We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice position...but over rated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gululu Restaurant

Gululu Restaurant
Spinola Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2133 3431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 227 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice position...but over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel we stayed in recommended this restaurant....and whilst it has a lovely position overlooking Spinola Bay the quality of the food was less than impressive. The Ftiras we ordered were so bland and dry.....thankfully the manager offered to remove the charges from the bill. Drink prices are steep - so beware - you are paying for the view!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    370
    111
    42
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Poor service, the waiter was weird, didn't show any interest.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Poor value for money, we took spagetti with sea friuts, totally tasteless, the waiter did not explain any of the maltese apecialties in the menu, very bad experience. Don't recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food but one pissed off waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We've been a couple of times to this restaurant and I must say the food is really good. Recommend it to anyone who wants to taste some typical Maltese food. But I cannot not comment on the attitude of one particular waitress who must have got out on the wrong side of the bed last Saturday. And had we not been with other people we would have left there and then. Her attitude and approach towards the clients lives nothing to be desired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Maltese specialty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

As a great fan of rabbit, which we now know is a Maltese specialty, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Gululu. The restaurant is located right on the quayside promenade of Spinola Bay, which happened to be close to our appartment. After a morning trip into Valetta we arrived back a little before mid afternoon just in time for a late lunch. The service was prompt and efficient and the food was delicious. I can definately recommend the white beans with garlic and parsley and the 'fried rabbit', which was more like a rabbit stew. My travelling companions also enjoyed their selections too and the local beer and wines were also good. Excellent food in a great location, definately worth a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A lovely al fresco meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We visited the restaurant based upon trip advisor reviews and it's position on the quayside in Spinola Bay. The service was quick and efficient and the meal provided excellent value for money. We shared the mixed dips to start which were very tasty and an ideal light starter. My partner ordered the swordfish which was massive- two huge steaks and was very well cooked. I order the Maltese pasta beads with swordfish and octopus which was very tasty and unusual too. The wine was also very good and at a very reasonable price. We would definitely recommend this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gululu Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Gululu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gululu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.