We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sji's Smooth Jazz - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sji's Smooth Jazz
No 5, Church Str | Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 7928 9723
Website
Improve this listing
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Heavenly spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

You are greeted by Shirley on entering this Bar. The atmosphere is of a small intimate club offering very good 'easy listening' music. The prices are very good for the area. The Bar is a place of haven of peace in the very hectic of Paceville. Go there, you will not regret it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great jazz bar and friendly owners and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My friend and I have been coming here since Oct 2006 during our scuba diving trips to Malta and have come here every time we have visited to Malta, which for me is 14 times. Peter and Shirley are wondeful hosts and Peter sings on occasions. The live jazz is always relaxing and of a good standard. I highly reccommend it if you like jazz along with good hosts too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
822 reviews 822 reviews
565 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
“jazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

on my walk about i found this nice jazz bar had a few drinks. and nuts crisps on the house . it has a small menu and a drinks menu cocktails and wine also beer the live jazz is great even the owner gets up and sings. nice garden if to hot and seats outside the front .friendly staff went back the next night on my own.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“perfect bar to listen jazz and chill out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I love jazz, and when I travel, I always enjoy it when I find a cosy jazz bar. And it was perfect, the singer did not sing my all time favorites but the atmosphere was great, it din't feel weird to be on my own, and the owner was very welcoming. You feel at home and relaxed with a nice drink.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm in Paceville area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My wife and I spent 3 enjoyable evenings at SJI last week. The Paceville area is a youngsters paradise and we had almost given up finding somewhere for us 'not so oldies' to go to. We were welcomed from the first minute and listened to some great jazz tracks played by Shirley. On our second evening we listened to Godwin Lucas who sounded like and played a tremendous Stevie Wonder set. On our last night there was a little trio including Peter, the proprietor, which we enjoyed.
This is a hidden gem and the only downside was that there weren't more people there to enjoy the fine music and nice atmosphere. Get there soon!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sji's Smooth Jazz also viewed

 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sji's Smooth Jazz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.