We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnifique!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U Bistrot

U Bistrot
Main Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
2311 2361
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 227 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magnifique!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have been a few times and have to say they have never disappointed. Their cheese and meat combo platter is just to die for, served by very well trained staff. Their seafood salads are very good too. Their outside seating is right on the street and pavement in full view. It is what makes the place to me, being able to soak up life passing by whilst enjoying a reasonable and very tasty meal.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    120
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch, Scandinavian standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very nice lunch, more than we expected and really perfect food, service and location - price was low and we enjoyed - I can recommend this place to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Service in Malta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were a bedraggled group of five.

We had been swimming, sailing and drinking beer all day and looked pretty bedraggled compared to the rest of the diners at UBistrot. This withstanding, the server and host treated us exceptionally well. The service at this restaurant was just so much better than the other, ten or so, other restaurants in Malta we visited on our trip.

The food was excellent too. At the table we ordered:

Caprese Salad - TRY THIS. So good and different from all the other caprese salads I have had.
The King Prawns
Traditional Fish Stew
Spaghetti Octopus
A burger- can't remember which
and the Grouper special
(sorry if these names are slightly off, I was there about 10 days ago.)

Everything was great! I had the spaghetti, and there was so much I shared with the rest of the table. I had always thought octopus was a no-go, and this dish changed my mind. So good!

UBistrot is also air conditioned. A plus.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Another great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Second trip to u bistro, last was at Easter and sat inside, this time was hot day and managed to get table outside overlooking balluta bay. Popped in for a late lunch and once again not disappointed. Complimentary bread was served with a tuna spread which was so flavoursome. We ordered garlic bread, it was amazing, not one dry bit of bread could be found, oozing butter, not great for the heart but for the taste buds...crispy on outside n soft n fluffy on inside, totally amazing. This was followed by a lovely chicken salad with signature honey n mustard dressing, lovely thin pieces of chicken topped fresh salad. Homemade burger was the other dish chosen with cheese bacon and onions. All served on substantial bun that held up the the moist fillings. All in all a great lunch with great service and fantastic view...defiantly return visit called for!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't pass this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was the best bistro we tried on our two week holiday.We ate here 4 times and were never disappointed.Great people watching place if you can catch a table outside.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Bistrot also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to U Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Bistrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.