We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel....amazing breakfasts!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Malta to your Saves list
Hilton Malta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fab hotel....amazing breakfasts!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We have stayed in a few Hiltons but this has got to be the best yet.
Very grand, clean and what is expected of Hilton hotels.
Breakfasts absolutely amazing.......have never seen so much choice!
Pools were closed since we were out of season but i am sure they are excellent when the sun shines and they are open for the season.
Some lovely restaurants round the bay in Spinola too.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,665
    629
    169
    51
    26
See reviews for
555
1,183
86
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
199 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
365 helpful votes 365 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I was at Hilton Malta for three days of business meetings. I had a great room on the executive floor overlooking the Marina. I loved the room and the bathroom. It was spotlessly clean. The executive lounge was great and has wonderful views. The hotel has fantastic pools and fitness facilities. As ever, my apparently glamorous job with lots of worldwide travel (!) didn't allow me the time to do much - in fact, I only left the hotel for an hour in 3 days but I would happily return for a holiday! The food was excellent and there's a good choice of restaurants and bars. It's honestly very difficult to find any grumbles with this hotel. PS: When I got back home I discovered that my Hilton Honors points hadn't been credited to my account (through no fault of the hotel). I spoke to Ryan in the executive lounge. He emailed Hilton Honors for me and then followed up an hour later. He's a MEGA STAR because minutes later the points were credited to my account - a procedure that usually takes weeks to resolve and lots of calls to the USA! Thank you Ryan. So, all in all I was delighted with my stay and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Splash out and book a room on the executive floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

As a 5* hotel absolutly no complaints, actually very nice to see such service is still done with a smile! I'm so used to tourist burnted-out staff that it was grest to see in Europe that Malta is the last bastian of people taking pride in their work. Hilton is a great location for all sorts of activities - a short walk to fine dining, night life and a bus to valetta and all other destination of the island.

What you need to know about the Hilton Malta is that there are two sections - the older original 'traditional' rooms and the new more modern rooms. The older origional section has tiled floors with traditional balcony inset and protected from the wind and blazing sun but admittly a little dated decor - and you hear every little bit of noise on the tiled floors all around you - really madding!; The modern section has carpet and up-to-date decor with spacious bathroom and walk in shower but balconies are not as nice and carpets are hot in hot weather (and not as hygenic).

The Hilton Malta is North-East facing so sea view has no sun except for early morning - which is good in high Summer but does make the rooms dark and cool pre-season.

The Marina has evening sun which is nice off season, makes the rooms bright and you get to see some activity on the marina in the evening - if thats what you like.

Yes it is pricy for sure, but actually be warned I found a lot of 'cheeper' resturants, food and drinks are way over priced considering the quality.

But all-in-all you won't be disapointed. So much varity and things to do around the Hilton and within the Hilton ie pools, spa, fitness, resturants etc. Would definitly return.

Room Tip: Room with tiles floors, while more hygenic and co.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Although we arrived before the check in time our room was still ready. The room itself was large and roomy but the view we were supposed to have of the marina was almost non existent because of the bushes planted in front of it! However we were not going to let this spoil our stay! All the staff were extremely friendly and could not do enough to help you especially the concierge. They spent ages making sure that we did the right thing and even managed to get us tickets for the Hypergeum (which was fantastic!). The food was 'alright'! Breakfast was good with plenty of choice but dinner was a little dissapointing. The salads and starters were absolutely fantastic but the mains left a little to be desired. However, we didn't starve! I would certainly go back if I ever get back to Malta. So much to see and not enough time in just a week, The Malta Experience in Valetta is a MUST on your first day. Gives you such a flavour of the islands.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We have just spent a week in the Hilton in Malta, it was our second trip and it couldn't have been better. The hotel staff cannot do enough for their guests. We had access to the executive lounge with free tea/coffee, soft drinks and beer available all day. They serve a wonderful afternoon tea and then a happy hour from 6 until 8. We were upgraded to an Executive Plus room in the refurbished wing and had a lovely sea view. The Blue Elephant, the hotel's flagship Thai restaurant, has just hired a new chef and the food is extremely good. We had tried this restaurant on our last trip a few years ago and were disappointed and were reluctant to give is another chance, but were very pleased that we did. This really is a well appointed 5 star hotel with fabulous restaurants and pools. The location is ideal and I would highly recommend anyone staying here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We spent 2 nights here and the only bad thing I can say is that the pool was a little cold - probably a good thing in warmer weather! We got a discounted rate so it was excellent value. We stayed at the Hilton in Phuket and weren't that impressed but we loved the Hilton Malta. Lovely clean rooms, amazing balcony over looking the marina, we even got early check in when we arrived. Definitely worth the stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We travelled to the beautiful island of Malta for a girlie family holiday. We stayed in the Hilton in St. Julians , we had a fantastic time, the hotel is fabulous, the rooms were really lovely with a fantastic view of the pools and the coastline. The beds are really comfy, with great pillows and duvets, we slept really well, not usual for a hotel! The buffet breakfast is among the best I've ever tasted, we all really enjoyed the variety and quality of the food.

You must try the Blue Elephant Thai restaurant on level 1 of the hotel, cross the bridge over the stream, and enter foodie heaven, we had a thai banquet with cocktails and wine everything was delicious, and the staff and service was exceptional.

The spa is also excellent with really pleasant and very relaxing staff. We had hot stone massages and facials etc .......... you can guess with a group of women we tried almost all, and all fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean.With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort.The hotel’s Classic rooms and suites are furnished to high standards in a Classical Maltese decor, producing a blend of luxury and traditional warmth. All Classic rooms and suites have a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea.The hotel’s Contemporary rooms and suites are tastefully furnished in contemporary Mediterranean style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.