We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good place to have a drink” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hugo's Lounge

Hugo's Lounge
St George's Road, St. Rita Steps,, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3341, Malta
(+3356) 2138 2264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 202 restaurants in Saint Julian's
Cuisines: Sushi, Indian, Thai, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another good place to have a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We liked it in here, had a couple of drinks from their extensive bar menu.A good place to meet people and chat as the music is not too loud.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    57
    63
    19
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great cocktails & sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Hugo' s offers a good selection of cocktails and has a good choice of asian fusion dishes. Sushi is really good here! Staff is friendly but a little too alert...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Cocktails, Sushi = Divine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I really love going to Hugo's. It's one of the best hang outs in Paceville. The cocktails are amazing which on the plus side from 1pm to 6pm there is the Happy Hour - Buy 1 Get 1 Free. Last summer I also tried the sushi and they were divine. I've never been bored or disappointed going to Hugo's. The only thing that's nagging is that sometimes the music inside is a bit too loud and cannot really keep a conversation going. It's all up to opinions and likes - if one wants to have fun (listen to good music and drink some cocktails) inside is the choice; and if one prefers a more relaxed atmosphere outside is the choice to be. I always prefer to stay outside even because during busy nights inside tends to be full of people. Also if it was possible, it would really be great if one could expand the outside seating. But all in all really keep it up. You'll be seeing me next Saturday during lunch time ;)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First time to Malta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place is amazing, certainly the best in Paceville. The barmen who make the cocktails are genius. The food is to die for, absolutely delicious & of high class. We passed this place early on New Year’s eve (my 50th birthday) with intentions of doing a bit of a bar crawl. We ended up staying here from 5pm until 2am & we were made to feel so welcome. All the staff are very friendly. Infact we went back for the day/night before our early flight home, big mistake LOL – overindulgence - we didn’t want to leave. Hugo’s get’s a 10 out of 10 from us. You must visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You need to know WHEN to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It is a fantastic, casual outlet to hang out with your friends or colleagues - not really romantic in my opinion. Happy hour is fantastic, and if you are a Sushi lover, you will enjoy Hugo's. In my opinion, if you are after a relaxed drinks with friends to catch up - avoid Sundays during Winters because it is crazy busy! Otherwise - book a table in advance..and you should be fine!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugo's Lounge also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Hugo's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugo's Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.