We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My go-to sushi place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gochi Restaurant

Gochi Restaurant
148 St George Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1961, Malta
+356 2138-2411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 212 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My go-to sushi place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Love the ambience and casual atmosphere of this place. It offers take-out as well as well as dine-in options. I do suggest to reserve a table if you want to eat comfortably. If so tables are available, you can sit on the provided cushion and sofas which makes the place more authentic. Be prepared to take off your shoes for the latter seating.

I always go for the same platter and the prices are reasonable. Perfect to share between friends.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    41
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ideal for Take-Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We visited late during the evening for a quick sushi take-out. Despite the long queue of people waiting to order, only one menu was available so it was difficult to choose before actually arriving in front of the till. The selection of food was quite good and at a reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Some of the best sushi I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a popular restaurant with a great location on the main road in St. Julians. The sushi is great value for money - lovely and fresh it made for a different lighter dinner we could take back and eat at our hotel while on holiday. The chicken teriyaki and spicy tuna where great but the best was the "Dragon Roll" which is a fried crab stick in a sushi roll. The service is friendly - drop by if you prefer something different to all the delicious traditional Maltese food when visiting the island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
1 review
“Surprised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Everyone was telling me to go there, but it was a big mistake, this is not sushi. Seriously, canned fish?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best priced sushi on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Well it is a fast food sushi if you order take away bit if one wants to dine inside it offers a nice and quiet environmwnt. The selection of food is nice too and you can order plum wine or sake along. The best point of gochi is that it is the best value of sushi in the island as sushi is still a little bit over priced in malta. But if you get the 25 euro platter.. trust me its is more than enough for 2 people. They have tables where one can sit on the floor on carpets.. or regular tables where one cam sit on a chair. Next time I will sit on a chair as I am not used to sit on the floor to eat and ended with numbed knees and buttocks.. but thats just me. Thank you gochi.. very well priced

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gochi Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Gochi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gochi Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.