We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a late night coffee or beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Portomaso

Caffe Portomaso
Portomaso | St. Julian's, Malta, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ4011, Malta
+356 2137 1238
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 227 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: Pizza, Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Hamburgers, Vegetarian, Bistro, Brasserie
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for a late night coffee or beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Popped in here a few times for a coffee or beer. Friendly staff, pleasant atmosphere. Nice place for an evening drink

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    70
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast - great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Tried here for a change from our Hotel and the food was very good indeed and large portions! Staff were noteworthy, friendly and very efficient and the chef did a non menu item for our daughter which is increasingly unusual these days. We ate inside around 9am and we weren;t sure if the air conditioning was working as it was quite warm but that aside its good for break fast but not cheap.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for a stop off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I visited the café after a long walk in the hot sun in Malta, was very keen for a cold drink and some ice cream! The staff were really friendly and suggested we sit inside as it was cooler for us and we quickly ordered refreshing drinks and cold desserts. After cooling down we really enjoyed just sitting and watching the world go by and ordered coffees as we were enjoying the atmosphere so much. All the staff were attentive and I could definitely see myself visiting there more often when I visit Malta again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Sit outside and watch the world go by. Lunch is excellent with plenty of choice from the specials of the day menu and an array of different Maltese breads and fillings to choose from on the normal menu. A good selection of drinks and cocktails are also available. You also need to try the ice cream selection . Service is good but can be a little slow when the cafe is busy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not cheap - but excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

great service, superb menu - top view, and you pay for it. The location is stunning, set above the recently renovated fishermans wharves, evening dining on the terrace overlooking the bay is wonderful

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Portomaso also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Caffe Portomaso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Portomaso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.