to give a big list of bad aspects but felt the above needed to be mentioned. after all i believe if you hold a high expectation of any hotel no matter the star rating you will get let down. how ever i do feel that staff need a little more training in how to be more approachable and after one scenario where i could not finish a meal the waitress asked if everything was ok with my meal i smiled and said yes thank you it was lovely for her to turn round and say but you didn't finish it.... im so sorry that i could not eat the big potion that was your lunch menu...

so enough with the bad we will finish with the good!
the food was good quality and ample for prices set.
the pool areas were well maintained and very peaceful to lay by.
our room was spacious with a big balcony facing a lovely view of the clear sky and sea!
on our last night i really wanted a hot chocolate with marshmallows - they did not have these in the hotel but sent someone out to purchase some! and gave me the bag!!!
was handy being able to sign the bills to your room how ever ... you should REALLY keep an eye on your tab as you really forget what spending! - tis true!
the room service was excellent...you get an actual table wheeled in for use!!!

our only regret is that we didnt have a longer stay! - regardless of the lack of honeymoon stuff... lol

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemarie_scicluna, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear xNatalieJx,

Thank you for both your constructive and positive comments about our hotel.
These were shared with the team and will help us more to focus on the important issues of guest service, expectations and personal attention.

We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your first year anniversary.
Kinds regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean.With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort.The hotel’s Classic rooms and suites are furnished to high standards in a Classical Maltese decor, producing a blend of luxury and traditional warmth. All Classic rooms and suites have a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea.The hotel’s Contemporary rooms and suites are tastefully furnished in contemporary Mediterranean style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.