We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argento Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Argento Hotel to your Saves list
Argento Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta 3255, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A small hotel off the main road but close to the center of town. Only opened last year and some rooms seem to be not quite finished. The staff we very curteous and friendly and the full English breakfast excellent. There is WIFI everywhere and a PC set up in the lobby for anyone to use. There is also a bar/lounge with TV and an interesting library of books that people have left.
Our only complaint was a rowdy set of neighbours who created a rucus at 3.30 in the morning. The hotel took our complaint seriously. Would certainly recommend if you can get a good off season rate, as we did.

Room Tip: 5th floor have better views. For sleep quality see comments above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    165
    34
    14
    4
See reviews for
33
222
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
handytel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed at the argento for 4 nights in November good staff on reception very welcoming and good rooms we got this hotel on a deal for 50 euros a night with breakfast where there was an excellent choice for everyone. Great weather so we made use of the roof pool staff made sure we had drinks and were not pushy.
Just a short stroll from Spinola Bay or Paceville. Bus stop at the end of the road and a good choice of resturants around the Bay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Have just returned from a 5 night break at the Argento and was well impressed. It is in an excellent location off the main road and in easy access of bars, restaurants & shops. Arranged our transfers from the airport with the hotel and found this to be cheaper than pre-booking with tour operators - it was great to walk straight out of the airport with our own driver waiting for us! The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are beautiful, a good size and cleaned everyday. All staff are very helpful and attentive - a special mention for Chef Charlie, who provided us with excellent evening meals throughout our stay - for 3 nights we were the only diner's and were given 5 star treatment! This is because most people book B&B but it really is worth booking half board. We made use of the rooftop terrace everyday and despite the good weather, only managed to use the pool once as the water was quite cold! There are plenty or bars in the area and our favourites were: Corks Irish Bar and the Scotish Bar next door; The Beggars Inn; The Dubliner - all of which showed sport (mainly football) and music channels. We took a stroll to the nightclub area (just to take a look!) which is very busy of a weekend and very loud! I do have just one negative comment about the rooms - there is no mirror on the wall by the electric socket - the wall mounted TV has taken preference. Fortunately, the hotel hairdryer had a long lead which just about enabled me to use the full length mirror by the door.

Room Tip: If you want to use the roof terrace often, a room on the 5th floor is handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Argento for 5 nights in mid-October 2012.
The pros:
It's a very well located hotel just seconds away from a bus stop which services several bus routes around the island but its not on the main road so you don't get the traffic noise.
there are lots of restaurants around from posh ones to Mcdonalds and Pizza Hut
mini supermarket on the street for late night essentials
free Wifi access throughout the hotel including rooms
polite and helpful staff although it would have been nice to have someone help carry luggage up to our 4th floor room when we arrived - there had been a power cut and the lifts were out of service.
clean rooms, clean reception/lobby
great rooftop area with pool and lots of sun beds
freshly cooked omelettes while-u-wait

The cons:
the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything going on in the corridor. no problem if you've got quiet neighbours but a nuisance when you haven't and they're screaming/singing/cackling loudly at 3am!
seriously bad coffee but then its pretty poor everywhere on the island
unwashed salad leaves still had bits of soil/soot on them
the shower/bath leaked water everywhere despite every effort not to splash

Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Argento for 5 days in October with my husband and daughter. It is in a really good location - very close to shops, bars, restaurants, buses and clubs, but in a side street so away from the noise. Initially we were quite impressed with the room - it was large, with 2 queen beds, very clean, well decorated, had a nice bathroom and plenty of wardrobe/drawer space. However, the room was a bit dark, even with all the lights on and the plug socket was a long way from the mirror (both important points if you have to put make-up on and do your hair). Then once we'd unpacked we found that the air conditioning wasn't working. We were moved to a mini 'suite' but this was only fractionally bigger then the first room and had 2 single beds (later pushed together to make a large queen bed) and a single sofa bed rather than the 2 queens. The air conditioning was working in this room but wasn't particularly effective. This room was slightly brighter than the other but still a little dark - but at least the plugs were near to the mirror. All rooms have a room safe, a small fridge, a hairdryer and a small balcony - big enough for 2 chairs but no table. The breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice for both hot and cold foods and you could eat as much as you liked. The pool area was also really nice - although I imagine that in the summer they would need to provide more sunbeds and shades. We were charged 5 euros for each beach towel we hired (a one-off charge for each towel)which I thought was a bit expensive. The hotel provided free WiFi and there was a computer in the lobby that was free to use. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and apart from the minor issues I've mentioned I have no complaints. All in all we were happy with our stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: We were in room 309, which faced onto the street. We were woken early each morning when the bins wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 1 week and it was everything we expected. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The breakfast is very enjoyable and there is plenty to choose from. The staff are very nice and helpful. I would definately reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Recently returned after a 9 night stay at the Argento Hotel. We booked based on the reviews as we wanted at fresh, nicely decorated, smaller 4 star hotel in a quiet part of St Julian's and this is exactly what we got. We arrived in the middle of the night and quickly settled into our room which was very well appointed and on the 5th floor. The hotel kindly upgraded our room and it was very quiet, comfortable and of a good size. We found the breakfast very good. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. We very much enjoyed the pool area on the roof with amazing views over Spinola Bay. There were no issues with getting sun beds. Although the bar tender from the bar on the ground floor occasionally circulates to take drink orders we would have loved it if there was a bar or restaurant on the top floor especially with the views. There is a drink vending machine available by the pool area so not an issue.

Overall we thoroughly loved our stay at the hotel, St Julian's and Malta. The location is excellent as on a quiet street but moment walk from the bus stop, shops, bank/cash point and all the attraction of St Julian's. Great location also to take advantage of the buses and see Malta.

Room Tip: We contacted the hotel in advance and asked for a nice quiet room which is what we were given. 5th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argento Hotel

Address: Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta 3255, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Argento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is perfectly situated in the quiet residential area of Spinola Bay, right next to St Julian's promenade with its beautiful scenery, a large variety of casual and fine dining seaside restaurants, bars and shops. Malta's nightlife hub is only a short stroll away from the hotel. St. George’s Bay sandy beach is reachable on foot as it is only 500 metres away from the hotel.All 74 luxuriously furnished rooms including 5 junior suites at this 4 star boutique hotel in St Julians are equipped with air-conditioning, proximity door locks, free Wi-Fi, mini-bar, complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, LCD HD TV, laptop safe deposit box, hair dryer, shaving point and smoke detector.A rooftop swimming pool and sundeck area enhance the hotel with breathtaking views over Spinola Bay. Fitness room is also situated on top floor. Cuisine for breakfast and dinner at Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is international. A Lobby bar compliments an elegantly designed reception area. Two multi-purpose rooms, The Astoria and The Savoy Suites can host a number of events including meetings and weddings. Complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity is available throughout all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Argento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argento Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argento Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.